Chevron Left
Back to Corporate Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Corporate Strategy by University of London

4.8
stars
2,155 ratings

About the Course

Corporate strategy is the strategy a firm uses to compete across multiple businesses. Many small firms want to grow by entering new businesses. Many large firms already are in multiple businesses, e.g. a photo camera producer selling also sunglasses. We developed this course to help you make good corporate strategy decisions. Of the many decisions a firm has to make, corporate strategy decisions are among the most consequential. We will look at these key corporate strategy decisions: - Diversification: How and which businesses should your firm enter? - Divestiture: How and from which businesses should your firm exit? - Corporate HQ: How should we organize corporate headquarters to create value across the different businesses?...

Top reviews

AS

Nov 10, 2023

I would really like to thank Mr. Vanneste for explaining everything in easy way. This course has really helped me with the better understanding of the Strategies which are used by the Corporate HQs

MK

Apr 16, 2020

This was a great refresher and explained the basics of Corporate Strategy in very easy to understand and enjoyable manner. In nutshell,the course in very logical and serving its purpose fully.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 595 Reviews for Corporate Strategy

By thierry l

Nov 9, 2020

Mainly the overall course is fine. My only advice is to find a way for improving the 'Peer review'. Indeed, i've wasted quite valuable time 1) waiting for someone to review my assignment, 2) circulating HELP messages on forums to convince others to review, then 3) experienced bad behaviour with people giving full ZEROs, no effort to read through the assignment...and i realized no moderators to contact directly in urgency really....I thus had to RE-submit my assignment, and call for help and FAIR review again...eventually someone gave me a sufficient review mark. Therefore the Peer Review must be better monitored, and a solution should be given to warn some moderator for final judgement if anything wrong happens...Besides this, Videos are good, use cases are interesting...but room for improvement ;o)

By Florencia F

Feb 21, 2018

The course was very comprehensible and the material provided was very useful.

The concepts taught in this course are very clear and the questions contained in the videos were useful enough to internalize the knowledge acquired and to pass the quizzes required to get the certificate.

By Chia T

Feb 19, 2018

Great course, very clear explanations. Would highly recommend! The textbook is also very informative and anyone taking a strategy course would benefit from reading it.

By Karen I

Mar 22, 2018

This course contains everything a corporate company needs to know within corporate strategy. I enjoyed researching Nestle' Corp and will continue my research into Sony.

I feel everyone should know the credentials of CEO Ulf Mark Schnider, he holds a doctorate in economics and a MBA within.the Harvard Business School. At fifty four he brings youth and health to Nestle'. He worked as CEO of a health company prior to Nestle'. Things are quickly changing within the management and employment within Nestle' under CEO Ulf Mark Schnider.

Third Point is a investment company who is run by CEO Daniel S. Loeb, who would like to see Nestle' prosper further, but I believe time is of the essence with CEO Ulf Mark Schnider.

By Hendi A P

May 26, 2020

This course is great! I've never been such as interested as this before in learning something new. Corporate Strategy really help me to understand how a company determined the strategy to keep in a good business. The course started from the fundamental on about the corporate advantage. Then, continue to the strategy to determined is it to diversifying or divesting a business in a company portfolio. Also, the resource allocation method if you are managed several business then which is the priority to invest. The course held by Bart Vanneste (Associate Professor of Strategy, University College London) is delivered in a good way and I understood about it also happy to learn about. After all, a worthy course to take if you want to learn about Corporate.

By mohammadimran k

Apr 17, 2020

This was a great refresher and explained the basics of Corporate Strategy in very easy to understand and enjoyable manner. In nutshell,the course in very logical and serving its purpose fully.

By Abhisek B

Jul 27, 2020

Very useful course to understand corporate strategy, identify portfolio and its diversification, divestiture. Learnt good theories with real examples. This would be very useful for my career.

By Jessica M

Jul 16, 2019

Really interesting subject. Easy to apply to small businesses too. Bart Vanneste provides clear, in-depth explanations using good slides that helps you keep motivated throughout the course.

By Mohamed D

Feb 15, 2018

Extremely informative. After finishing the course you would have a totally different mind set, be able to understand business articles and you would know what the "big players" says when they talk, and why.

I would highly recommend this course for anyone interested in business (e.g. business students, entrepreneurs and anyone who would like to know and learn more).

By Ramanathan J

May 16, 2020

First and foremost the faculty needs to be commended for conceptualizing such a course along with its contents and delivering it in a very lucid manner. The thought process of each of the slides has been well drawn along with relevant examples. Hope get to learn some advanced concepts from this faculty in the near future. Thanks

By wei w

Feb 16, 2018

Dr. Bart Vanneste is great teacher. His Corporate Strategy videos and in-class case study turn the complex corporate strategy into a very systematic and simple framework to guide my work in the future. This series of videos is also a good example as one starting point to understand corporate strategy.

By Aditi D

Apr 21, 2020

The course was intuitive and very interesting. I am an undergraduate student at the University of London, pursuing Bsc(Hons) Economics and Management at London School of Economics and Social Sciences. I have one of my courses as Principles Of Marketing. Few concepts in this course were quite familiar but were explained in a different way like the Ansoff Matrix of a firm. This course has taught various aspects of company portfolios and how do companies use financial and social aspects to help diversify their business. Thank you soo much to help me gain knowledge.

