Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Computer Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Computer Programming by University of London

4.1
stars
638 ratings
215 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC provides you with the foundational skill set required to write computer programs. If you are interested in learning how to write interactive, graphical programs from an introductory level in a real programming language, this is the course for you. You will begin by learning the basics of editing and running programs. Then you will learn how to create 2D graphics using shapes and coordinates. Finally, you will learn how to create interactive graphics that you can control with the mouse. You will even solve a set of interactive puzzles using your coding skills in the Sleuth game which has been created especially for this course. The course uses the Javascript language and the p5.js library....

Top reviews

AG
Jul 19, 2021

It's worth the hard work. I'm insatiable for learning and need more impossible looking projects or games that Coursera designed to help the student really get into the world of computer programming.

GT
Jun 8, 2019

The course is built up well, the steps are easy to follow. Even when there is some research required, the intentional gaps are highly manageable. The gamified deliverables were really fun to do! :-)

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 215 Reviews for Introduction to Computer Programming

By Georgij Č

Oct 4, 2018

Liked quizzes a lot.

Some basic concepts (e.g. variable) and data structures could be described in more details, but this will require basic hardware lectures as well. Maybe JS is not the best language to explain such concepts due to the lack of explicit pointers, heap and stack management.

Overall the course is more about learning p5js library than computer programming. And considering that JS is a very dynamic languages in which libraries and frameworks tend to change quite often as well as the language itself the material could end up useless.

Disliked Sleuth 101 series... unfortunately, they were too repetitive and don't involve any programming creativity.

By Giulia F A

Sep 1, 2019

The instructor are good and the basic learning is ok.

There is a bit of an error in the organization of the course. The Sleuth game is in Week 1 and it says you haven't passed it until you complete 80%, however, 80% is not the requirement for Week 1, it's the requirement for the whole course. So if you do it all in Week 1, the course will say you're done even though you haven't even gone through Weeks 2 and 3.

By Kristine R

Sep 17, 2020

This is NOT a course for beginners. The layout of the curriculum is backwards; already in week 1 the students are given a hefty amount of rather complex programming assignments that are not in the least aligned with what's being taught in the syllabus at the moment. Most of the solutions and tools for completing the programming assignments in week 1 are not presented until week 2-3. If you're lucky you can find some pinpoints in the discussion forum (where old students are equally as tired and frustrated) and pass the assignments simply through trial and error. Not at all an efficient learning strategy.

Also, the technical issues with Sleuth need to be fixed, asap. There are a handful of students who cannot raise their grade to 100% since Sleuth app is bugging and won't accept the final assignment(s). The app is supposed to reset itself after x amount of incorrect uploads - which it doesn't. NO ONE from staff or technical pays any attention to this - although the bug is frequently mentioned in the forum. No student's interested in paying another month's Coursera fee just IN CASE staff at school decides to finally answer in the discussion forum. The lack of mentorship and advise being given in the forum is waaaay below acceptable. Sleuth assignments need to be split into three units and presented at the end of each week, based on that week's curriculum. Your final grade should be calculated as the sum of all quizzes and assignments - after the last week's assignment is done. You're not supposed to be able to download your certificate in week 1 - just because you've guessed your way through all queestions. Someone needs to correct the layout of this course.

By Alex B R

Dec 12, 2020

All the download links don't work. It's not specified very clear what language you'll be using. I tought it was C++, but it's JavaScript and as a beginner you have to specify what the differences are or if they matter much. Anyway, that wasn't the biggest issue. I downloaded the Brakets software, everything seemed ok, then in the first week course it says you need to download a file, which I had to guess where it was.. then I try opening the file as instructed and I get error codes in every command line, before even trying to edit anything. Overall, this course just seems unprofessional and not very begginer friendly.

By KB E

Dec 26, 2021

M​y experience with this course was quite unpleasant. The course is designed extremely poorly. If the content were just organized in a different manner it would get a 4 star instead of 1. Putting the Sleuth programming exercise in the first week wasted 20 hours of my first week just trying to navigate the forums to find out what I was missing, only to find out how to do the exercises in week 2 and 3. If you want to take this class start with week 2 and 3 before attepting the Sleuth exercise in week 1. I would like a week out of my life back.

By Francesco B

Apr 22, 2021

This course will make any beginner very frustrated to point of considering quitting and losing excitement about learning to code. Needs to be updated and be more comprehensive to help with the assignment. Also the programming assignment should be updated and fixed up, seems to be buggy.

By Pamela T

Jan 21, 2021

Not great instructions - sort of figure it out on your own, got the brackets software - which was only a mention. Found the rec info. But kinda for someone with a bit more experience. Should be a fun informative lesson.

By Антон В

Oct 9, 2019

Very frustrating coding assignment, with poor support for Windows users and overall tasks, are easy but tought to set every pixel right and you will punish for wrong attempts though you did all right.

By Robert W

Jan 16, 2021

Brackets doesn't function properly and it came preloaded with a folder that I couldn't get rid of. I don't need the hassle.

By Steve U

Mar 5, 2021

Software stated wasn't available to download plus 'Sleuth' downloads would not run.

By Krystian B

May 10, 2021

W zadaniach podaje prawidłową odpowiedz a nie zalicza mi jej. Strata mojego czasu!

By Meghan D

Mar 18, 2021

This course Is awful and the recommended software Is no longer available.

By Sree I

Jun 20, 2021

Appears to be a bit outdated. Unable to get past beginning material.

By Islam W

Oct 31, 2020

It was a terrible experience, the idea of sleuth is totally trash.

By Francisco S

Jun 29, 2021

h​ard to get help and they using editor that cant dowload anymore

By Oguz Y

Jul 28, 2021

Information in the videos are not updated. Things in a mess.

By Andre P G

Apr 22, 2021

Constant errors in the assessment, frustrate!

By Deshmukh G u

Mar 8, 2021

You Should improve yourself. BTW Nice.

By James E

Jan 21, 2021

Sleuth is a major pain in the butt.

By Yasser B

Apr 29, 2020

Course materials not available !!!

By Sky W

May 30, 2021

I​ Don't Like This Class

By Vanessa D

Aug 3, 2019

I'm an absolute beginner.

The Sleuth game was the most challenging and should have been assigned at the end of week 3. All the concepts needed to solve the cases were taught in week 2 and week 3 lessons.

After struggling through the game, the Sleuth forced me to do a lot of hands on coding and made me familiar with a lot of concepts in coding i.e. declaring and initializing objects. For me that was exciting because I felt like a coder.

By Yvonne S

Jan 20, 2020

Highly recommend this course if you have never done anything programming related. The instructors explain every aspect necessary to get you started on assignments. Additionally, the assignments are the perfect level of challenge as you progress through the topics. I never once thought "I have no idea where to start," which is a commonly discouraging thought -- thank you for that!

By Sergio F C C

Aug 11, 2019

Love it, got introduced to javascript in an easy way. One tip is to watch all the videos FIRST! Do the game LAST! You are going to need material from weeks ahead to complete all of the game. The game is your only graded assignment, so once you finish it you pass the class.

The game should be at the end, but that's a minor problem, what matters is the content is GOOD!

By JeanCarlos T

Jan 10, 2020

Easy to follow along, one tip I would say, rather than completing the Sleuthing activity in week 1, look at the videos in week 2 and 3 to get a better idea of what the assignments are asking. Otherwise, I found the course challenging enough to make think think critically, but engaging in a way that I wanted to improve my scores on the quizzes. Highly recommend.