Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography and Information Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography and Information Theory by University of Colorado System

4.4
stars
171 ratings
27 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Cryptography and Information Theory! This course combines cryptography (the techniques for protecting information from unauthorized access) and information theory (the study of information coding and transfer). More specifically, the course studies cryptography from the information-theoretical perspectives and discuss the concepts such as entropy and the attacker knowledge capabilities, e.g., Kerckhoff's Principle. It also contrasts information-theoretic security and computational security to highlight the different train of thoughts that drive the cryptographic algorithmic construction and the security analyses. This course is a part of the Applied Cryptography specialization....

Top reviews

GL

Apr 26, 2020

By learning this course i have gained some extra knowledge in cryptography. This course helped me to complete my final year project.

BA

Apr 18, 2020

This course helps in developing research and teaching skills.The overall course contents covered were excellent.\n\nThank You.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 28 Reviews for Cryptography and Information Theory

By Roman T

Jan 21, 2018

The course is brilliant! Mr Chang explains everything clearly, so that you can understand the material even if you don't have much time to deal with it.

By GOLLA V L

Apr 26, 2020

By learning this course i have gained some extra knowledge in cryptography. This course helped me to complete my final year project.

By Bahubali M A

Apr 18, 2020

This course helps in developing research and teaching skills.The overall course contents covered were excellent.

Thank You.

By Georgios P

May 16, 2019

A very neat and easy to follow course that introduces the basic concepts of cryptography and its use in modern world!

By Adri J J J

May 17, 2020

Good course...provides the fundamental idea behind the relationship between cryptography and information theory...

By Deleted A

Nov 14, 2018

The course mainly covers criteria for security. I need more of cryptography in it. Its not completely useful.

By Shubham D

Jan 14, 2018

This is fabulous course that i found, great assignment and questions make this course course worth full.

By SHRADHANAND V

Apr 27, 2020

good information about cryptography and entropy and information theory

By Diyorbek R

Jan 27, 2018

Interesting both theoretical and practical part of the course

By SIDDHARTH S

Jun 06, 2020

It was a great course and the tutor explained it well.

By Mr.Arif M A

May 10, 2020

Learn new concept - Entropy information

By Anton P

Dec 19, 2017

It's ok, it's easy to learn! THX!

By Oliver J E O

Dec 17, 2018

Simple, and effective :-)

By M M S

Feb 09, 2018

very very useful for me

By Akash

Oct 19, 2018

EXCELLENT

By Ajith G N

May 20, 2020

basics

By Bryan C

Jul 05, 2018

Overall really good. Instructor sometimes mispeaks and then writes something different down during the math sessions. This happens a couple of times with variable names. When mixed with some questionable handwriting which I assume is due to the digitizer it makes it hard to follow and you have to rewind to figure out what he meant instead of what he said but this is only a few times and it is possible. Overall I like the instructor, I like the content, and I learned.

By Frode

Nov 19, 2017

The course was quite superficial on some topics, but keeping in mind that this is mostly a ramp-up to subsequent crypto courses, I think it was OK. The whiteboard segments are great, probably the best part of the course. The instructor is clear and pleasant to listen to. Spreading it over 4 weeks is too generous, it could probably be shortened to 3 or even 2. Thanks!

By Edelweis H G R

Dec 03, 2017

It is ok. not a lot of math. Ok for busy people.

By Shorya K

May 06, 2020

perfect for beginning with cryptography.

By Tarasenko V

Mar 22, 2018

too short explanations sometimes

By Nikhil Y

Jun 04, 2020

a basic course to start with

By CHITTILLA V V

Jan 13, 2018

Nice course and lectures

By H.M.Raihan E

Apr 17, 2020

Nice one for beginners

By Rohan L

May 06, 2020

It's a good course if you are getting started in cryptography. But , for people having a rudimentary knowledge of math especially probability and the Alice-Bob-Eve terminology in cryptography may skip it and jump right into the 2nd course. But, the teacher is a really good communicator and the course is very good to get started with cryptography. I was able to finish this course in around 2 days with prior knowledge in crypto