Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to NoSQL Databases

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to NoSQL Databases by IBM

4.6
stars
261 ratings

About the Course

Get started with NoSQL Databases with this beginner-friendly introductory course! This course will provide technical, hands-on knowledge of NoSQL databases and Database-as-a-Service (DaaS) offerings. With the advent of Big Data and agile development methodologies, NoSQL databases have gained a lot of relevance in the database landscape. Their main advantage is the ability to handle scalability and flexibility issues modern applications raise. You will start this course by learning the history and the basics of NoSQL databases (document, key-value, column, and graph) and discover their key characteristics and benefits. You will learn about the four categories of NoSQL databases and how they differ. You’ll also explore the differences between the ACID and BASE consistency models, the pros and cons of distributed systems, and when to use RDBMS and NoSQL. You will also learn about vector databases, an emerging class of databases popular in AI. Next, you will explore the architecture and features of several implementations of NoSQL databases, namely MongoDB, Cassandra, and IBM Cloudant. You will learn about the common tasks that they each perform and their key and defining characteristics. You will then get hands-on experience using those NoSQL databases to perform standard database management tasks, such as creating and replicating databases, loading and querying data, modifying database permissions, indexing and aggregating data, and sharding (or partitioning) data. At the end of this course, you will complete a final project where you will apply all your knowledge of the course content to a specific scenario and work with several NoSQL databases. This course suits anyone wanting to expand their Data Management and Information Technology skill set....

Top reviews

RR

Oct 4, 2021

Useful lab for skimming through different databases. The session of Cloudant, however, looks more like a sales material... This course is overall very good!

KB

Apr 18, 2023

I should say then is not totally for beginner. Maybe intermediate level, some skills of programming are necessary to don't get stuck at the last assessment.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 64 Reviews for Introduction to NoSQL Databases

By GOULAY M

Aug 10, 2022

I liked the hands on activities. The final exam really requires thinking and searching which makes the exam worth.

The developement studio is super slow, it is impossible to work directly in it.

The presentation of the noSQL database could be clearer. I found better videos (and shorter) on youtube.

I do not think it is necessary to advertise so much for IBM Cloudant. We already pay for the course, it should be add free.

By Talha T

Aug 25, 2021

This course is one of the best 'Intrıduction To...' courses. The content is very clear and easy to understand.

By RLee

Oct 5, 2021

Useful lab for skimming through different databases. The session of Cloudant, however, looks more like a sales material... This course is overall very good!

By Omar H

Sep 23, 2021

The course is great material, explanations and quizzes. The problem with this course is technical. You will face some problems with ibm cloud.

By Anouk W

Apr 21, 2023

If it weren't a requirement for a university course of mine, I would not have started another IBM course. A robot reads the material, the practicals go from copying code and pressing run to suddenly writing complicated queries in the final. On top of that, the virtual environment sucks and crashed repeatedly. I sat the final coding exercise 5 times before both MongoDB and Cassandra finally wanted to work. The tests are the most stupid I have ever seen with answers being wrong simply because Cassandra has "super fast write throughput" and not just "fast write throughput". The little you learn you start to doubt after sitting the final.

By Yevgenia C

Oct 8, 2022

This course is plagued with technical difficulties. The material is fine and the teaching is fine but the final lab took like three weeks to complete because of connectivity issues with the Mongo database and timeout issues. Plus the instructions are confusing. Most of the comments on this lab are about this and to pass it you have to access the database through a different lab.

By James N

Nov 8, 2021

Would be a good course but all of the assignments do not work and have not worked for more than a week. The staff has not provided any information about when the issue may be resolved and no refunds were offered

By Ivan M

Jul 5, 2022

couldn't complete the course because my IBM Cloud Lite Account doesn't work and to obtain help from IBM is almost impossible if you have a Lite account

By Frank H

Aug 8, 2023

this course is simply outrageous. completely bugged, unclear instructions, none of those responsible care about anything

By Yash A

Jun 27, 2023

Couldn't submit my peer graded assignment in week 5.

By Funke Y

Jan 18, 2024

The course, overall, is well-structured and offers a comprehensive introduction to data engineering. The content is presented in a self-explanatory manner, making it accessible even for learners with varying levels of expertise in the field. The instructors provide clear explanations, and the hands-on exercises contribute to a practical understanding of the concepts.

By Rudrresh P

Oct 26, 2023

Solid course on NoSQL databases, the course contains information on NoSQL databases, MongoDB, Cassandra, and IBM Cloudant. The course gives a good idea of the fundamental queries in all of these databases.

By Roberto S G

Mar 22, 2022

The appropiate share of theoretical and practical work makes this course an excellent way or learning difficult concepts related to Big Data. Glad and proud I finished it. Roberto

By Kevin B

Apr 19, 2023

I should say then is not totally for beginner. Maybe intermediate level, some skills of programming are necessary to don't get stuck at the last assessment.

By Afaq M

Aug 9, 2022

Ita really amazing course specially for that one who want to explore things related to offline-database, cloud -base and web access

By Joel D

May 6, 2024

Perfect course to learn the fundamental concepts for NoSQL databases. Would definitely revisit this course in future if needed.

By Lucas S d S P

Nov 21, 2022

It's good for beginner and takes you really deep into the three noSQL databases used. MongoDB, Cassandra and Cloudant.

By Alessandro V

Sep 5, 2022

a good overview on 3 of the main NoSQL databases, with pretty useful exercise to better understand theory

By Diego M

Nov 4, 2023

Great introductory course for main NoSQL databases. Great material and practical assignments

By Juan D R

Feb 6, 2024

Excelente curso, me ha brindado una muy buena base para comenzar con Bases de Datos NoSQL

By João R

Feb 29, 2024

It was a very good introduction to NoSQL, I felt that I was really learning new skills!

By Jabesa G

Jun 18, 2022

I am really happy for earning this NoSQL certificate. which is great work !

By DAVID A D

Mar 27, 2024

I highly recommend this course. I learned a lot about NoSQL databases.

By kunal k

Nov 12, 2021

Great course with Great Learning. Mentors and Teachers are Perfect.

By Richa S

Nov 27, 2023

I thoroughly enjoyed learning about NOSQL Databases.