Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Computer Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Computer Programming by University of London

4.1
stars
779 ratings

About the Course

This MOOC provides you with the foundational skill set required to write computer programs. If you are interested in learning how to write interactive, graphical programs from an introductory level in a real programming language, this is the course for you. You will begin by learning the basics of editing and running programs. Then you will learn how to create 2D graphics using shapes and coordinates. Finally, you will learn how to create interactive graphics that you can control with the mouse. You will even solve a set of interactive puzzles using your coding skills in the Sleuth game which has been created especially for this course. The course uses the Javascript language and the p5.js library....

Top reviews

AG

Jul 19, 2021

It's worth the hard work. I'm insatiable for learning and need more impossible looking projects or games that Coursera designed to help the student really get into the world of computer programming.

GT

Jun 8, 2019

The course is built up well, the steps are easy to follow. Even when there is some research required, the intentional gaps are highly manageable. The gamified deliverables were really fun to do! :-)

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 262 Reviews for Introduction to Computer Programming

By Sky W

May 30, 2021

I Don't Like This Class

By Manish K

Jan 23, 2022

just a timepass

By Alejandro F C

Dec 14, 2022

This course is an excellent introduction to programming using p5.js. I loved the fact that this course has gamification mechanics. Having some challenges where you need to apply the concepts you learn makes the process fun and rewarding. The only thing I did not like is that it is not said that you are expected to finish the challenges at the end of week 3 instead of week 1. Other than that, it is an excellent course with outstanding teaching and materials.

By Vanessa D

Aug 3, 2019

I'm an absolute beginner.

The Sleuth game was the most challenging and should have been assigned at the end of week 3. All the concepts needed to solve the cases were taught in week 2 and week 3 lessons.

After struggling through the game, the Sleuth forced me to do a lot of hands on coding and made me familiar with a lot of concepts in coding i.e. declaring and initializing objects. For me that was exciting because I felt like a coder.

By Yvonne S

Jan 20, 2020

Highly recommend this course if you have never done anything programming related. The instructors explain every aspect necessary to get you started on assignments. Additionally, the assignments are the perfect level of challenge as you progress through the topics. I never once thought "I have no idea where to start," which is a commonly discouraging thought -- thank you for that!

By Sergio F C C

Aug 11, 2019

Love it, got introduced to javascript in an easy way. One tip is to watch all the videos FIRST! Do the game LAST! You are going to need material from weeks ahead to complete all of the game. The game is your only graded assignment, so once you finish it you pass the class.

The game should be at the end, but that's a minor problem, what matters is the content is GOOD!

By Jean C T

Jan 10, 2020

Easy to follow along, one tip I would say, rather than completing the Sleuthing activity in week 1, look at the videos in week 2 and 3 to get a better idea of what the assignments are asking. Otherwise, I found the course challenging enough to make think think critically, but engaging in a way that I wanted to improve my scores on the quizzes. Highly recommend.

By Awe D O

May 3, 2020

This is a very interesting and demanding course, just the right platform for all beginners like me who want to take computer programming as a career. There are lot of class works and assignment that makes sure you are learning every-time. Such wonderful instructors too, very expressive and elaborate.

By Bui L C B

Jan 23, 2020

I already have basic knowledge about programming but I have to say this course gives you an interactive and fun way to learn to program than ever before. A big thanks to Dr. Simon Katan and Dr. Edward for giving me the strength I needed to take the next steps toward my dream of programming.

By Avery K S

Jul 18, 2020

I had no experience in programming but am planning to pursue a Master's in Computer Science. This program was an amazing introduction into the basics and presented small challenges throughout. Anybody who is curious but doesn't know where to start should start with this course.

By Louie A S

May 27, 2021

Thank you for this course! With this course it introduces someone who doesn't have any knowledge about programming to learn the flow of how coding works which I think is the most important part in learning different programming languages.

By Mazen B

Nov 20, 2018

it was a massive challenge for me as first time coding the sleuth game was full of fun and really stressful game, i hope that you give more time and a few more tips for the game it was not easy to complete this course, thank you so much

By Juan A R

Jun 27, 2020

This has been a great course, though not much it is explained in it and there is a lot of self learning through other means that is required I think it helped me a lot to discover that I am capable of facing this coding challenges.

By Immanuel D

May 2, 2022

I love the fact that the university actually put effort into creating a game with the aim of teaching people how to program. There were also a lot of challenges that compelled me to figure out how to do things on my own.

By Rampart D S D K

May 24, 2020

Excellent course with great activities. Assignments are made in a attractive way. This course made me love cording. Thank you very much for your effort. Learnt so many things and hope to follow more of your courses.

By IBICO A R J

Jul 3, 2020

Good course to learn how to deal with single variables and objects. It also was a good opportunity to do programming with p5js javascript library which I consider such a nice way to draw over html pages or images.

By Ranwa A

Jan 24, 2021

It's a great course for beginners (like me ) who didn't know anything about programming I had so much fun with the projects, assignments and quizzes. I honestly loved so much, a very fantastic experience I say.

By Miguel A T

Jun 21, 2020

Very good and straightforward course. I really learned a lot. ( I really wanted to get 100% but it seems that the main assessment has a minor error which for sure will be fix. Hopefully it will ). Thank you.

By Chipo M

Oct 29, 2020

This is a wonderful course, it had my eyes on the screen and hands on the keyboard, excited and curious to go to the next step. The Sleuth detective challenge is amazing, it helps one to learn as they code.

By Rodrigo T C F R

Sep 27, 2019

Excelente curso para começar a programar, os professores desenvolveram um método muito criativo e adequado. As noções básicas sobre programação são bem ensinadas.

By Aditya S

Aug 30, 2022

It was exactly as advertised, for absolute beginners like me. It was interesting, and frustrating to code through this class, and thus, I learnt a lot from it.

By Diana M D S

May 24, 2020

I liked so much. So dynamic. I didn't knew anything about p5.js and well, I am not an expert but I really enjoyed it. I will keep learn all of this, for sure.

By Ting X

Nov 16, 2020

good foer beginner who wants to learn java script. But it should be clear that the assignment can be finished during taking the course, not only in week1

By Daniel A S R

Jul 13, 2020

Muy buen curso.

Aprendes las bases necesarias para dibujar en un canvas. Lo demás se puede investigar directamente de la página de referencias de p5.js

By Konstantin

Oct 25, 2022

Thanks a lot for the short and elegant course! Now I understand better development of internet applications, which I can launch in my browser :)