Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to R Programming for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to R Programming for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
101 ratings
25 reviews

About the Course

When working in the data science field you will definitely become acquainted with the R language and the role it plays in data analysis. This course introduces you to the basics of the R language such as data types, techniques for manipulation, and how to implement fundamental programming tasks. You will begin the process of understanding common data structures, programming fundamentals and how to manipulate data all with the help of the R programming language. The emphasis in this course is hands-on and practical learning . You will write a simple program using RStudio, manipulate data in a data frame or matrix, and complete a final project as a data analyst using Watson Studio and Jupyter notebooks to acquire and analyze data-driven insights. No prior knowledge of R, or programming is required....

Top reviews

GC
Sep 23, 2021

Iam new beginner to the R-programming. It was taught very well to make me understand R basic skills. Thank you Coursea.

CM
Apr 30, 2021

It's an amazing course with very interesting quizzes and assignments. A must for Data Science aspirants.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 25 Reviews for Introduction to R Programming for Data Science

By Roy M

Jul 21, 2021

This course is not for beginners. It dives into basic concepts without explaining them. I am deeply disappointed.

By Lokesh C

May 31, 2021

Exceptional course for beginners in R programming and data science enthusiasts. Highly recommended!

By vignaux

Apr 15, 2021

great course very well structured. Perfect

By Milcah M J

Jul 14, 2021

Great course, with a lot of the necessary information; well organized and laid a good foundation for basic R functions.

I would request a hand-out with all the code, functions and syntaxes from the course, or at least a collation of it in one page/section. It is particularly important when taking the course as part of the specialization series, since I found myself having to return to each lab and comb through them to get some of the syntaxes right for the assignments of later courses.

A big thank you to the developers and team!

By siphamandla t

Aug 31, 2021

This is by far the most resourceful and managable way to be introduced to coding language. As a begginer who has basic knowledge of of CMD, I was a bit intimidated by the challenges that lay ahead for me with regards to the perception I had about coding languages. Lo and behold I was taken through hands on lab exercises that peovide the modt meaningful on site experience and a general feel of what one goes through when perfoming certain tasks in the data science sector.

Thank you to all the facilitators and lectures who designed these innovative ways of skill buiding techniques for our convenience, they are true leaders and pioneers of a global society imspired by endless possibilities.

By Rafael P

Aug 29, 2021

I think the course is fairly easy to follow and touches many of the main basic topics for data analysis in R, I found it good.

By Chetanya M

May 1, 2021

It's an amazing course with very interesting quizzes and assignments. A must for Data Science aspirants.

By Adriana B

Aug 9, 2021

E​asy to follow with a lot hands on exposure to practice writing your own code

By Claudio F S

Aug 21, 2021

T​he course is very good and their labs-on area excellent. Congratulations!

By John S

Jul 11, 2021

Excellent introductory course with very useful hands-on lab sessions.

By Jason S

Apr 26, 2021

Great course for learning R and Data Science!

By SYED S

Aug 27, 2021

best

By Yousef Y

Aug 19, 2021

Had a good time with the first two weeks then from the third certain topics is just a thrown pieces of information like "this is how it is done and u are supposed to comprehend it or save it whatever easier" especially dealing with web pages (web scraping). Literally spending more time on youtube understanding the thrown concepts highly not recommended for a beginner despite the description at least you ought to have a programming background to know where to look when stuck

By Yusuf Z

Nov 29, 2021

This course was really intuitive and needed less effort to get comfortable at. I love IBM courses because of their organized structure, brevity and problem centric nature of the labs and final assignment. I was a very great experience overall and that applies to all their courses I have taken so far.

I think the peer review sections after marking by the first reviewer should be cross-checked by at least one more reviewer.

By PedroFelipePeñaStaub

Nov 11, 2021

great course, it was very challenging. Highly recommended for all the ones interested in start in the data science environment.

By Ganesh C

Sep 24, 2021

Iam new beginner to the R-programming. It was taught very well to make me understand R basic skills. Thank you Coursea.

By kuo j

Dec 18, 2021

The teacher is serious in teaching, the content of the course is perfect, and IBM's plan is quite good

By Rajsee s

Dec 23, 2021

It is great and knowledgeable IBM

By DINH B C

Oct 23, 2021

Good

By Lama H B I

Aug 5, 2021

I​t was very useful course, I made good use of my free time during evenings, I like the fact that there is a project at the end

By bahreh k

Aug 15, 2021

It was clear and professional. Thank you so much

By Amy P

Dec 14, 2021

I had alot of problems with the labs and I encountered questions and things in the labs that wouldn't even be introduced until a few videos later.

By William L d S P

Jan 18, 2022

Not great. The lessons are okay, but the course lacks real activities/exercises so you can actually learn. But the most frustrating thing is the final test. It requires you to register at IBM Cloud and using their platform Watson. However, I couldn't even register properly because my bank did not approve the transaction. It's not worth it to even try to fix that through the bank, because the course has been disappointing so far, and hence I don't trust the final test. They should just give you tasks to perform in Jupyter or RStudio, which is way simpler than going through all this Watson adventure. They should give these tasks throughout the course as well. It seems that the course only exists to promote IBM Cloud and such.

By Liam O

Dec 28, 2021

Moves too fast, the exercises they have are broken links (the website has said under maintenance for over a week now). The videos are quickly done, here is what the end product looks like, and let's move on, and there is very little material to help learn R. If you're hoping to learn beginning coding, forget it. Basically, you spend about 30 minutes watching videos rapidly go by and keep taking the quizzes until you pass. The design really needs to be redone, this so far is the worst course I have taken on Coursera.

By Robert G

Jan 9, 2022

Forces using IBM cloud services which requires credit card info to proceed.