Chevron Left
Back to Framework for Data Collection and Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Framework for Data Collection and Analysis by University of Maryland, College Park

4.2
332 ratings
84 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with an overview over existing data products and a good understanding of the data collection landscape. With the help of various examples you will learn how to identify which data sources likely matches your research question, how to turn your research question into measurable pieces, and how to think about an analysis plan. Furthermore this course will provide you with a general framework that allows you to not only understand each step required for a successful data collection and analysis, but also help you to identify errors associated with different data sources. You will learn some metrics to quantify each potential error, and thus you will have tools at hand to describe the quality of a data source. Finally we will introduce different large scale data collection efforts done by private industry and government agencies, and review the learned concepts through these examples. This course is suitable for beginners as well as those that know about one particular data source, but not others, and are looking for a general framework to evaluate data products....

Top reviews

MM

Mar 07, 2018

Very clear and organised structure\n\nClear examples to support learning objectives\n\nAttractive use of voice\n\nOne point for improvement: Do not film while the lecturer is still refinding breath

SM

May 19, 2019

Excelente curso, genera las herramientas necesarias para la recoleccion, transformacion, analisis e interpretacion de datos que requiero como principiante en este proceso

Filter by:

76 - 83 of 83 Reviews for Framework for Data Collection and Analysis

By AMINA I

Jul 17, 2019

Most interesting aspect is the Quality Perspective : It provides a pictorial view of measurement and representation.

By Laxdip P

Oct 28, 2016

The course content was good but teaching method was too poor to understand. First time little disappointment by coursera.com

By sana k

Jan 19, 2018

Couldn't stay interested

By Md. N H

Sep 01, 2019

The instructions were so slow and the delivery was nothing like continuous. It was difficult to keep track of the lecture and keep listening. I had a hard time listening through the lectures and complete it.

By Morgan S

Mar 03, 2017

This course is extremely hard to follow, not because of the content but because of the delivery. Presentation, "visuals", word choice, speed, all very poor. I'm in week 3 and EVERY video has been just as difficult to follow.

Quizzes are hard to understand and ask you about things that weren't of any actual value to the course, and/or weren't even covered. Also, because multiple answers are required for each question, you are basically answering a 4 part question that is only worth 1 point. Get one part wrong and you miss the whole 1 point.

By Divya K

Aug 28, 2016

AWFUL monotonous way of talking. I have such a great interest in this topic, but listening to her makes me want to rip my eyeballs out.

By Nehleen A

Dec 08, 2017

Extremely boring. I initially wanted to go for the 7 course certification but now I don't think that I will even finish this class, let alone go for the certification. A bad move for UMD and UMICH to make this class to be the first one to be taken for the certification. Most people will not consider this is worth their time especially when there are so many more interesting and freeclasses are available through Coursera, EDX and Udacity,

By Hong I C

Oct 10, 2018

Although I'm willing to sit through the entire specialization (the rest of the courses are taught by different professors), I am confident to argue that the first course was terrible.

The sloppiness of the presentation and course structure ruined most of the modules covered in the course, except for the first one. The rest needs some retouching and reconfiguring. Overall, the course was like listening to mumbo-jumbo and listing of a bunch of loosely-related materials.

The instructor needs to be the cohesive force that unites the scattered information. Otherwise, none of the contents stick in the learner's memory.

Besides, the tests were horrible. Didn't really test on any useful information. It was a test for the sake of testing.