Chevron Left
Back to Hardware Description Languages for FPGA Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hardware Description Languages for FPGA Design by University of Colorado Boulder

4.4
stars
465 ratings
130 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5361, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Hardware Description Languages for Logic Design enables students to design circuits using VHDL and Verilog, the most widespread design methods for FPGA Design. It uses natural learning processes to make learning the languages easy. Simple first examples are presented, then language rules and syntax, followed by more complex examples, and then finally use of test bench simulations to verify correctness of the designs. Lecture presentations are reinforced by many programming example problems so that skill in the languages is obtained. After completing this course, each student will have fundamental proficiency in both languages, and more importantly enough knowledge to continue learning and gaining expertise in Verilog and VHDL on their own....

Top reviews

JS

Jun 6, 2021

I really liked this course . if someone wants to know how digital circuits are made inside of computer then this course could be proven as turning point in his way of learning .

DR

Feb 20, 2022

There are so much use cases that i can apply in my life. thanks so much for giving the psychology know how into the lecture to help us in understanding the root course

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 130 Reviews for Hardware Description Languages for FPGA Design

By harsh

May 15, 2020

The Programming Assignments need to be more elaborate, things like reset is active low or active high and more details should be mentioned.

By Rishi J

Sep 4, 2020

The course is good. It will enhance your vhdl and verilog skills but there are some places where i found insufficient details.

By Aishwarya S

May 7, 2020

FIFO assignments in both Verilog and VHDL should define purpose of all the internal nets and registers listed in the problem.

By Julio T A

Apr 2, 2021

Siento que faltan mas ejemplos y practicas, y en cuanto al apartado de lenguaje Verilog falta explicar aun mas sintaxis

By Raghul R

Jun 25, 2020

Teaching methodology requires a lot more improvement. Assignments are challenging and its nice to try.

By KUNAPAREDDY S N

May 14, 2020

this course is given good idea of Hardware Description Language and i understood the concepts well.

By Muhammad Z Y

Apr 7, 2020

Course content is moderate. But also have complexity level higher for a beginner.

By Uzair A

Oct 9, 2020

its a very nice course. Its help me a lot to understand the basic of fpga.

By Apoorva S

May 25, 2020

A very engaging course to do for beginners having fundamentals strong.

By Yuvraj S R

May 18, 2020

Explanations are not that good for some circuits like memory

By Sourav N

Sep 18, 2020

There should have been more examples of problems.

By Mohamed C

Apr 30, 2020

a big thank you to all the professiors

By Engels M

Dec 3, 2021

Concise, practical and useful

By Prakash K R

Jun 24, 2020

It should be more elaborative

By TUMMALAPALLI S V N S

Jun 7, 2020

BEST FOR THE BASIC

By J S

Aug 5, 2020

good

By Adriel K

Mar 16, 2022

The course is OK, but the videos are terrible. The presenters do nothing more than just read the slides as they appear, which are sometimes just a page of code. In the VHDL section, I believe the presenter is seeing the material for the first time. I ended up just turning the audio off and treating the videos as a slide deck, which worked quite well. The assignments were fun.

By Julien T

Dec 7, 2021

I​nteresting course but exercises shall be reworked as sometimes it's not clear what is the expected output so we end up guessing via the testbench. Another issue is that some half backed quizzes prevent you from practicing the exercises until you pass even though practicing is key to understand the concepts...

By Islam E

May 31, 2020

this course need a person who knows before the basics of both VHDL/Verilog. because i know some basics of VHDL i understood its part but verilog was a little bit hard to me to understand it

By Harsh A

Jun 15, 2020

Verilog part is explained very well but VHDL part completely unsatisfied.

By Sachin A

Apr 21, 2020

Very introductory. Verilog and VHDL exercises are copied.

By Sakshat R

May 28, 2020

Innovative teaching, but very poor assignments

By Samuel C

Aug 14, 2020

A decent introduction to HDL.

By Pushkar A

Sep 30, 2020

Teaching could be better.

By JYOTI S S

Jul 11, 2021

good