Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL), University of Michigan

4.8
899 ratings
211 reviews

About this Course

In this course, you'll walk through installation steps for installing a text editor, installing MAMP or XAMPP (or equivalent) and creating a MySql Database. You'll learn about single table queries and the basic syntax of the SQL language, as well as database design with multiple tables, foreign keys, and the JOIN operation. Lastly, you'll learn to model many-to-many relationships like those needed to represent users, roles, and courses....

Top reviews

By KH

Dec 03, 2018

Thank you for teaching assistants for helping me while I had questions and got stuck during the course. Thank you for Coursera and Dr Chuck and teaching assistants again for the opportunity to learn.

By DD

Dec 04, 2017

Professor Severance is top notch. He keeps the pace fast and the lessons bite sized. I've tried other SQL courses and dropped out because none of the others were as easy to understand and engaging.

Filter by:

210 Reviews

By Jiayi Liu

Feb 17, 2019

Clear and Professional

By Dorokhin Dmitriy

Feb 17, 2019

Good basic course!

By Gaël Giusti

Feb 15, 2019

Excellent lectures again for beginners. The step by step approach is really a very strong point of this series of lectures.

By Durgamma Shekarappa

Feb 13, 2019

good

By Aamir Kalimi

Feb 10, 2019

Very interactive and good course for beginner. If it would have had more examples like to build some kind of application than i would be really nice.

By Amit Verma

Feb 09, 2019

A well presented course with an easy pacing.

By Laurentiu Andrei Langa

Feb 09, 2019

This course gives you a great basis and the necessary information you need in order to go ahead and proceed with gaining higher level expertise of SQL. Lectures are very comprehensive, and information is presented in an efficient way.

By mohammad hosain

Feb 02, 2019

Teaches basic but very important foundational SQL knowledge.

By john newton

Jan 25, 2019

I started the videos for week one, the introduction was nice, then he got into downloading software with little indication what was going on. I was so lost, i just gave up and dropped it. would be nice if it was structured better.

By Lalita

Jan 25, 2019

This was one of the best course among all the courses that i have learned till now.