Chevron Left
Back to Hardware Description Languages for FPGA Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hardware Description Languages for FPGA Design by University of Colorado Boulder

4.3
stars
408 ratings
114 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5361, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Hardware Description Languages for Logic Design enables students to design circuits using VHDL and Verilog, the most widespread design methods for FPGA Design. It uses natural learning processes to make learning the languages easy. Simple first examples are presented, then language rules and syntax, followed by more complex examples, and then finally use of test bench simulations to verify correctness of the designs. Lecture presentations are reinforced by many programming example problems so that skill in the languages is obtained. After completing this course, each student will have fundamental proficiency in both languages, and more importantly enough knowledge to continue learning and gaining expertise in Verilog and VHDL on their own....

Top reviews

JS
Jun 6, 2021

I really liked this course . if someone wants to know how digital circuits are made inside of computer then this course could be proven as turning point in his way of learning .

KK
Jun 4, 2020

This is very good course , but i found some little missing details related to reading materials .\n\nBut this was really very helpful course for me as fresher .

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 115 Reviews for Hardware Description Languages for FPGA Design

By SHIKHAR S

May 15, 2020

This course provides insights into the world of hardware design. The assignments provided were quite challenging and diverse. The Testbench files were provided on which the code had to be tested and simulation had to be done on ModelSim, provided by MentorGraphics.It was quite an interesting course.

By Borys I

Aug 29, 2020

Good training. Could be better. Students should pay attention that most of information they will learn not from video but from books recommended at the end of video. Practical work has abit cryptic task description. what exactly doing particular wire is not clear. U have to google a lot to find out.

By Harold A M S

Aug 17, 2021

Its a good course that explain the fundamental operators and design methods to construct hardware system units. I only have a trouble with the last design in the week 2 and week 3, and it is that it lacks detail about the requirements of the problem.

By KUNAL M

May 17, 2020

Good for beginners.Though the instructors can improve upon how they present the concepts by incorporating few complex examples on both Verilog and VHDL.The assignments questions need to be different for both the languages.

By Timothy A

Apr 30, 2020

I did love how explanations were made and especially the flexibility in the submission of quizzes and assignment. My understanding of VHDL and Verilog have been made batter. The instructors are top notch.

By MANISH K S

May 16, 2020

This course is very helpful in understanding the basics of hardware description languages and now after doing this course i am very much comfortable in using verilog and vhdl language.

By Rohit l

May 2, 2020

The Verilog course was very good.

However the vhdl course could have been better.Needed a bit more clarity on the assignments.The lectures could have used a bit more explanation.

By Michael W B

Jun 23, 2021

Good VHDL intro, Verilog was kind of light, especially the reference material. Free Range VHDL was a great reference. The Verilog section needs something similar.

By harsh

May 15, 2020

The Programming Assignments need to be more elaborate, things like reset is active low or active high and more details should be mentioned.

By Rishi J

Sep 4, 2020

The course is good. It will enhance your vhdl and verilog skills but there are some places where i found insufficient details.

By Aishwarya S

May 7, 2020

FIFO assignments in both Verilog and VHDL should define purpose of all the internal nets and registers listed in the problem.

By Julio T A

Apr 2, 2021

Siento que faltan mas ejemplos y practicas, y en cuanto al apartado de lenguaje Verilog falta explicar aun mas sintaxis

By Raghul R

Jun 25, 2020

Teaching methodology requires a lot more improvement. Assignments are challenging and its nice to try.

By KUNAPAREDDY S N

May 14, 2020

this course is given good idea of Hardware Description Language and i understood the concepts well.

By Muhammad Z Y

Apr 7, 2020

Course content is moderate. But also have complexity level higher for a beginner.

By Uzair A

Oct 9, 2020

its a very nice course. Its help me a lot to understand the basic of fpga.

By Apoorva S

May 25, 2020

A very engaging course to do for beginners having fundamentals strong.

By Yuvraj S R

May 18, 2020

Explanations are not that good for some circuits like memory

By Sourav N

Sep 18, 2020

There should have been more examples of problems.

By MOHAMED C

Apr 30, 2020

a big thank you to all the professiors

By Prakash K R

Jun 24, 2020

It should be more elaborative

By TUMMALAPALLI S V N S

Jun 7, 2020

BEST FOR THE BASIC

By J S

Aug 5, 2020

good

By Hanming Z

Apr 18, 2021

The course lectures are useful and explanatory. The reason why I deduct 2 stars is homework instructions are sometimes very vague, e.g. synchronous reset or not, instruction's variable name does not match the ones given in starter code. The homework starter code sometimes contain errors too. The makes writing the homework sometimes a guess work of whether the code should be implemented one way vs. another.

By Islam E

May 31, 2020

this course need a person who knows before the basics of both VHDL/Verilog. because i know some basics of VHDL i understood its part but verilog was a little bit hard to me to understand it