Chevron Left
Back to Framework for Data Collection and Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Framework for Data Collection and Analysis by University of Maryland, College Park

4.2
stars
571 ratings
134 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with an overview over existing data products and a good understanding of the data collection landscape. With the help of various examples you will learn how to identify which data sources likely matches your research question, how to turn your research question into measurable pieces, and how to think about an analysis plan. Furthermore this course will provide you with a general framework that allows you to not only understand each step required for a successful data collection and analysis, but also help you to identify errors associated with different data sources. You will learn some metrics to quantify each potential error, and thus you will have tools at hand to describe the quality of a data source. Finally we will introduce different large scale data collection efforts done by private industry and government agencies, and review the learned concepts through these examples. This course is suitable for beginners as well as those that know about one particular data source, but not others, and are looking for a general framework to evaluate data products....

Top reviews

MM
Mar 6, 2018

Very clear and organised structure\n\nClear examples to support learning objectives\n\nAttractive use of voice\n\nOne point for improvement: Do not film while the lecturer is still refinding breath

TJ
Oct 30, 2020

Useful to build basic knowledge which helps you choosing a better mode and linking the objectives of research with the tools (how).\n\nThanks to the instructor and Coursera.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 132 Reviews for Framework for Data Collection and Analysis

By Mounika s

Jul 12, 2020

Very use for every one

By PAVIN K

Jul 24, 2020

Good education system

By srilakshmi p

Apr 24, 2020

Useful Lectutes

By Gustavo A C M

Feb 7, 2021

thanks so much

By Wigamage, R

Dec 5, 2020

good course !

By Srinivas B

Nov 10, 2016

Excellent.

By Eshak I M B

May 8, 2017

thank you

By Musharavati E M

Feb 25, 2019

perfect

By Romulo N U

Aug 18, 2017

Compreh

By Cristhian C

Nov 13, 2016

Thanks

By RAHUL P

Sep 3, 2020

Good

By JOSHUA E

Feb 26, 2019

BEST

By Karene G

Dec 28, 2016

I

By Simon B

Jul 1, 2018

A lot of useful and interesting content!The quiz questions are sometimes poorly worded - missing words, bad grammar, sometimes illogical. The switching between video and slides is off-putting for me, especially if you are trying to take notes. Can the screen not be split? What do other coursera courses do?The curtain backdrops seems rather too 'staged'. On the whole - good.

By Ross G

Jan 8, 2018

Overall I found the course to be really useful, and I feel confident moving into the next module. I would have benefitted from having more practical examples given to help some of the terminology sink in a little better, but I think that speaks more to my unfamiliarity with the language than with the lecturer's methods.

By ellen w

Mar 24, 2019

The last quiz was terrible. I watched the classes, read the transcripts, and still had a hard time with it. Then I wasted $300 because i got sidetracked and it as so unpleasant to return to! (My fault, but still....)

Maybe worth re-tooling that quiz, as the rest of the class was quite good.

By Saif U K

Jul 20, 2016

An entremely good effort, gives you a wonderful introduction to the wonderful world of Survey Research in general and data collection overall. One of the plus point is that it directs you towards quite a few new sources of data that is pretty interesting if you are an active researcher.

By Adriana M

Aug 29, 2019

I had a lot of work with this course. I'm working in a organization of Statistics and I don't have much time to study. Sometimes, I had to study during my work and it is not good. I'm not sure that the hours spent on the course were correctly estimated by the University staff.

By Lucia I B H

Apr 23, 2018

Muchas de las lecturas tenían un nivel muy avanzado, y mencionaban términos, conceptos y técnicas estadísticas que no manejo. La parte teórica estuvo bien presentada pero me parece que hay un gap entre el nivel del curso y el nivel de las lecturas.

By Alejandra C C

Jul 22, 2020

I am very grateful to the University of Maryland and the professor, the truth was that she did not have much knowledge regarding the analysis of the information in the surveys and now I feel that there are many more interesting things to deepen.

By Kelly

Dec 26, 2017

This course provided a good introduction. I would have been interested in some less "large" scale data collection examples, e.g. responding to the increasing use of surveys in non-profit, higher education and education organizations.

By Hayley H

Oct 15, 2019

Interesting course. I liked the length of the videos. Parts of the quizzes were more about memorization than application, so I'm not sure how much that part of the course will stay with me. The material itself was helpful though.

By Dan L

Dec 23, 2017

This was an interesting course. Week four was less exciting for me and I did not understand the quiz--why should I memorize what different survey components are? Overall, however, it was interesting and well delivered. Thank you.

By Jason M C

May 1, 2016

A good overview of surveys and data collection methods. The Total Survey Error framework is good, but its application isn't shown as strongly as it should be. Regardless this is a good primer for future material.

By Michael H

Feb 22, 2021

Lot of definitions, so some of the questions (especially week 4) test reading comprehension more than understanding - but hopefully this will improve in the subsequent courses of the specialization.