Chevron Left
Back to Health Information Technology Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Health Information Technology Fundamentals by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
338 ratings

About the Course

In this course you will receive an overview of the health IT ecosystem with a specific focus on the role of electronic health records (EHRs). You’ll be introduced to the factors that contributed to the move from paper records to digitized records and who the most common vendors are. We’ll go over features of EHRs such as computerized provider order entry, clinical decision support, documentation capabilities, and medication reconciliation. Like a physician’s stethoscope, the EHR has become an important tool in healthcare delivery and plays a part throughout the patient’s journey. You’ll go through each of the steps from patient scheduling, to front desk registration, outpatient visits, emergency room encounters, and inpatient admissions. During the course, we’ll also cover examples of how technical issues related to the EHR can be as simple as problems with logging or password resets. But how they can also be more complex related to alerts that are firing and the display of information. Although some of those challenges are beyond the scope of the IT support staff, having familiarity with the scope of potential problems and the broader EHR landscape is important. This course also includes an introduction to database architecture, servers, and interfaces. We wrap up by discussing the importance of training end-users on healthcare technology and the way in which effective change management strategies are crucial....

Top reviews

MT

Nov 6, 2021

This is a nice course for you to learn Health Information Technology Fundamentals. You can also get an overview of Software Security, Authentication, Databases and customer services.

EF

May 8, 2022

I enjoyed learning about Electronic Health Records. The course was fun, very educational and informative. Instructors did a great job with lectures.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 71 Reviews for Health Information Technology Fundamentals

By basheer a h

Dec 23, 2021

اشكر القائمين على ماقدموه

دورات اكثر من رائعه

By Maryland R

Mar 2, 2021

Thank you so much. Excellent course!

By Kenya W

Mar 11, 2022

User-friendly

Practical information

By Siddiqui S

Mar 28, 2021

Very Good and Very Basic!

By Waqas H

Oct 10, 2021

Very informative course.

By Ashraf S

May 9, 2021

Thank you for the course

By Debra H

Jan 23, 2021

very easy to understand.

By Joslyn S

Aug 5, 2021

I learned alot!

By Lisa T

Jun 29, 2021

I learned a lot!

By Simon O D

Aug 11, 2022

easy leaning

By Johnnery A

May 18, 2021

Excellent!

By Adewale A

Dec 24, 2022

Too good.

By Alice K

Dec 14, 2022

good site

By cheppel c

Aug 20, 2022

Great

By Jim B

Nov 19, 2022

Great

By Mohamed B

Apr 21, 2022

Cool

By Mazen A

Sep 16, 2022

By b m

Apr 8, 2023

In spite This subject is new for me, I did have the great opportunity and go with the lessons and followed up all the lectures from Johns Hopkins University Pfofessional staff that devoted the time to transmit their konwledge, experience and skills in this new subject.

Thank you very musch for all the valuable help in this course Health Information Technology Fundamentals as part of teh IT Healthcare Specialization performed by Johns Hopkins University Clinical Information System Education.

Sincerely, Hugo Barona Moreno

By OLAYOONU I O

Mar 14, 2024

After completing this course then i am confident to say that i am fit to work in an Healthcare industry as a support personnel and yes i know about baby steps of diving into a new field but i am willing to take the chances and that was what made me to enrol for this certification.

By M-L L

Feb 17, 2024

I was really very excited to get the certificate, I made time and really focus learning the course, and wow I was able to finish overnight, accomplishment feels really good... on to my next course... Maria B., MI

By Egwu C B

Oct 15, 2023

This was an amazing course. I am learning so much on this journey and cannot wait to start the next course. Thank you, John Hopkins and Coursera.

By Richard M

Jul 28, 2023

Was a great module. Kept me interested in whole time. Great work.

By Malik G B

Feb 16, 2021

Great education tools. Highly recommend!

By Onma E

Jul 2, 2023

It has been an insightful course.

By Chamara D

Jun 22, 2023

Good. basic theories provided