Chevron Left
Back to Framework for Data Collection and Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Framework for Data Collection and Analysis by University of Maryland, College Park

4.2
stars
517 ratings
125 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with an overview over existing data products and a good understanding of the data collection landscape. With the help of various examples you will learn how to identify which data sources likely matches your research question, how to turn your research question into measurable pieces, and how to think about an analysis plan. Furthermore this course will provide you with a general framework that allows you to not only understand each step required for a successful data collection and analysis, but also help you to identify errors associated with different data sources. You will learn some metrics to quantify each potential error, and thus you will have tools at hand to describe the quality of a data source. Finally we will introduce different large scale data collection efforts done by private industry and government agencies, and review the learned concepts through these examples. This course is suitable for beginners as well as those that know about one particular data source, but not others, and are looking for a general framework to evaluate data products....

Top reviews

MM
Mar 6, 2018

Very clear and organised structure\n\nClear examples to support learning objectives\n\nAttractive use of voice\n\nOne point for improvement: Do not film while the lecturer is still refinding breath

TJ
Oct 30, 2020

Useful to build basic knowledge which helps you choosing a better mode and linking the objectives of research with the tools (how).\n\nThanks to the instructor and Coursera.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 123 Reviews for Framework for Data Collection and Analysis

By NURUL A S

Jul 13, 2020

It is a very fundamental and brief explanation about data collection, especially for the survey process.

By Emre I

Sep 17, 2020

Good introductory course that discusses main points of survey methodology

By George S

Jun 10, 2016

An extremely thorough overview on overall survey design methodology.

By Nabaz K

Oct 6, 2019

Easy to learn, overall Information with good and powerful examples

By Saleh K S M B

May 21, 2020

I'd like to see more example of regional data collections

By Md. S R

Jul 27, 2020

It a great opportunity to learn data collection frame

By Agalya B

Jul 16, 2020

The course was interesting and was knowledgable.

By Kelly A M

Oct 11, 2017

I got a great overview of the material.

By kaliappan.s

Nov 4, 2018

informative course for beginners

By Mouza A S A A

May 7, 2020

Thank you for the great course.

By Ranto R

Dec 14, 2017

Very good refere

By NARALA G D S R

Jun 20, 2020

Good

By shaimaa s

Oct 16, 2017

i would say the course over all is good ,in module one and 2 the videos were not so good was too short and the readings were good but missed some points were mentioned in videos so i felt some kind of being lost in between

in modules 3 and 4 videos were great but readings were so boring actually

quizzes were nice

i hoped that readings were more organized and structured like detecting certain book and we stuck with it through the course

the best thing in my opinion about the course is the discussion section , it was so helpful too me and tease me to continue the course till the end

actually it was so interesting experience to me , waiting for the next courses and achievement

thank you a lot coursera world for this

By Ed P

Mar 4, 2019

Overall this was a fine introduction. I would have liked a more rigorous approach to introducing and defining concepts. The last course on examples of surveys was pretty weak - with more work the instructor could have better linked the examples to concepts we had previously learned. Instead she just did a rote report out of the purpose, design, and potential issues. The slides had all the information she was going to share, she didn't add much value with her speaking.

By Anya V

Jan 15, 2018

The materials are solid and well organized, however the instructor is extremely poor - speaks in round about and confusing way, misspeaks, yawns throughout the presentation, makes random emphasis and pauses throughout substances that are annoying and distracting and pull away attention from the substance. These videos need to be re-recorded, with a more effective instructor.

By Andrew A

Jun 28, 2018

While the videos are a bit boring and the quiz questions could test a deeper understanding of the referenced material, the subject matter coverage is very good and draws on salient debates that show tradeoffs between surveys and big data. The literature provided was helpful and accessible.

By Courtney M

Dec 15, 2017

It was ok. everyone has different tastes for lectures but I found her speech hard to follow. I probably wont continue. Also, I did not realize how it was really going to be all about surveys. Not what I was looking for. You can have data collection and analysis without surveys.

By Devin G

Jul 7, 2017

It was a good overview of the subject, but now I am eager to learn more about survey design and analysis details. I don't anticipate working much with big data or administrative data, so those sections of the course were interesting, but not particularly pertinent to me.

By Nevila

Apr 22, 2018

The course teaching method was boring with low inappropriate tones and lack of enthusiasm. The attender could have the feeling the instructor was obliged to have the speaking and not to teach the content! (The instructor continuous swallowing were very disturbing)

By Cristina C

Feb 19, 2020

It is the first time i give a low review to a Coursera course. I felt it was hard to follow the structure of the course. Quizzes questions were also hard to understand. I think it can be improved with much clearer instructions.

By Muhammad H

Jun 8, 2017

The content is rather introductory, but for new comers, it is a little challenging trying to remember most of the different survey approaches adopted for the different surveys used in US.

By Eyad A K

May 4, 2018

I have learned a lot of new and interesting things from this course. The content of the course however lacks practical and simple examples that are easily understandable by everyone.

By Suzanne M O

Oct 16, 2019

Very basic overview. A nice course to set up the rest of the courses in this specialization on Survey Design and Analysis.

By AMINA I

Jul 17, 2019

Most interesting aspect is the Quality Perspective : It provides a pictorial view of measurement and representation.

By Tony, O L H

Dec 24, 2017

Quite a dry topic to listen through, but good coverage on formula, total error framework & global survey examples.