Chevron Left
Back to Cybersecurity for Everyone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cybersecurity for Everyone by University of Maryland, College Park

4.7
stars
336 ratings

About the Course

Cybersecurity affects everyone, including in the delivery of basic products and services. If you or your organization want to better understand how to address your cybersecurity, this is the course for you and your colleagues to take -- from seasoned professionals to your non-technical colleagues. Your instructor, Dr. Charles Harry, has served on the front lines with the NSA (National Security Agency) and as an expert advising corporate and institutional leaders on managing cybersecurity risk. And he brings a rare and engaging perspective to help you learn cybersecurity from the ground up. Cybersecurity for Everyone lays the groundwork to understand and explore the key issues facing policy makers attempting to manage the problem of cybersecurity, from its technical foundations to the domestic and international policy considerations surrounding governance, privacy, and risk management, to applications for achieving the goals of an enterprise, an institution, or a nation. This course is designed for students with some or no background in information technology, whether a novice or active in the cybersecurity field (engineers and computer scientists will learn the broader context and business aspects of cybersecurity), and will provide the principles to understand the current debates shaping a rapidly evolving security landscape....

Top reviews

AI

Jul 9, 2022

This course is a very nice one. The lecturer was good and the project was a nice way to help students understand the nitigrity of cybersecurity. In all the course is an excellent one.

JC

Jul 30, 2022

Excellent Course by Professor Charles Harry. Does cover the concepts of Cyber security including the Final Project. Perfect for anyone who wants to get a knowledge of Cybersecurity

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 101 Reviews for Cybersecurity for Everyone

By Gheian A

Aug 19, 2021

This course is very informative and clear to understand. I learned a lot especially securing machines and identifying attacks from hackers. Thank you!

By Jeff N

Mar 14, 2022

Very interesting and relatable, especially with world events at this time. Instructor was very easy to listen to and comprehend the subject matter

By Lookman O Y

Sep 30, 2021

A very good starting point to understand Cybersecurity.

By Arvin S

Feb 9, 2022

Charlels Harry is very very good in explaining. I had to put the video to 1.25x because i can undertand what he was saying clearly. This course will make you understand how a network is attacked. It's not like you see in movies, a nerd sitting in a basement and lots of numbers scrolling like matrix in from of him. Hacking takes time and always remember the kill chain. This course introduce you to the kill chain. How do you defeat the kill chain? After finishing this course you will understand how to defeat the kill chain.

By Nick C

Feb 11, 2022

Really enjoyed the course. Interesting, especially the unit on Hacking. However, the final assignment was so difficult. It was only a general cybersecurity course.

By Ritesh K

Sep 3, 2021

It was my second course in Cybersecurity from Coursera . I found many things new in this course . I enjoyed this course.

By HATEM J

Feb 13, 2022

G​ood course all important things about cybersecurity "winzipped" at one time

By AYEBATARI I

Jul 10, 2022

This course is a very nice one. The lecturer was good and the project was a nice way to help students understand the nitigrity of cybersecurity. In all the course is an excellent one.

By Jan P C

Jul 30, 2022

Excellent Course by Professor Charles Harry. Does cover the concepts of Cyber security including the Final Project. Perfect for anyone who wants to get a knowledge of Cybersecurity

By Perin P

Mar 28, 2022

​Thank you Dr Charles for your tines and Knowledge you are sharing with us. In the student's name i would like to say you thank you very much...

By Dr. P V L

Dec 4, 2021

The course design is excellent and very good for beginners. I learned a lot .

thank you Prof Charles Harry

By Jan W

Dec 14, 2021

A​ great beginner course. Prof. Harry does a great job explaining the topic. Very much recommended!

By Darwin D

Nov 10, 2021

An excellent course. Very well structured and delivered. It has excited my interest to go deeper.

By Claudio P M R

Feb 18, 2022

Very good course for obtaining a general knowledge about cybersecurity.

By Muhammad M H M

Jan 8, 2022

Excellent Course. I'm very happy finishing the course.

By Moein A

Feb 14, 2022

I find this course very useful. Highly recommend.

By RANDALL B

Dec 7, 2021

Really Excellent...!!! Thank You very much...!!!!

By Suat G

Apr 1, 2022

Benim icin cok faydali bir kurs oldu.

By zizka m p

Jan 16, 2022

ineed certificate

nuurxadi@gmail.com

By Brandon L

Mar 3, 2022

Great course for beginners and also for the experienced.

By JAINISH A K

Aug 7, 2022

E​xplored and Learnt an unchartered territory by myself. It was my first online course and never had I ever thought it would be so much fun. If I had such a good way of education in my school time rather than just competing for being first, I would have topped there too. Appreciate the clear, simple, and guided method of teaching by Professor Charles Harry. Amazing experience. Thank You University of Maryland for such a wonderful course.

By Karen K

May 17, 2022

The instructor is extremely knowledge and an excellent presenter. The course was very organized and structured with enough of the right background/history upto current issues on hand and how cybersecurity really is for everyone. The links all worked and connected to very excellent and relevant content. Very informative and well worth the time.

By Rayan S

Feb 25, 2022

This was my first course related to IT and Cybersecurity and it was worth it. It goes by quickly and it gives you a solid base knowledge for networks and cybersecurity. I took this course too see if I want to pursue this career and it definetely got me interested. If you pay attention to the videos it is overall an easy course.

By Postelniak A

May 1, 2022

This is a very good course for complete beginners that provides basic knowledge in the field of cybersecurity. The instructor explains everything from scratch. The final course project is a bit challenging but if you take some time to complete it, it will solidify knowledge gained during the course.

By Jennifer L H

Jul 15, 2022

Excellent course. Having been on the human side of intelligence for many years, this was eye opening...and a bit dismaying. There's a whole new world for me in CI. Thank you for this excellent intro, fantastic reading materials, and the opportunity to create a product. On to my next course!