Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Computer Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Computer Programming by University of London

4.1
stars
636 ratings
214 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC provides you with the foundational skill set required to write computer programs. If you are interested in learning how to write interactive, graphical programs from an introductory level in a real programming language, this is the course for you. You will begin by learning the basics of editing and running programs. Then you will learn how to create 2D graphics using shapes and coordinates. Finally, you will learn how to create interactive graphics that you can control with the mouse. You will even solve a set of interactive puzzles using your coding skills in the Sleuth game which has been created especially for this course. The course uses the Javascript language and the p5.js library....

Top reviews

GT
Jun 8, 2019

The course is built up well, the steps are easy to follow. Even when there is some research required, the intentional gaps are highly manageable. The gamified deliverables were really fun to do! :-)

AG
Jul 19, 2021

It's worth the hard work. I'm insatiable for learning and need more impossible looking projects or games that Coursera designed to help the student really get into the world of computer programming.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 214 Reviews for Introduction to Computer Programming

By Aly t

Mar 11, 2020

hard

By James M

Dec 13, 2019

Great course! This was my first time trying coding of any sort and I really enjoyed it. While I feel like what I learned is probably very basic I also feel like I've learned a great deal and am eager to learn more.

I do feel like the teacher support could have been a little better but they do give you the tools to find out all the answers you need by yourself. It's just when you're truly stuck you can feel a little helpless. It also says that you should complete the Sleuth assignment in week 1 however you don't learn the things necessary to complete it until weeks 2 and 3.

If you are thinking of taking this course definitely make a https://stackoverflow.com/ account and post your questions there as well. Also there is a Youtube channel called " the coding train" https://www.youtube.com/user/shiffman. He does a great job of explaining things in a slightly different way. His p5.js playlist was so informative

By Fabio T

Mar 8, 2019

At first, i was upset because i received my certificate after week one. But after that i continued the mooc for fun and i learned a lot. This library is one of the simpliest in JS i have ever used. I'm satisfied and felicitate University of London for this great Course!!! Highly Recommend it.

By Lucio S G

Jul 8, 2019

It was really interesting the way this course was made. I can't be grateful enough for making an interactive approach to programming. I enjoyed it quite much and learned even more. I'm willing to learn more with the courses that follow this one. Great experience!

By Adam G

Jul 20, 2021

It's worth the hard work. I'm insatiable for learning and need more impossible looking projects or games that Coursera designed to help the student really get into the world of computer programming.

By Roman P

Mar 15, 2019

All is fine. But i dont understand, why the vital section of information - "Reading Teach it to yourself" of 3 week, opens only after _optional_ submisson "Hack it: Sunrise. What did you learn"

By Pouyan S

Feb 21, 2020

Thank you coursera and everyone involved in making this course back in London university.

This was a Great adventure and i learned so much along the way.

By Mahmoud H

Jun 21, 2019

Very Simple and clear illustration and explanation

By Clyde M

Jun 3, 2019

Very results-oriented introduction to programming, focusing on drawing shapes and manipulating them using code, rather than a graphic-interface. Gives a new learner the sense of accomplishment needed to overcome the hitches encountered when learning syntax for programming languages, as well as a very well-presented philosophy for coding and developing 'the coding mind'.

By Greg L

Oct 11, 2018

A battle to achieve the goals in the single long-winded assignment, which had no programming challenge just diagram coordinate determination. They claim 3 hours, but from sheer stubborness, to achieve 99% and then giving up in disgust, required 80 odd attempts and took 60+ hours! Now many of the beta problems will have been resolved. But overall the demands and knowledge passed on are very low level.

By Alyssa M

May 10, 2021

Some of the necessary materials aren't available for download anymore, and the assignment you need to complete don't seem accept correct answers from many people. There's also no instructor help with these issues, so I'd recommend trying another beginner computer programming course.

By Santhusha J M

Oct 28, 2021

Too much work to do in order to complete one assignment. It's not all about computer programming. It's like a child game

By Kilian W

Sep 20, 2021

N​ever seen anything worse. The detective game in particular is very sobering and a definite waste of time.

By Jeanette W

Sep 30, 2021

c​annot download the programs needed to navigate course and topics covered

By YUE Z

Aug 31, 2021

unclear instruction, confusing class schedule.

For the assignment, I can see they try to make it fun, but but I think it's a failure with ambiguous feedback.

By Chand G

Nov 28, 2021

N​othing worked as explained in the videos.

By Pragya M

Nov 7, 2021

Very bad

By Preda

Oct 28, 2018

It was an excellent way for students to learn the introductions of computer programming.

I thought that Sleuth was a very fun way of introducing coding exercises and practice with variables and use of P5js. There were some minor bugs in Sleuth such as the rejection of my submissions even though they were correct. When I resubmitted after the timeout lapsed, it was accepted.

I thought it would have been good to introduce more content and exercises on loops as this is very fundamental in computer programming. Perhaps a fourth week could have been dedicated to loops.

By Zac B

Oct 23, 2018

Great course! Dr Anstead & Dr Katan are fantastic lecturers and the Sleuth & Co. game is a fun and engaging way to learn. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone looking to get their feet wet with programming. It's beginner level, for sure, but even if you have some experience, it can introduce you to some new concepts. I got some practice with the p5.js library which I had never heard of before, and is a powerful and easy to use library for artists and designers wanting leverage programming for their projects. Great job University of London!

By Luís P G

Jan 29, 2019

A grande criatividade por parte da equipe deixou a experiência de estudo desse curso muito proveitosa e divertida, a ponto de não ser enjoativa, isso me fez continuar na trilha e concluir com muita rapidez.

By S R

Dec 3, 2019

I really enjoyed this course's structure and learning material. The methods and tools used to teach the information was also very appropriate and efficient.

By dickson k

May 30, 2019

am so excited to complete this course and also thanks to the coursera. org team and the University of London

By Cesar O

Jun 27, 2019

Excellent course and teachers are great!

By Christen E

Dec 12, 2019

I have taken several programming courses over the years, and this course guides students through the dirty details in a very straightforward manner. The instructor videos are a great reference, and being able to view transcripts, go back to answer questions, or review materials are valuable. I accidentally completed all of the programming challenges at the beginning - then realized the supporting coursework followed. If that organization could improve to have the sleuth challenges with the material - it may be more useful.

By Jacob G

Aug 16, 2020

Additional resources/more active forum would be nice when getting stuck on certain problems