Chevron Left
Back to Behavioral Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Behavioral Finance by Duke University

4.4
stars
3,903 ratings

About the Course

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top reviews

SK

Feb 25, 2020

Good course! There is just one thing I would improve here - an explanation of the mistakes after the tests are done. This improvement should increase the student`s understanding of specific topics.

M

May 2, 2018

This course was a very good sum up of Daniel Kahneman's thinking fast and slow. Definitely recommend to everyone who would like to know more about our flaws or would like to refresh your knowledge.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 995 Reviews for Behavioral Finance

By Le R U

Feb 7, 2023

Good informative course offered for free. I would recommend taking this course to anyone interested in finance.

By Noah P

Jul 9, 2021

Great course, in particular i find the material useful, the exams are written in a frustrating manner though.

By Vanshika K

Nov 19, 2019

Good Course too much to learn, but should have included a little more video lectures along with the readings.

By Edwina D

Aug 29, 2016

3 weeks was a bit of a rush to get everything done, but the course was very informative and met expectations.

By Sagar P

May 1, 2020

Too good. Lot of technical aspects were tried to explain. Still i feel explanation would have been provided.

By Sefa G

Apr 27, 2022

A lot of written materials make it hard to understand some topics, I would prefer listening them on video.

By Kersam Z l

Feb 5, 2022

Will be great to have correct answers and explanations of quiz-2 and quiz-3, just like that of quiz-1

By Yuvan P

Jun 1, 2020

good course gave a insight about how to manage finance and how to take decision during important times

By Gavin S

Apr 12, 2020

A well presented and thought out course. Easily understandable slides and the videos are very helpful.

By Melis Y

Nov 6, 2020

Videos are useful but the course is full of slides. I would prefer listeing from a professional much.

By Jonathan D M

Aug 23, 2020

Short and fun course on Behavioral finance. However, there is much more reading material than videos.

By 周越凡

Apr 21, 2017

It would be better to provide detailed explanation for the cases and questions raised in the slides.

By SAFA P A

Dec 5, 2021

It would be more video, less presentations. However, great course with great knowledges, thank you!

By Lisandro I A

Dec 2, 2019

It's a great course, however it's too short. It could be at least five additional hours of content.

By Sonia P

Jan 28, 2019

video don't add much value to the readings; often questions are not related to the course content

By Juan F

Jun 1, 2018

Very good introduction to Behavioral Finance: concise and applicable in real economic situations.

By Daniel H

Apr 29, 2022

Excelent but the teachers could use , in their video classes, some additional graphs and images!

By Rory D

Sep 7, 2021

very good course...very thorough...comprehensive and detailed coverage of the topic...well done

By Abhishek K S

May 10, 2020

ITS VERY HELP FULL TO UNDERSTAND MY FINANCIAL DECISION MAKING ERROR... THANKS TO ALL PROFESSORS

By Mirko T

Nov 7, 2017

Very good course, interesting and well managed! Good slides, good lessons with good subtitles

By Prashanth M

May 1, 2020

wonderful and short course, but i believe the week 3 was much smaller and could be expanded

By Hector I

Dec 8, 2020

Muy recomendable como curso de iniciación o introducción a la Economía del Comportamiento.

By Nuno S

Dec 30, 2019

I find it is more about learning concepts and identifying them, rather than applying them.

By old t

Apr 14, 2020

Good course but would have preferred a way to find the answers to questions I got wrong

By Patrick O

Nov 7, 2019

Trickier than expected - short time frame to correctly absorb all the heuristic patterns.