Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Maintainable Android Apps

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Maintainable Android Apps by Vanderbilt University

4.5
stars
267 ratings
66 reviews

About the Course

Engineering Maintainable Android Apps, which is a 4 week MOOC that shows by example various methods for engineering maintainable Android apps, including test-driven development methods and how to develop/run unit tests using JUnit and Robotium (or equivalent automated testing frameworks for Android), as well as how to successfully apply common Java/Android software patterns to improve the extensibility and clarity of Android apps. Students will work on the appropriate automated unit quizzes, based on the material covered in the lecture videos. These lessons will demonstrate the benefits of good software engineering practices that are targeted at creating maintainable code for mobile apps. There will be roughly 3-4 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, and quizzes. The ordering of the modules within the course is designed to be flexible. In particular, students can watch the videos in whatever order suits their experience and needs, e.g., they may want to watch the unit testing videos prior to the software pattern videos if they prefer to learn about unit testing first....

Top reviews

RL
Oct 6, 2017

Dr White is always a pleasure to learn from. He has presented a large amount of vital information in a relatively short, concise and palatable manner. Looking forward to the next course. \m/

HR
Dec 6, 2017

a great course in terms of security specially the Plexiglas used by the instructor which was used in Picasso's paintings. the concept is very helpful. thanks. great effort

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 65 Reviews for Engineering Maintainable Android Apps

By Craig S

Sep 3, 2017

Great end to the specialisation course work!!!

By Ravindranath. B K

Mar 9, 2017

Gives very good understanding of Android Apps

By Mohammad M D

Oct 8, 2019

That was really useful for me, Thanks all

By Gaetano D

Mar 18, 2017

The Professor is a Great Professor!!

By Ahmed I

Sep 24, 2020

Best course in this specialization

By amadou d

Dec 8, 2020

Fantastic!!Excellent!ThankYou

By SONALI L

Sep 21, 2020

Sonali madhukar lokare

By Sardar k

Mar 11, 2020

Really Love this Course

By Umer F

Apr 26, 2017

very interesting course

By Jesus A B

Apr 23, 2017

excellent course !

By Sri S M S D

Sep 24, 2020

Excellent course

By Jahnavi M

Jul 5, 2020

SUPERB COURSE

By Valerii T

May 30, 2017

Великолепно

By 罗成毅

Sep 13, 2019

thank you!

By Yimmy A E M

Jul 8, 2019

Muy bueno

By tAnboyy

Oct 20, 2020

amaZing!

By Abdul H M

Oct 29, 2017

Thanks

By Jagdale S S

Sep 5, 2020

Nice

By Saurabh L

Sep 1, 2020

good

By Sneha B

Aug 15, 2020

grt

By Steve C

Apr 5, 2017

I would advise anyone doing this specialization, to take the Java for Android first, then do the Engineering Maintainable Android apps, as its only in the Engineering Maintainable Android apps that there is an optional coursework to create and test a very simple app for the first time. All the other MOOCs optional courseworks start from very complex pre-existing app examples. I was able to complete these courseworks but I didnt really understand all the surrounding code that did a lot of important UI stuff, or the JUnit test. Its good to be forced to make a simple app and get used to JUnit from day 1. I did not take this route, but I wish I had.

By Evgeny K

May 24, 2020

Short course about user-oriented practices that should always be kept in mind. Quizes have many weird questions with seemingly more answers that there are. But finally they provide quite strong definitions about what there is behind them. Many thanks the author for the final explanation how it was filmed.

By Fameno R

Aug 28, 2020

The idea behind all the pop ups requesting for access is now clear. I wish there were more practice in the assignments. But, generally, the course is very insightful and the lecturer is clear enough. The explanations and the illustrations are simple to follow and to understand.

By Alex M

Mar 20, 2017

Good information on unit and Android testing.

Also provide some info on security issues.

Could do with more hands-on assignments and provide URLs to Android testing, security, and debugging/code analysis tools. May be expand to include overview of code analysis tools like lint

By Josep G F

Feb 27, 2021

Great course to understand basic concepts about testing and also security in Android apps. The course is perfectly explained and the methodology to show the content is simply brilliant.

I'd have loved to see further content and more examples but I really liked this course.