Chevron Left
Back to Framework for Data Collection and Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Framework for Data Collection and Analysis by University of Maryland, College Park

4.2
332 ratings
84 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with an overview over existing data products and a good understanding of the data collection landscape. With the help of various examples you will learn how to identify which data sources likely matches your research question, how to turn your research question into measurable pieces, and how to think about an analysis plan. Furthermore this course will provide you with a general framework that allows you to not only understand each step required for a successful data collection and analysis, but also help you to identify errors associated with different data sources. You will learn some metrics to quantify each potential error, and thus you will have tools at hand to describe the quality of a data source. Finally we will introduce different large scale data collection efforts done by private industry and government agencies, and review the learned concepts through these examples. This course is suitable for beginners as well as those that know about one particular data source, but not others, and are looking for a general framework to evaluate data products....

Top reviews

MM

Mar 07, 2018

Very clear and organised structure\n\nClear examples to support learning objectives\n\nAttractive use of voice\n\nOne point for improvement: Do not film while the lecturer is still refinding breath

SM

May 19, 2019

Excelente curso, genera las herramientas necesarias para la recoleccion, transformacion, analisis e interpretacion de datos que requiero como principiante en este proceso

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 83 Reviews for Framework for Data Collection and Analysis

By Srinivas B

Nov 10, 2016

Excellent.

By Cristhian C

Nov 13, 2016

Thanks

By Anastasia F

Dec 15, 2017

Interesting and very useful for work.

I liked it better than a course #5-6. It's not so long, but has many practical insights

By Marloes d M

Mar 07, 2018

Very clear and organised structure

Clear examples to support learning objectives

Attractive use of voice

One point for improvement: Do not film while the lecturer is still refinding breath

By Shrinidhi J

Jun 26, 2016

really helpful. and nicely thought!

By Abdirahman M

Aug 23, 2017

This great course and a good foundation for the specialization. The lecturer is amazing and experienced. I really enjoyed this one.

By Nazakat A

Aug 28, 2017

The course is wounder full and highly informative.

By Mónica E F C

Sep 03, 2018

This course give sufficient background information to start working on other courses and text about surveys.

By Kyoko M

Oct 05, 2018

The teacher for the course was great. She explained everything very clearly. She also explained what is coming next. Learned a lot. Reading materials were overwhelming.

By Siyad A E

Oct 05, 2018

Very interesting Course for data collection and analysis!

By Dr. E E

Nov 07, 2018

This module provides an excellent framework and introduction to the subject.

By Ari P S P

Apr 29, 2019

The first course in the specialization give comprehesive introduction, good basic concept, good lecture

By Silvio C C M

May 19, 2019

Excelente curso, genera las herramientas necesarias para la recoleccion, transformacion, analisis e interpretacion de datos que requiero como principiante en este proceso

By David C

Jul 25, 2019

Really good to understand the basics of data collection and analysis!

By R. K

Aug 12, 2019

Excellent curriculum design and delivery by knowledgeable instructors

By saurabh g

Aug 20, 2019

very informative course

By Renzo R

Aug 23, 2019

Excelente curso. Proporciona diferentes puntos de vistas.

By ellen w

Mar 24, 2019

The last quiz was terrible. I watched the classes, read the transcripts, and still had a hard time with it. Then I wasted $300 because i got sidetracked and it as so unpleasant to return to! (My fault, but still....)

Maybe worth re-tooling that quiz, as the rest of the class was quite good.

By Iyshia L

Jun 20, 2018

I though it was a good background course, however, I wish initially (in week 1) there was more focus on definitions.

By Parmeet K

Oct 28, 2016

this course is really good. i enjoyed a lot.

By Nguyen N K C

Jun 08, 2016

The deliver papers are great but slides are poor. In overall, a good course to begin learning about Data Collection and Analysis.

By Jaiyon H

Sep 19, 2016

I think this course gives the basic & important knowledge about survey and data collection. Some can feel the course boring. But I believe the important knowledge boring sometimes.

By Kelly

Dec 26, 2017

This course provided a good introduction. I would have been interested in some less "large" scale data collection examples, e.g. responding to the increasing use of surveys in non-profit, higher education and education organizations.

By George S

Jun 10, 2016

An extremely thorough overview on overall survey design methodology.

By Jason M C

May 01, 2016

A good overview of surveys and data collection methods. The Total Survey Error framework is good, but its application isn't shown as strongly as it should be. Regardless this is a good primer for future material.