Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Maintainable Android Apps

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Maintainable Android Apps by Vanderbilt University

4.4
125 ratings
32 reviews

About the Course

Engineering Maintainable Android Apps, which is a 4 week MOOC that shows by example various methods for engineering maintainable Android apps, including test-driven development methods and how to develop/run unit tests using JUnit and Robotium (or equivalent automated testing frameworks for Android), as well as how to successfully apply common Java/Android software patterns to improve the extensibility and clarity of Android apps. Students will work on the appropriate automated unit quizzes, based on the material covered in the lecture videos. These lessons will demonstrate the benefits of good software engineering practices that are targeted at creating maintainable code for mobile apps. There will be roughly 3-4 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, and quizzes. The ordering of the modules within the course is designed to be flexible. In particular, students can watch the videos in whatever order suits their experience and needs, e.g., they may want to watch the unit testing videos prior to the software pattern videos if they prefer to learn about unit testing first....

Top reviews

RL

Oct 07, 2017

Dr White is always a pleasure to learn from. He has presented a large amount of vital information in a relatively short, concise and palatable manner. Looking forward to the next course. \m/

HR

Dec 07, 2017

a great course in terms of security specially the Plexiglas used by the instructor which was used in Picasso's paintings. the concept is very helpful. thanks. great effort

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 39 Reviews for Engineering Maintainable Android Apps

By Sawan K S

Jun 30, 2019

This course id important but also toughest course in whole MOOC

By

May 13, 2019

This course provides some good ideas on how to engineer your Android apps. Some of the ideas may be costly to implement. For example, writing unit tests and integration tests can double the development time. This may not be practical. Overall, it is a good course.

By Jade F

Feb 06, 2019

The topics that this course covers are testing and security - it seems that informing up and coming android developers that these things are important is obligatory in the specialization. It comes off as being quite general and lacks interactivity - thankfully that's probably for the best since it's kind of dry material.

One of the quiz questions is 'when is it appropriate to ignore these security principles?' Possible answers are 'if it improves performance', 'if it helps meet a deadline', or 'never'. It doesn't require a lot of thought to get the point of the course.

Unfortunately, this section won't have you using android studio much, but you can't deny that what Dr White is teaching here is really important.

By Gabriel P d C

Nov 09, 2018

This MOOC is very good to introduce some development testing and security concerns in Android development. I does not intend to go deep with implementations because its a introductory and basic course. The only complaint that I can do is that I wish there were some written materials of the weeks. It is rather boring to get back to the videos to study, which could be done faster and easier with a 2 page summary of the week.

By Соломонов М А

Apr 05, 2018

The course doesn't contain any useful information. Course also is obsolete. This is not a course about development for android. This course consist from some theory about android global.

By Sergio C

Oct 21, 2017

Looks like a mix of two distinct issues like testing and security. Both fundamental themes, but scratched lightly like an introduction. I won't recommend it to my colleagues, sorry, until a more thought and solid course is developed on both subjects. Unlike my other Coursera courses, I regret to have payed for this one, is less than I can get on YouTube.

By LE V T

Jul 10, 2019

The course was very useful for me in programming

By Salma E G T

Jul 08, 2019

por favor revisen me la calculadora del mes 1, solo me falta esa por favorrrrrr.

posdata. el material de enseñanza es muy bueno, al igual que las dinámicas.

By Yimmy A E M

Jul 08, 2019

Muy bueno

By Kiều T K

Jul 08, 2019

so hard

By Bilal N K

Jul 08, 2019

One of the best courses on maintenance. Highly recommended to others as well

By Alex Y

Jul 07, 2019

Thanks for the final video about how to film lectures!

By Maria d l A T T

Jul 04, 2019

Excelente , Espero que puedan Evaluarme en mi Primer Mes :c

By faiçel

May 19, 2019

A must experiences to learn for every developer .

By Abdullah M A

Oct 27, 2018

Very Useful and very intelligent instructor, Thank you.

By Harold L M M

Jan 09, 2018

A very good material on android security. Thank you!

By Dmytro N

Dec 24, 2017

Great presentation of material. Not so much useful information on Android platform vulnerabilities.

By Amrish A J

Dec 24, 2017

Helped me understand the security features of android. The examples were explained very well. Testing was covered to a good extent in this course.

By Hassan R

Dec 07, 2017

a great course in terms of security specially the Plexiglas used by the instructor which was used in Picasso's paintings. the concept is very helpful. thanks. great effort

By sushrut

Nov 27, 2017

Non optional programming assignments would be quite helpful to learn the curriculum throughly

By kirti k

Oct 31, 2017

it is very tough course but really interesting to get the detail deeply.

To clear the quiz and i need to go through the video's 40 times line by line to get the concept in detail but still not able to find answers for 100% :(

By Abdul H M

Oct 29, 2017

Thanks

By Robert L

Oct 07, 2017

Dr White is always a pleasure to learn from. He has presented a large amount of vital information in a relatively short, concise and palatable manner. Looking forward to the next course. \m/

By Muhammed s e

Sep 20, 2017

gave me a very good overview on security as a whole and on security specifically for android.

By Craig S

Sep 03, 2017

Great end to the specialisation course work!!!