Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography and Information Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography and Information Theory by University of Colorado System

4.4
92 ratings
15 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Cryptography and Information Theory! This course combines cryptography (the techniques for protecting information from unauthorized access) and information theory (the study of information coding and transfer). More specifically, the course studies cryptography from the information-theoretical perspectives and discuss the concepts such as entropy and the attacker knowledge capabilities, e.g., Kerckhoff's Principle. It also contrasts information-theoretic security and computational security to highlight the different train of thoughts that drive the cryptographic algorithmic construction and the security analyses. This course is a part of the Applied Cryptography specialization....

Top reviews

RS

Nov 14, 2018

The course mainly covers criteria for security. I need more of cryptography in it. Its not completely useful.

SD

Jan 14, 2018

This is fabulous course that i found, great assignment and questions make this course course worth full.

Filter by:

1 - 15 of 15 Reviews for Cryptography and Information Theory

By Raman S

Nov 14, 2018

The course mainly covers criteria for security. I need more of cryptography in it. Its not completely useful.

By Oliver J E O

Dec 17, 2018

Simple, and effective :-)

By Akash

Oct 19, 2018

EXCELLENT

By M M S

Feb 09, 2018

very very useful for me

By Shubham D

Jan 14, 2018

This is fabulous course that i found, great assignment and questions make this course course worth full.

By Roman T

Jan 21, 2018

The course is brilliant! Mr Chang explains everything clearly, so that you can understand the material even if you don't have much time to deal with it.

By Diyorbek R

Jan 27, 2018

Interesting both theoretical and practical part of the course

By Anton P

Dec 19, 2017

It's ok, it's easy to learn! THX!

By Georgios P

May 16, 2019

A very neat and easy to follow course that introduces the basic concepts of cryptography and its use in modern world!

By Edelweis H G R

Dec 03, 2017

It is ok. not a lot of math. Ok for busy people.

By Bryan C

Jul 05, 2018

Overall really good. Instructor sometimes mispeaks and then writes something different down during the math sessions. This happens a couple of times with variable names. When mixed with some questionable handwriting which I assume is due to the digitizer it makes it hard to follow and you have to rewind to figure out what he meant instead of what he said but this is only a few times and it is possible. Overall I like the instructor, I like the content, and I learned.

By Tarasenko V

Mar 22, 2018

too short explanations sometimes

By CHITTILLA V V

Jan 13, 2018

Nice course and lectures

By Frode

Nov 19, 2017

The course was quite superficial on some topics, but keeping in mind that this is mostly a ramp-up to subsequent crypto courses, I think it was OK. The whiteboard segments are great, probably the best part of the course. The instructor is clear and pleasant to listen to. Spreading it over 4 weeks is too generous, it could probably be shortened to 3 or even 2. Thanks!

By Kody R

Jun 10, 2019

It was ok but not as challenging as I would have liked.