Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to NoSQL Databases

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to NoSQL Databases by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
144 ratings

About the Course

This course will provide you with technical hands-on knowledge of NoSQL databases and Database-as-a-Service (DaaS) offerings. With the advent of Big Data and agile development methodologies, NoSQL databases have gained a lot of relevance in the database landscape. Their main advantage is the ability to effectively handle scalability and flexibility issues raised by modern applications. You will start by learning the history and the basics of NoSQL databases and discover their key characteristics and benefits. You will learn about the four categories of NoSQL databases and how they differ from each other. You will explore the architecture and features of several different implementations of NoSQL databases, namely MongoDB, Cassandra, and IBM Cloudant. You will then get hands-on experience using those NoSQL databases to perform standard database management tasks, such as creating and replicating databases, loading and querying data, modifying database permissions, indexing and aggregating data, and sharding (or partitioning) data....

Top reviews

RR

Oct 4, 2021

Useful lab for skimming through different databases. The session of Cloudant, however, looks more like a sales material... This course is overall very good!

AM

Aug 8, 2022

Ita really amazing course specially for that one who want to explore things related to offline-database, cloud -base and web access

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 31 Reviews for Introduction to NoSQL Databases

By Talha T

Aug 25, 2021

This course is one of the best 'Intrıduction To...' courses. The content is very clear and easy to understand.

By Matthieu G

Aug 10, 2022

I liked the hands on activities. The final exam really requires thinking and searching which makes the exam worth.

The developement studio is super slow, it is impossible to work directly in it.

The presentation of the noSQL database could be clearer. I found better videos (and shorter) on youtube.

I do not think it is necessary to advertise so much for IBM Cloudant. We already pay for the course, it should be add free.

By RLee

Oct 5, 2021

Useful lab for skimming through different databases. The session of Cloudant, however, looks more like a sales material... This course is overall very good!

By Omar H

Sep 23, 2021

The course is great material, explanations and quizzes. The problem with this course is technical. You will face some problems with ibm cloud.

By Roberto S G

Mar 22, 2022

The appropiate share of theoretical and practical work makes this course an excellent way or learning difficult concepts related to Big Data. Glad and proud I finished it. Roberto

By Afaq M

Aug 9, 2022

Ita really amazing course specially for that one who want to explore things related to offline-database, cloud -base and web access

By Lucas S d S P

Nov 21, 2022

It's good for beginner and takes you really deep into the three noSQL databases used. MongoDB, Cassandra and Cloudant.

By Alessandro V

Sep 5, 2022

a good overview on 3 of the main NoSQL databases, with pretty useful exercise to better understand theory

By Jabesa G

Jun 18, 2022

I am really happy for earning this NoSQL certificate. which is great work !

By kunal k

Nov 12, 2021

Great course with Great Learning. Mentors and Teachers are Perfect.

By Santiago B

Oct 30, 2021

Muy completo a nivel practico y teórico.

By David S S

Nov 15, 2021

Really good course! a great challenge

By dumebi j

Sep 20, 2021

really quite challenging but good

By Abusha A

Jun 25, 2022

this course is really helpful

By MILAD A D

Oct 8, 2021

Great and Usefull Course

By Suraj k

Mar 19, 2022

nice learning plateform

By Peter D

Aug 15, 2021

Very challenge course

By Muhammad T K

Aug 6, 2022

Brilliant .....

By Aya I

Nov 15, 2021

Great Course

By Md R J

Feb 28, 2023

Excellent

By Miguel d J B A

Sep 14, 2022

Cool!

By Philip P

Oct 10, 2021

The course discusses four types of NoSQL databases but provides training on one type, the document database. Fortunately, this course offers an excellent introduction to three different NoSQL document databases: MongoDB, Apache Cassandra, and IBM Cloudant. Between the videos and hands-on labs, I am confident enough to begin using any of these databases. I would have given the course five stars if it included training on other types of NoSQL databases.

By Kernel P

Apr 11, 2022

The hand On are very useful, only I have troubles sometimes to enter to the Labs, but when I was able to, I really enjoy them

By Claudio A E

May 16, 2022

Good introduction course, only I had problem in the final assigment (mongo)

By Tijani S

Nov 30, 2021

The course really teaches Non-Structural data