Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,000 ratings
1,806 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

RS

May 06, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

VC

May 17, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1226 - 1250 of 1,790 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Fakhre A

May 14, 2020

I love this course. I have gained lot's of knowledge by completing this course. I would recommend who want to develop their career in the field of data science should use this course.

By Prishanga B

Jun 14, 2018

Could have a little more of theory on how to solve the problems. But otherwise a good understanding of the basics of the statistical and probability maths required for Data Analysis.

By Saule K

Sep 08, 2020

I did not like the last week, I have tried to help on the forum with answers, but even me with a solid back ground in probability thinking that it must be explained in a better way

By Vaibhav K

Jul 14, 2020

Quite useful especially the last few probability sections with a focus on Bayes' Theorem. My key takeaway was Bayes' Updation which I had hitherto ignored. Good introductory course.

By Huzaifa M S

May 17, 2020

Overall the course is very good. Although there are some errors like a few questions in the quiz are wrong. And in the last week probability is poorly taught. Otherwise, it's good.

By Muhammad E

May 08, 2020

nice course but very introductory nothing further, a good catch for someone with very little math skills and thinking about getting him/her self ready for a career in data science

By Praveen K

Sep 08, 2020

The course was very nice, the only complain I have was it was a bit too basic for the first three weeks, it became a lot more interesting and a bit challenging in the 4th week.

By Santanu G

Jun 17, 2020

Liked the course, it covers the basic concepts nicely. However would like the probability section to contain more problem examples in the tutorial video or reference materials.

By Franco L T

Apr 17, 2020

The lectures are done ok. The tests are a bit too complicate with respect to the level of the lectures (specially the last ones...). Apart from this, the course is worth it!

By Swapnil s

Oct 02, 2017

Good content and non math student can also learn concepts taught very quickly. Good start towards data science course. Must have skills for non math students and scientists.

By Fauzan P

Jul 23, 2020

Good videos , quizzes and reading. Need to improve Probability section by adding some simple example by cases in the videos and the readings since it is quite hard to catch

By Pitchaphorn N

Jun 02, 2020

What I am impressed the most is the assessments are quite challenging. Make sure that you have good math background before taking this course. But overall, it is very good.

By Yonathan A B B

May 11, 2020

Es necesario material de apoyo que ayudea comprender el material de la 4ta semana del curso, ya que el tema de probabilidades no es intuitivo, y el material es muy básico.

By Victor G B G

May 17, 2020

Siento que los examenes de grado deberia ser dos, uno a mitad de cada bloque para desarrollar mejor los temas mencionados y luengo uno al final con los nuevos temas vistos

By Ramyabala P

Oct 12, 2019

Good course to revise basic math concepts! Would have liked the probability module to have been a little more detailed. But on the whole i had a good learning experience.

By Sudrutai c

May 03, 2020

It's a great refresher of a lot of math & probability concepts. last wk (wk 4) of the course is not great. more detailed explanations and examples will be very helpful.

By Claudio C

Oct 19, 2018

Very useful to review some math basics that everybody forgets after school. Interesting the part on baesyan probability which I only knew on a game theory point of view

By Marco S

Jun 03, 2018

Learn many thing and boosted my confidence on the math concept explained in the course. I would have appreciated some more in-depth explanation of the last week classes

By Mehran F

Oct 11, 2020

I think if a more energetic class was held, it would help to understand the concepts. Overall, it was a good class and made me more interested in math and statistics.

By Nazatul S b A W

May 10, 2020

The video provided is very helpful this is because they explain more the concept. The quiz is help as well because they provide the solution when we wrong the answer.

By Ismael

Apr 13, 2020

Very good course, but in chapter 4 when starts to talk about probability, It starts to be confusing, there are some questions in the final test that seems ambiguous.

By Eugenio E C S

Mar 19, 2019

The first half it was great. After that I felt really confused with the probability examples and the exercises was really tricky. Besides of that, it's a good course.

By Graeme D

Jun 03, 2020

Good course to start your learning off, could do with some exercises to facilitate learning along with references to more extensive materials for reading or viewing.

By Venkateswarlu M

Oct 12, 2017

Its nice course to brush up basic maths. It would be helpful if you can add more topics which are required to complete data science like matrices and other concepts

By Shirleen K S Y

Jun 10, 2020

It was doable for the first 3 weeks as it is a recap to me. The 4th week is a little challenging as there is probability and Bayes' Theorem. Overall, a good course!