Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Data Science by Google

4.7
stars
1,908 ratings

About the Course

This is the first of seven courses in the Google Advanced Data Analytics Certificate, which will help develop the skills needed to apply for more advanced data professional roles, such as an entry-level data scientist or advanced-level data analyst. Data professionals analyze data to help businesses make better decisions. To do this, they use powerful techniques like data storytelling, statistics, and machine learning. In this course, you’ll begin your learning journey by exploring the role of data professionals in the workplace. You’ll also learn about the project workflow PACE (Plan, Analyze, Construct, Execute) and how it can help you organize data projects. Google employees who currently work in the field will guide you through this course by providing hands-on activities that simulate relevant tasks, sharing examples from their day-to-day work, and helping you enhance your data analytics skills to prepare for your career. Learners who complete the seven courses in this program will have the skills needed to apply for data science and advanced data analytics jobs. This certificate assumes prior knowledge of foundational analytical principles, skills, and tools covered in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. By the end of this course, you will: -Describe the functions of data analytics and data science within an organization -Identify tools used by data professionals -Explore the value of data-based roles in organizations -Investigate career opportunities for a data professional -Explain a data project workflow -Develop effective communication skills...

Top reviews

NM

Feb 24, 2024

I have really got a fine refresher through this course. One of the basic idea of preparing PACE strategy document and understanding on RACI matrix was new for me. I recommend this course to every one.

MM

Jun 8, 2023

In this course i gain a deep knowledge about what is data science and what are all the other names, fields related with data science. How we use data to gain insights from the model.

Filter by:

351 - 366 of 366 Reviews for Foundations of Data Science

By Alexander G

Aug 1, 2023

The course seemed completely useless to me. Very little attention to technical subjects and a lot of unnecessary useless information. Perhaps this is my personal problem, but I formed some expectations based on a course syllabus that were not met.

By royi r

Jun 23, 2023

instead of giving technical tools, this course “talk” about how to become data analyst with many unrelevent data, they also invented” PACE ‘ instead of the steps learned in the basic proficiency

By Aarushi K

Oct 24, 2023

Interactive but very lengthy for no reason. They expanded 4 topics (PACE, RACI matrix, Project proposal and Executive Summaries) into 5 modules. Hoping for better.

By Elliot R

Oct 3, 2023

This is very obvious stuff for what is the ADVANCED certificate. It felt like a waste of time for the most part, but the PACE model was okay.

By Christian M

May 21, 2024

This course is neither advanced nor does it provide any "foundations of data science. Apparently, it adresses 16-year old high school students with no background information whatsoever and 80% of it are about your "future career path", "how to behave in job interviews" etc. The course title and description are highly misleading. It mostly benefits Google and it's ridiculous you're even supposed to pay money for its content. I've completed about 25 MOOCs, and this one has been by far the worst one I've ever taken.

By Anthony A

Nov 13, 2023

I liked the PACE module, Informative and nice to know, rest are not so intriguing and instead of focusing just on diversity and other trendy things stick to your primary role which is tutoring as best as you can to uphold the brand's name your carrying! I cannot believe that you just putted some soulless reading from teleprompt some boring texts! put some professional adult who has knowledge and can explain form his experience and understanding instead of trying just to act and smile!

By Saurabh K A

Jul 4, 2023

If you want to learn something in the most unoptimized manner, then this is the course for you. It wastes so much time on useless things, on useless theory, like how to communicate within the team, with the client, and stakeholders, and many other such topics, which are not at all needed and should be optional in Appendix or something.

By Iraklis A

Jul 3, 2023

That is not foundations of data science. That's more like a discussion on data science and what people do. Nothing more than that. The whole thing could be done in a 10-minute video. Quite a few repetitions.

By Yash V

Mar 20, 2024

very basic and not related to technical knowledge what is actually required for a job seeker

By Juan B

Mar 23, 2024

Not necessary for people with experience. Just long videos and repetitive content

By Kenneth B

Mar 6, 2024

I found this to be uninteresting. This is a recruitment course for Google.

By Alex J

Apr 18, 2024

I think a lot of this is un needed and can be skipped

By İrem A

Dec 5, 2023

my name is not on the certificate

By Govind G

Sep 15, 2023

too basic in the name of advanced

By Ashraf M

Dec 25, 2023

boring