Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,065 ratings
1,824 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

VS

Sep 23, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1276 - 1300 of 1,808 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Yash M

May 04, 2020

From these course your basic concept of mathematics will improve and anyone can apply in these course. It is easy as non mathematics person can also learn it

By Jeremiah M D

Apr 01, 2018

Pretty decent. I could've used some clearer explanations on the statistics stuff, but that's likely due to the fact that I've had no previous exposure to it.

By Ayush A K

May 09, 2020

Its a good review of the concepts I studied in my high school but it is certainly not enough to dive right into data science after completing this course.

By Taenchiki S

Oct 12, 2020

Very good math review but the probability lessons need improvements. I had to study probabilities from external ressources in order to pass the quizzes.

By Vinay R

Jul 19, 2020

It is really amazing course which refresh my short knowlege and cleard my some of the doubts.And Great thanks to instructor who make this course amazing.

By Diana M

Jan 11, 2018

Easy to understand. Very good for beginner's. Handwriting was a little tough at times, but explained well by the instructors so it didn't hinder learning

By Manasi P

Sep 29, 2020

They gave real life examples to explain the topics which is very good .. personally it helps me to understand the core fundamental logics of each topic.

By Peter C

Jun 10, 2018

Actually I don't know well whether these contents should be earned by video classes. But, the explanations and the passion of the instructor were great.

By Nirupam S

Sep 17, 2017

The course is good for beginners. Although, more emphasis could have been placed on industrial examples but still the course is a great start for anyone

By Afif A R

May 25, 2020

an essential course for them wants to learn data science. But last week become really tough to understand, though the experience was good.

Thank you.

By harshita a

May 24, 2020

it was a great experience to have this course . I have learned lots of statistics tricks , which I found difficult. Thanks to provide these lectures.

By kishor k

May 01, 2020

It's really good courses to get complete command on mathematics on this very lockdown times.It really helps me to solve such maths problems.thank you

By Abhishek A

Sep 20, 2020

it was nice and understandable course specially the probability part .. for a basic data science it is enough to cover all mathematical portion.. :)

By Walid H

Aug 16, 2020

very good content and quality, however, the explainations could sometimes have been presented better way (the blackboarding could have been better).

By Abecassis

Jun 27, 2020

Le cours est globalement de qualité. Le prof explique bien. Il me semble qu'il a quelques erreurs dans les quizz qui perturbent un peu l'évaluation.

By Uriel C

Apr 29, 2020

Good course if you want to get the necesary skills for a data science course. The readings were good, but more examples would make the course better

By Cam B

Jun 14, 2020

Overall a good overview, Bayes portions moved much faster than the rest it seemed like. Maybe it's only because I'm less familiar with that portion

By Abhishek B

Aug 15, 2020

I wish the Bayes Theorem explanation was a bit more clear. I found it hard to understand. Apart from that the course and the exercises were great!

By Bahareh a

Jun 04, 2020

Thank you that was very nice, especially in Algebra. I think just in part of "Probability", week four, it was a bit ambiguous. once again thanks.

By Sujatha S

Aug 30, 2020

very helpful course to refresh our memories on probablity functions.

week4 quiz answers explanation is missing - could you please upload

Thanks

By Fernando A P

Jun 23, 2020

Needs more examples being given in the videos. However, the instructor does a good job in explaining the concepts in an understandable manner.

By Carlos V

Feb 18, 2019

V

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

r

e

s

o

u

r

c

e

t

o

r

e

f

r

e

s

h

t

h

I

n

g

s

w

e

l

e

a

r

n

e

d

in the past and also asses some voids in our knowledge of calculus and probability. Thanks!!!!

By Hauwa A

Oct 24, 2017

Week 4 gets confusing as more examples could help explain concepts. Otherwise overall course is great for basic math skills for Data Science

By Gary H

Jun 04, 2018

Introduction to some basic mathematical terms. Conducted in an easy-understand way. Not very clear explanation in the part of probabilities.

By Ysa G

Jun 19, 2020

Great for those who need to review their fundamentals. Helpful for people like me who already forgot about derivatives, probabilities, etc.