Chevron Left
Back to Experimental Design Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Experimental Design Basics by Arizona State University

4.7
stars
88 ratings
24 reviews

About the Course

This is a basic course in designing experiments and analyzing the resulting data. The course objective is to learn how to plan, design and conduct experiments efficiently and effectively, and analyze the resulting data to obtain objective conclusions. Both design and statistical analysis issues are discussed. Opportunities to use the principles taught in the course arise in all aspects of today’s industrial and business environment. Applications from various fields will be illustrated throughout the course. Computer software packages (JMP, Design-Expert, Minitab) will be used to implement the methods presented and will be illustrated extensively. All experiments are designed experiments; some of them are poorly designed, and others are well-designed. Well-designed experiments allow you to obtain reliable, valid results faster, easier, and with fewer resources than with poorly-designed experiments. You will learn how to plan, conduct and analyze experiments efficiently in this course....

Top reviews

HR
Sep 21, 2020

The peer review assignment is daunting as you are completely at the mercy of your classmates who might leave proper feedback on what you actually did wrong. Apart from that, great class.

SM
Oct 27, 2020

If you are an engineer in Pharma, medical device or automobile looking for a basic course on design of experiments. this is a perfect course designed for you.

Filter by:

1 - 24 of 24 Reviews for Experimental Design Basics

By Hallison R

Sep 22, 2020

The peer review assignment is daunting as you are completely at the mercy of your classmates who might leave proper feedback on what you actually did wrong. Apart from that, great class.

By Ayush T

Nov 15, 2020

It is a great course to learn about the design of experiments. The course follows the standard textbook by the Douglas C. Montgomery, which simplify the learning process even more. The only thing which I think the course should have included is the demonstration of exercise with R Studio, which is more widely used in academic circles because it is open-source and freely available.

By Hendrik J P

Oct 10, 2020

The course provides you with a good foundation in how to approach experimental design systematically. It was possible to complete the course using Python with the statsmodels library instead of JMP. The only recommendation that I have is that a how to in Python or R video is added to the lecture series. Thank you for sharing your knowledge sir, your passion for the field is contagious.

By Gabriel T

Sep 10, 2020

maybe, this course need to be presenting more colorfull and creative. I mean, every week i only watched lots of video, and then read some material, then finally solved the quiz questions. All of that was borring sometimes. This course needed more attractive things like games, video history of some previous scientist in doing the design experiment and many more.

By Chia E T

Oct 9, 2020

A great introduction to designing experiments in manufacturing and engineering settings, useful for students who wish to pursue process or validation-related career in manufacturing sites. Focus a lot on introducing the theory and fundamentals of statistical methods such as t-tests, ANOVA, blocking principle, random effects.

By Diego G

Nov 26, 2020

Out of the four courses belonging to the DoE specialization, this and the second are the ones giving you the most, in my opinion. That's because they are the most practical and it's easy to translate into exercises and examples what you learn.

By Natalia V

Aug 28, 2020

Thankyout for the class of Experimental Design Basics, I learned many things from this class. I came to know that in everyday life experimental design is very useful for the general public.

By satish M

Oct 27, 2020

If you are an engineer in Pharma, medical device or automobile looking for a basic course on design of experiments. this is a perfect course designed for you.

By RAMESH R R

Jul 26, 2020

It was a great experience while doing experimental design basics. I learned a lot about the Strategy of experimentation and basic statistical concepts.

By Renato C

Nov 23, 2020

This was an excellent course that gave me knowledge in experimental design with which it is possible to apply to any industry or field.

By Danilo C P

Aug 31, 2020

Great course! Good introduction to the fabulous world of DOE. Professor Montgomery is a excellent professor.

By Giovany O

Dec 29, 2020

Excelente curso de diseño de experimentos, conceptos básicos. Aprendí todo lo que necesité

By Yerkanat K

Oct 6, 2020

I really enjoyed the class. Helped me to refresh my knowledge. Thanks for the basics!

By Nattapaul R

Oct 4, 2020

Nice class for somebody who not understand research-metadology and experimental

By Babajide A A

Dec 18, 2020

Very excellent presentation. I very much enjoyed doing the course.

By ANKIT G

Nov 17, 2020

AWESOME COURSE FOR BASICS OF DESIGN OF EXPERIMENTS

By Dayana G

Aug 6, 2020

Excellent course, very practical and applicable

By Anna B

Sep 9, 2020

Great course, highly recommend!

By Jose M P C

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent!!

By Irene F R S

Aug 30, 2020

kerenn

By sharad k c

Jul 10, 2020

Great

By Raul Z

Jan 13, 2021

pretty good course , it would have been great to have pdf or brief with the material, the book is great too , class notes would have been great.

By Nik B

Jan 4, 2021

Good material but slow and dry. Assignments were bad and in a non-standard programming language.

By Fernando M

Sep 14, 2020

Nice course.