Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,093 ratings
1,829 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

RS

May 06, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

VC

May 17, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1326 - 1350 of 1,811 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Yuvraj M

Jun 03, 2020

The Course was structured pretty well! Like the tutors. More Support could have been offered for the last two modules though!

By Saurabh C

Apr 12, 2020

Well taught. I felt Bayes Theorem could have been explained a little better. However, overall a wonderful course. Thank you.

By Eman A

Jan 27, 2018

its very good course,,but i didn't mark 5th star because course need more excercises on each lesson special at probabilities

By Maksym F

Jul 28, 2017

Thanks for course! Only advise I can give - change the name to "Basic Math Skills for Data science". Course is pretty easy.

By JAGDISH R A

Apr 17, 2020

I understood all the basic math skills behind the data science Field. Very good explanation of probability part and so on.

By Mohamed M A E

Dec 04, 2017

It is very good course but need to add more exercises (examples), reading materials in addition to more and longer videos.

By Shahrukh H

Apr 29, 2020

Should be rather more competitive from the 3rd week stage. Although the teaching was definitely interactive and engaging.

By Birkaran S

Oct 25, 2019

Well-described concise notes and if you do not understand anything, the author provides written notes with every lecture.

By Romain T

Jun 18, 2020

Good course for brushing up one's maths skills. I found the week 4 content quite challenging, but got there in the end!

By GODBOLE K S

May 15, 2020

It was very awesome experience with coursera.it help me to clear my concept regarding with data science and math skill.

By MONALISA P

Apr 27, 2020

One more week on Probability could have been better. Probabilty week felt a little rushed. Rest was awesome. Thank you.

By Zhe X

Jun 11, 2017

Good introduction course. It will be better if more contents and examples for calculus and probalility can be provided.

By Andrew C

Jun 22, 2017

Quality instruction with clear explanation of concepts and relevant practice/test modules to check your understanding.

By city z

May 21, 2020

Maybe a little easy for the real task, I will try another harder class, but thanks for giving me the chance to learn.

By Greg L

Apr 18, 2018

no discussion or ongoing grade at least in the beta course. Generally pretty good, a little slow and simple to start

By WANG T

Feb 10, 2018

Clear structure and typical case were applied in this course. However, hope the course material could be more detail.

By Jake R

Apr 26, 2020

Good course for people who have been out of school for a long time and looking to understand some math fundamentals.

By Rashi S

Apr 04, 2020

The course was helpful to enhance some forgotten mathematical concepts, especially probability and its applications.

By Nguyen T T

Jan 01, 2018

The course is helpful both as a refresher and a introduction, although i would like to have more practice exercises.

By ABHISHEK B

Jul 16, 2020

Good one .Content creator focuses nicely on basic maths which is required further for understanding complex topics.

By Samata L

Jul 09, 2020

Some lectures were not that interesting but the video companions are so well and the quizzes are very interesting.

By Rajeshkumar P

Apr 10, 2020

Week 4 problems are so chalenging, Give some more reading refernce, practice reference, need more practice on tht

By Ricardo M

Mar 20, 2020

Would be great to have a chapter dedicated to relating the concepts learned with typical data science activities.

By Laura M d A M

Aug 06, 2020

Pretty basic until the last module.

It has been very useful to remember a some maths that studied a long time ago

By Christo F

May 27, 2020

THE QUIZZES WERE AMAZING. IT CHALLENGED ME SO MUCH. BUT AT THE END I COULD GET BETTER AT MY ANALYTICAL THINKING.