Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
28,258 ratings

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

VI

Jan 18, 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

SD

Aug 6, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

Filter by:

2576 - 2600 of 8,069 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Laura H P G

Apr 19, 2019

Muy claro, muy practico. Me encantó escuchar a la Dra. Maya! Cambió mi forma de ver mi alimentación.

By Solange A V

Mar 11, 2019

Excellent! I've learnt so much, and I'm using my new knowledge in my daily life! Thanks for sharing!

By HABIBUR R

Mar 3, 2019

I have no Money. If I cant get a certificate without Money can I get a printable completion later..?

By Carletti N

Feb 26, 2019

So very well written and explained, a simple mine gold to understand the basics of a healthy eating.

By Natalie R

Apr 26, 2018

Great introduction to food and health and gives a good foundation to start making healthier changes.

By Elena L P C

Nov 16, 2017

Es un curso adecuado para el público en general que quiere prevenir enfermedades y mejorar su salud.

By Vaibhav J

Jul 23, 2017

I really liked the course and would like to purchase the certification for this as well if possible.

By Tim H

Nov 2, 2016

Learned some new stuff and it brought back joy and a new passion for food and cooking. Thank you! :)

By Arsenios I

Oct 22, 2016

Well spoken, perfect quality, easy to understand and very useful! That's how courses should be done!

By Nuricmi E

Aug 27, 2022

Great. It's made me more aware of the state of food in the world. Home cooking is a one way to stah

By Alejandro B

May 23, 2022

muy buen curso sobre todo para todos los que estamos trando de modificar habitos mal estructurados

By Barb K

Mar 8, 2022

The course was very straight forward and provided an abundance of practical information and advice.

By yogeshna m

Jun 6, 2021

This is course is vey very useful for us

i think this course we have to require to do this

thank you

By Alice A

Jun 3, 2021

amazing course. Very informative and I cant wait to apply the knowledge I gained on a daily basis

By My H H

May 13, 2021

I have learned so much great things. Now the kitchen is my favorite place. Thanks for this course.

By Sharon C

Apr 1, 2021

Information was presented in concise, easy-to-understand manner. Test questions were well drafted.

By Ciara B V M

Dec 18, 2020

Short videos with well-explained concepts. Super interesting. Prof. Maya was an amazing instructor.

By Joe L

Sep 2, 2020

Short but amazing and insightful class.... I've taken a lot of classes here, this might be the best

By Lorelyn M

Jun 3, 2020

I learned a lot about food and the importance of eating healthy. I find this course very enjoyable.

By nehal e

May 31, 2020

very informative.. very suitable for people who want to know the basic information about nutrition.

By Ashley A G

May 4, 2020

Concise and very informational. All of the skills taught are highly applicable in daily activities.

By Ravleen K

Jan 22, 2019

This course helped me understand about food that we eat, how we eat, and how much we intent to eat.

By Robin j

Oct 7, 2018

wow..it's such an amazing course, i was like totally into it. no more boring lessons and lecturers.

By Joy L

Feb 17, 2018

This was a fast, easy course with basics on how to start a healthier food experience in one's life.

By Viktoriya

Nov 3, 2016

I loved it! Everything was so easily explained and it just motivates you to change your life haha:)