Chevron Left
Back to Functions, Methods, and Interfaces in Go

Functions, Methods, and Interfaces in Go, University of California, Irvine

4.6
178 ratings
30 reviews

About this Course

Continue your exploration of the Go programming language as you learn about functions, methods, and interfaces. Topics include the implementation of functions, function types, object-orientation in Go, methods, and class instantiation. As with the first course in this series, you’ll have an opportunity to create your own Go applications so you can practice what you’re learning....

Top reviews

By IO

Oct 03, 2018

Superb course,\n\nI definitely understand Golang far better than I did when I originally started it!

By YT

Nov 15, 2018

A nice course which introduces necessary concepts in programming within Go.

Filter by:

30 Reviews

By Alec Julien

May 21, 2019

I'll say again what I said regarding the first course in this series. The teacher is good, and the material is valuable, but the fact that students have to grade each others' work is ridiculous, and actually kind of angering, if I'm honest. Why would you trust me to grade someone else's work, while I'm learning it at the same time they are? Who knows? Maybe I'm an idiot. Even if I'm bright and hard-working, I won't have the same insight as an instructor would, looking at the same material. This is pedagogically difficult to justify, and I can only believe that it's meant to shield the instructor from the drudgery of the task.

By Terence Sambo

May 19, 2019

There were a few inaccuracies which might be confusing for newcomers to the language. It would be good if the instructor or someone else with editing permissions could take a look at the feedback and act on it.

By Sylvain Tenier

May 14, 2019

The topic is good, however the videos really have this old-school touch- you know, the very reason you choose to go to Coursera and not back to some class bench. Evaluations would also benefit from a good review, too much frustating inconsistencies for my (and many people on the forums) taste.

By 壹叶随心

May 13, 2019

It's very nice.

By yichen zheng

May 03, 2019

nice

By Flavio Sales Truzzi

Apr 22, 2019

The course is extremely basic, not very complete, and full of errors that are being dragged through multiple months, the errors have been flagged on the forums, and they are never fixed. The grading is made by peer review - which could be a good thing, but the rubric for grading are could be completely automated, and it isn't.

By Serge Toropov

Mar 25, 2019

quite a lot of mistakes in study materials and tests

By Yuheng Chen

Mar 21, 2019

A little more typos on the slides ...

By Edward Hsu

Mar 20, 2019

The programming assignment workload is reasonable, but there is little support and discussion to support a newbie programmer. Also I believe a graphic display of user input and the program outputs would be much easier to understand. Reading off the instructions are too open to interpretation.

There is also the grading scheme is not fine-grained enough. It could utilized better to provide a more structured approach to a solution.

For example,

loop (1 mark)

use of map ( 1 mark)

user of slice ( 1 mark)

So there will be 10 chcekpoints to verify and validate.

Using 2 points as aggregate scores, did not help to achieve that goal. It penalised students excessively in my opinins.

By Robin ZERBIB

Mar 20, 2019

Nice follow-up on the first course, wish more focus would have been put on using interfaces