Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Computer Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Computer Programming by University of London

4.1
stars
783 ratings

About the Course

This MOOC provides you with the foundational skill set required to write computer programs. If you are interested in learning how to write interactive, graphical programs from an introductory level in a real programming language, this is the course for you. You will begin by learning the basics of editing and running programs. Then you will learn how to create 2D graphics using shapes and coordinates. Finally, you will learn how to create interactive graphics that you can control with the mouse. You will even solve a set of interactive puzzles using your coding skills in the Sleuth game which has been created especially for this course. The course uses the Javascript language and the p5.js library....

Top reviews

AG

Jul 19, 2021

It's worth the hard work. I'm insatiable for learning and need more impossible looking projects or games that Coursera designed to help the student really get into the world of computer programming.

GT

Jun 8, 2019

The course is built up well, the steps are easy to follow. Even when there is some research required, the intentional gaps are highly manageable. The gamified deliverables were really fun to do! :-)

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 262 Reviews for Introduction to Computer Programming

By Robert W

Jan 16, 2021

Brackets doesn't function properly and it came preloaded with a folder that I couldn't get rid of. I don't need the hassle.

By Steve U

Mar 5, 2021

Software stated wasn't available to download plus 'Sleuth' downloads would not run.

By Meghan D

Mar 18, 2021

This course Is awful and the recommended software Is no longer available.

By Sree I

Jun 20, 2021

Appears to be a bit outdated. Unable to get past beginning material.

By Islam W

Oct 31, 2020

It was a terrible experience, the idea of sleuth is totally trash.

By Chand G

Nov 28, 2021

Nothing worked as explained in the videos.

By Pragya M

Nov 7, 2021

Very bad

By Preda

Oct 28, 2018

It was an excellent way for students to learn the introductions of computer programming.

I thought that Sleuth was a very fun way of introducing coding exercises and practice with variables and use of P5js. There were some minor bugs in Sleuth such as the rejection of my submissions even though they were correct. When I resubmitted after the timeout lapsed, it was accepted.

I thought it would have been good to introduce more content and exercises on loops as this is very fundamental in computer programming. Perhaps a fourth week could have been dedicated to loops.

By Zac B

Oct 23, 2018

Great course! Dr Anstead & Dr Katan are fantastic lecturers and the Sleuth & Co. game is a fun and engaging way to learn. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone looking to get their feet wet with programming. It's beginner level, for sure, but even if you have some experience, it can introduce you to some new concepts. I got some practice with the p5.js library which I had never heard of before, and is a powerful and easy to use library for artists and designers wanting leverage programming for their projects. Great job University of London!

By Luís P G

Jan 29, 2019

A grande criatividade por parte da equipe deixou a experiência de estudo desse curso muito proveitosa e divertida, a ponto de não ser enjoativa, isso me fez continuar na trilha e concluir com muita rapidez.

By Ryan M S

Dec 3, 2019

I really enjoyed this course's structure and learning material. The methods and tools used to teach the information was also very appropriate and efficient.

By dickson k

May 30, 2019

am so excited to complete this course and also thanks to the coursera. org team and the University of London

By Cesar O

Jun 27, 2019

Excellent course and teachers are great!

By Christen E

Dec 12, 2019

I have taken several programming courses over the years, and this course guides students through the dirty details in a very straightforward manner. The instructor videos are a great reference, and being able to view transcripts, go back to answer questions, or review materials are valuable. I accidentally completed all of the programming challenges at the beginning - then realized the supporting coursework followed. If that organization could improve to have the sleuth challenges with the material - it may be more useful.

By Jacob G

Aug 16, 2020

Additional resources/more active forum would be nice when getting stuck on certain problems

By Georgij Č

Oct 4, 2018

Liked quizzes a lot.

Some basic concepts (e.g. variable) and data structures could be described in more details, but this will require basic hardware lectures as well. Maybe JS is not the best language to explain such concepts due to the lack of explicit pointers, heap and stack management.

Overall the course is more about learning p5js library than computer programming. And considering that JS is a very dynamic languages in which libraries and frameworks tend to change quite often as well as the language itself the material could end up useless.

Disliked Sleuth 101 series... unfortunately, they were too repetitive and don't involve any programming creativity.

By Giulia F A

Sep 1, 2019

The instructor are good and the basic learning is ok.

There is a bit of an error in the organization of the course. The Sleuth game is in Week 1 and it says you haven't passed it until you complete 80%, however, 80% is not the requirement for Week 1, it's the requirement for the whole course. So if you do it all in Week 1, the course will say you're done even though you haven't even gone through Weeks 2 and 3.

By Krystian B

May 10, 2021

W zadaniach podaje prawidłową odpowiedz a nie zalicza mi jej. Strata mojego czasu!

By Miss G

Mar 17, 2023

The filles are damaged, and I can not learn anything from that course.

By Francisco S

Jun 29, 2021

hard to get help and they using editor that cant dowload anymore

By Oguz Y

Jul 28, 2021

Information in the videos are not updated. Things in a mess.

By Andre P G

Apr 22, 2021

Constant errors in the assessment, frustrate!

By Deshmukh G u

Mar 8, 2021

You Should improve yourself. BTW Nice.

By James E

Jan 21, 2021

Sleuth is a major pain in the butt.

By Yasser B

Apr 29, 2020

Course materials not available !!!