Chevron Left
Back to Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
stars
326 ratings
89 reviews

About the Course

Introduces to the commands that you need to manage and analyze directories, files, and large sets of genomic data. This is the fourth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top reviews

JJ

Jun 23, 2018

Thank you very much Dr./Professor, Liliana Florea. I've learned a lot. It's a very good opportunity to improve my knowledge. This means a lot to me.

GV

Mar 14, 2016

Very informative course. Because I am new to this, it was at times confusing. But overall, great teaching and great experience. Thank you.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 87 Reviews for Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

By Erik K

Mar 04, 2019

Excellent Introduction to Command Line Tools used in High Throughput Sequencing Analysis.

By Vassil D

Jan 09, 2017

More in-depth explanation would be better. Reasonable projects, overall. Well structured.

By Thiago C S

May 15, 2019

Some questions were way too specific and out of scope from real practice.

By Geoffrey K

Apr 22, 2019

A worthy introduction to the problems facing computational biologists.

By Qianhao L

May 12, 2018

Could have more tools introduced, for instance SNP calling tools.

By Xing Y

Oct 02, 2018

The course is good but not "self-contained"...

By Pir N A

Nov 21, 2019

I like the course too much,

By 普嘉杰

Feb 20, 2017

this is a useful course

By Wenting W

Sep 11, 2017

Useful course.

By Kasper T K

Nov 21, 2017

Great course, the instructor does a great job in introducing the students to some off the important sequencing analysis tools. Some of the lectures are although a bit bland, where the instructor reads the entire contents of a slide for format files or program options, this is sometimes quite useless as you can read that yourself by... simply reading the slides.

Forums were not always very useful, sometimes solving error messages were supported by referring to the manual page, instead of actually bothering to look through the code for providing more constructive feedback on what goes wrong in a given example.

Instead, examples should be given which elaborates on the effects on chosen different parameters - like "If you want to make a local alignment, use the bla.bla option. However, beware that when using this, more errors are prone to be assigned...bla.bla.".

For the format, interesting columns in the format files in general are interesting, when looking for e.g. "amount of unique genes" etc.

By doing this, we would be helped better into understanding questions of the quizzes, while also delivering an even deeper understanding of the formats and tools.

By Onur S

Feb 20, 2018

I really struggled to complete this course. The extent of coverage of the topics is quite good, however this is a applied course and application part is lacking A LOT. The biggest drawback here is that the instructors demonstrations are not accessible to learners. This limits the learning experience so much that you get stuck even at the easiest question in a module exam. Some questions in the exams really require the learner to think and do google searches to figure out a strategy to answer the question (this is a good thing, though). However, it can be very easy to get bogged down and lose focus while figuring out what's going wrong. It is advised to visit discussion forums before taking module exams. I think you should not expect to master the presented tools after finishing the course, but you will still get a decent understanding of them

By Emil C F

Feb 03, 2020

Great inclusion in the specialization. I never knew anything about shell until now and I feel like I can use a lot of things from the course in my day-to-day data treatment/processing tasks. I am only giving 3 stars because I spend about 40-50% of the time troubleshooting technical things. The CentOS Vmbox is a great idea but that hardly worked for me (it interfaced weird with OSX and I could get it to understand my keyboard layout, shared folders did not work either) and was a source of frustration. One suggestion for the course would be to help the student verify the initial data set before completing all the analyses on it ... e.g. in the reading section mention the length of the output or similar. Twice I filled out an entire exam "correctly" but had the wrong initial output. You don't learn a lot from that but it does take a long time.

By Robert D

Jan 18, 2020

Overall, the content of this course is great. Much of the content I began using in my job (genomics biotechnology company) immediately - literally within 24 hours of learning. It accelerated my ability to accomplish tasks by a huge amount. I would give 5 stars just for the content, but I gave 3 because the exams are outdated and out of context. In Week 3, some of the content on the exam was not discussed in the course, and the last exam in Week 4 had many red herrings. You can figure out what you need to actually do by reading the Discussion Forum for Week 4, but the course material should be updated so that students don't waste their time on unneccessary activities.

By José A C E

Aug 04, 2019

I considered this course was condiserably harder than previous courses from the Genomic Data Science specialization due to lacking instructions and exams asking about concepts not reviewed in class, for instance, soft/hard links distinctions, the use of cuffcompare, a clear distinction between mate reads and paired reads, a thorough explanation of the use of CDS vs exon in gtf files. At the other hand, the difficulty possed by this course made it satisfying.

I would really like the course team and support to consider add complementary readings in order to help the understanding of topics not intensely reviewd in the videos.

By Igor L

Jul 11, 2018

Very interesting material, but presented in a very dry manner and without going into too much detail. You do have to have some background in Linux and Biochemistry of DNA and RNA, otherwise it could be very hard to understand. Also, the last test deviates somewhat from what is presented in Week 4 lecture. Be very careful and read the questions with alertness before answering them

By Raymond F

Aug 14, 2017

Presentation was less lively than the others. Exercises prone to errors unrelated to the course objectives. A lot hof hints based on questions that are repeated a lot on the forum should be incorporated or stressed more in the exam instructions.

By Tom S

Oct 14, 2018

The theoretical lectures are ok, but the practical ones are a bit slow. Could have been more scirpt based from the beginning. The Exams are quite different from what is explained in the lectures I think. Especially in week4.

By shipra v g

Apr 09, 2017

I would prefer the lecture command line notes too in presentations or any other files in each week modules. It was difficult for me to understand her way of teaching and I felt the lectures didn't flow correctly.

By Ian P

Jul 12, 2018

I would have liked a better overview of the analysis process, less on details of command line parameters. there were several errors in the slides. The assignments were tedious and not very instructive.

By Sofia M K

Oct 18, 2018

Some of the tools are not up to date (tophat) and some things were unexplained. The focus was only typing the commands but not understanding why exactly we have to do specific things.

By Avishai B

Dec 19, 2016

It gives a significant coverage of many important command line tools. Teaching level is not good, very difficult to follow.

By Noam H

Jun 02, 2019

Great and practical material. Instructions for tests aren't clear and sometimes very time consuming to understand

By Anna B

Feb 08, 2019

Exams take way longer than suggested, rest is good-OK

By Stefanie M

Feb 10, 2019

A lot of things are not explained in the course

By QIHUA Z

Jun 20, 2018

I have to be honest. This course was bad learning experience for me. Watching the videos was a waste of time. The instructor is just typing commands without properly explaining the context. All you learn from the videos is probably a list of names of the tools you can use and some of it's syntax, which really doesn't require hours of tedious videos. It may be more productive just to look at the name of the tool and go google by yourself. Watching the videos is like someone telling you HOW to use the tool (how to type the command), but didn't tell you WHAT the tool is doing, and WHY we want to use these tools. The HOW port is explained, but the WHAT and WHY parts? Sorry it's not there. What's funny is that, in the quiz they ask you WHATs and WHYs! At that time you would be thinking: "yea, these are good questions! but they were never explained in the videos. Would have been nice if these knowledges were covered!" That's the time when you go googling, hoping the get some answers to pass the quiz.