By Deleted A

Nov 17, 2023

This was a great course, the explanations were very clear and comprehensible and actually I learned more than I thought I would at the beginning. I liked the video, the transcript and just everything you provided. As well I found the in between questions helpful to keep the track. Also the quizzes were fair and I consider doing anoter certificate. Great thanks to Mr. Vanneste as well he did a really great job with good pedagogic skills! Ah and thx for providing the material always at the end very useful.

By SUBRATA H C

Feb 19, 2018

Excellent course. Professor has take care to teach every body. course material specially video is crystal clear. I want to take more course in future from this professor / institute. This course is useful to understand the concept of corporate strategy in very enjoyable manner. Professor has taken utmost care to teach every concept in very lucid manner. I recommend every body to take this excellent course.

By frank s

Aug 6, 2022

This course gave me an important information that can be used in the future for my career. The instructor is excellent. His accent is easy to listen and his voice tone made me enjoy his course.

By Dean S

Feb 22, 2018

Studied Corporate Strategy on my MBA at London Business School many years ago under Phanish Puranam. This course was a great refresher on motives of Corporate Strategy. Can recommend.

By Stephane A V

Feb 14, 2018

Excellent step-by-step introduction to Corporate strategy, with all technical terms precisely defined, and plenty of very interesting reading from Faculty at the vanguard of research in the domain. Introduction to the use of insightful frameworks and methods so that one can quickly seize the important issues of a multi-business environment. I could not participate to all activities of the course and wish I could have asked more tips on how to collect the basic financial values that were used as material when applying several analytical methods. The lecturer is very easy to understand. The only let down: the quizzes were a bit too easy to my taste. My curiosity to explore more was definitely aroused. Any Advanced Corporate Strategy course?

By Anurag B

Mar 9, 2021

unable to download certificate after completing the course

By K. V R

Sep 2, 2021

Thanks to Bart Vanneste, The course is designed well, Presentaton is really good. I paid attention to the entire course and gained good knowledge of corporate advantage, Diversification, Divestiiture and role of HQs. The quiz is well designed and made me to think, analyze to achieve grade. I struggled little bit in answering the Investor letter in 200 words, since there is tons of information about Nestle. Peer Reviews helped me narrow down and concise the answers. The course helped me understand how the corporates promote synergy, divesting, Resource models etc. Examples are very good, Analysis and presentation is nice. Recommend strongly.

By Onella A

Mar 2, 2023

I've never been this excited with a course. Well, the fact that I'll be able to use it for the position I am applying currently (Corporate Strategic Planning Manager). I had very little knowledge and no background at all with Corporate Strategy, but you made it all easy and topics covered were relatable. Special thanks to Coursera, University of London, and UCL School of Management for granting me with the free certificate. I am truly grateful and honored. Looking forward to take the advance/next level of Corporate Strategy and other related courses.

Yours truly,

Onella

By Maximiliano C R

Sep 21, 2021

Buen material de estudio, con explicaciones muy claras. Tiene ejemplos en cada punto que ayudan mucho a entender bien la informacion. Lo siguiente seria una critica hacia la pagina, deberian traducir las preguntas y examenes al idioma seleccionado para que sea mas facil de entender y resolver. Personalmente no tuve problemas porque se hablar ingles, pero otra persona podria perder mucho tiempo en traducir cada pregunta y respuesta para realizar dichos examenes. En cuanto a lo demas, que es lo que compete al curso dictado, excelente y muy conforme con todo

By Franklin S

Sep 20, 2021

The course is aimed at those who already do have some level of professional experience, mainly in roles of administrative decisions. For those that initiate the course of non-related areas of knowledge and/or economics or business administration/business management. I recommend holding it a little while to gain some expertise in terminology, concepts, and roles with the company that involves budgets, expansions, investments, and other related matters. With that in mind, one can avail the best of the course for your professional imporvement and career.

By Alex P

Feb 5, 2024

Given the limited corporate strategy courses available online worldwide, I believe this course fills an important gap. I really liked how the course applies the concepts to real-world case studies. The professor, Bart Vanneste, clearly explains the core differences between business strategy and corporate strategy, building the understanding how corporate strategy builds upon business strategy. Being not so long, the course covers a lot of important topics: enterprise valuation, diversification, vertical integration, M&A, synergies, and so much more.

By Aabid A S

Apr 16, 2021

Honestly, it was such a great learning experience and I learned a lot of new, fascinating, exceptionally great, and truly practical stuff here. Synergy effect, better parents, Ans off matrix BCG matrix these are phenomenal and superb techniques. I am honored and touched by the COURSERA and having such high regard. Coursera offers a vision to the world to make it a better place through education, last but not the least, Instructor and university just perfectly awesome.

Aabid Ali Shahid

By Sylvanus O U

Mar 4, 2023

This course is quite informative, instructive and entertaining. It widened my understanding of corporate activities from Corporate Advantage to Resource Allocation. My view on critical indices required in making informed decisions has changed, even though this is at the Beginner level. I hope Coursera and UCL Team can develop the intermediate and professional levels of this Course. Thanks to Mr. Vanneste, the Coursera Team and UCL School of Management.