Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,065 ratings
1,824 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

VS

Sep 23, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1251 - 1275 of 1,809 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Yonathan A B B

May 11, 2020

Es necesario material de apoyo que ayudea comprender el material de la 4ta semana del curso, ya que el tema de probabilidades no es intuitivo, y el material es muy básico.

By Victor G B G

May 17, 2020

Siento que los examenes de grado deberia ser dos, uno a mitad de cada bloque para desarrollar mejor los temas mencionados y luengo uno al final con los nuevos temas vistos

By Ramyabala P

Oct 12, 2019

Good course to revise basic math concepts! Would have liked the probability module to have been a little more detailed. But on the whole i had a good learning experience.

By Sudrutai c

May 03, 2020

It's a great refresher of a lot of math & probability concepts. last wk (wk 4) of the course is not great. more detailed explanations and examples will be very helpful.

By Claudio C

Oct 19, 2018

Very useful to review some math basics that everybody forgets after school. Interesting the part on baesyan probability which I only knew on a game theory point of view

By Marco S

Jun 03, 2018

Learn many thing and boosted my confidence on the math concept explained in the course. I would have appreciated some more in-depth explanation of the last week classes

By Mehran F

Oct 11, 2020

I think if a more energetic class was held, it would help to understand the concepts. Overall, it was a good class and made me more interested in math and statistics.

By Nazatul S b A W

May 10, 2020

The video provided is very helpful this is because they explain more the concept. The quiz is help as well because they provide the solution when we wrong the answer.

By Ismael

Apr 13, 2020

Very good course, but in chapter 4 when starts to talk about probability, It starts to be confusing, there are some questions in the final test that seems ambiguous.

By Eugenio E C S

Mar 19, 2019

The first half it was great. After that I felt really confused with the probability examples and the exercises was really tricky. Besides of that, it's a good course.

By Graeme D

Jun 03, 2020

Good course to start your learning off, could do with some exercises to facilitate learning along with references to more extensive materials for reading or viewing.

By Venkateswarlu M

Oct 12, 2017

Its nice course to brush up basic maths. It would be helpful if you can add more topics which are required to complete data science like matrices and other concepts

By Shirleen K S Y

Jun 10, 2020

It was doable for the first 3 weeks as it is a recap to me. The 4th week is a little challenging as there is probability and Bayes' Theorem. Overall, a good course!

By Colleen O

May 07, 2020

The first 3 weeks were excellent and enjoyable, however for week 4 the material was not explained clearly and necessitated the use of external material- not ideal.

By Raj D

Apr 25, 2020

The last week of Probability was not upto the mark and I had to study it from outside to clear some doubts. Other than that rest of the topics were well explained.

By Mohammed F M I

May 08, 2018

It seemed the last week course was a bit rushed and could have been extended into few more classes. Apart from this the exercises and practice quiz were very good.

By Mariya O G

Feb 22, 2018

It was interesting and simplified which made it more understandable except for the last classes in week 4 which didn't have enough examples for clarity. Thank you.

By Om D

Sep 11, 2020

everything is great and sufficient for starting in data science. but please one request please do elaborate more the probability concept with excellent examples

By MANOJ K

Aug 03, 2020

The fourth week was not specific enough and not covered entirely . Also the professor should consider using widely accepted scientific notations in probability

By Alan C V

Sep 16, 2019

The second part was difficult for me because was short on examples and not as dynamic as the first two weeks. But overall I would say that was a nice beginning

By E. R " A

Jul 24, 2019

Another course on how to apply Bayes-Miller to something other than coin flips and card drawings is needed. The transition to real-world problems is the issue.

By Jimmy

May 03, 2017

the very last week was tough

beginner of data science will not understand. that probability things is really hard to understand without some basic illustration.

By Jhon J B S

Aug 24, 2020

Good content, but the explanations will be able to improve, i know that at last week the subjects are complex, but i found better explanations in other sites.

By Irina

Oct 21, 2020

Good as an introductory course. It got challenging by the end, but I did enjoy it. Definitely need more study to be done to be comfortable with these topics.

By Paul B

Jun 30, 2020

The initial material is very introductory but the later does get much harder. A combination of the lectures and notes provides a good coverage of the topics