Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL), University of Michigan

4.8
1,022 ratings
235 reviews

About this Course

In this course, you'll walk through installation steps for installing a text editor, installing MAMP or XAMPP (or equivalent) and creating a MySql Database. You'll learn about single table queries and the basic syntax of the SQL language, as well as database design with multiple tables, foreign keys, and the JOIN operation. Lastly, you'll learn to model many-to-many relationships like those needed to represent users, roles, and courses....

Top reviews

By KH

Dec 03, 2018

Thank you for teaching assistants for helping me while I had questions and got stuck during the course. Thank you for Coursera and Dr Chuck and teaching assistants again for the opportunity to learn.

By DD

Dec 04, 2017

Professor Severance is top notch. He keeps the pace fast and the lessons bite sized. I've tried other SQL courses and dropped out because none of the others were as easy to understand and engaging.

Filter by:

235 Reviews

By Michael Jester

Apr 24, 2019

As with the previous classes in this specialization, I feel like there are a lack of assignments. I really was getting in the groove of things and then the class ended. I would have loved for one or two more assignments to be added.

By Pranav Deshpande

Apr 24, 2019

Excellent assignments to do. Challenging most of it. Various things can be shown in this.

By Olivia Taylor

Apr 21, 2019

Great course! Easy to understand for first time SQL users and gives you a really solid foundation to build off of.

By César Rubén Pérez Valdés

Apr 16, 2019

great way to introduce yourself to SQL

By Sadiq Saghir Haidar Ghalib

Apr 16, 2019

Awesome Course and Instructor

By Vasudev Prasad Bethamcherla

Apr 15, 2019

The course was easy to understand and gives enough knowledge to get started with SQL. Exactly what you need to get a quick intro to databases.

By Guillermo Allison Rosas Negrón

Apr 10, 2019

I liked so much this course!!!

By Kranthi Chintala

Apr 07, 2019

The course is well organized and I had an overall great experience in learning through the course

By Amit Belani

Apr 04, 2019

Didn't cover the different types of joins at all.

By Tao Chenxi

Apr 03, 2019

Good to start with SQL, but a bit too easy for practical use.