Chevron Left
Back to Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity, University of Copenhagen

4.8
449 ratings
125 reviews

About this Course

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Top reviews

By AB

Jul 03, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

By GH

Aug 30, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filter by:

122 Reviews

By Márcio Monteiro Rocha

Jan 13, 2019

Prezados amigos e amigas do Curso

Søren Kierkegaard - Subjetividade, Ironia e a Crise da Modernidade

Universidade de Copenhagen

Quero deixar aqui registrado meu profundo agradecimento por mais este excelente trabalho desenvolvido pela Universidade de Copenhagen, ministrado, com muita profundidade, pelo professor Jon Stewart, ex-professor associado do Centro de Pesquisas Søren Kierkegaard e recomendado pelo chefe de Estudos da Faculdade de Teologia da Universidade de Copenhagen, Carsten Selch Jensen. Agradeço à toda equipe do Coursera por mais um curso de extrema relevância para o atual cenário educacional brasileiro. Estou muito satisfeito com esta nova oportunidade de ampliação deste ecossistema de aprendizagem, promovendo novas possibilidades de conexão com os excelentes conteúdos da Universidade de Copenhagen.

Muito obrigado pela valiosa oportunidade!

Forte Abraço!

Márcio Monteiro Rocha

By Jhoan Sebastian David Giraldo

Jan 13, 2019

It's a great course on Kierkegaard. He really is very guiding about the importance of this thinker, as the father of contemporary existentialism, his rescue of Socrates, his struggle against the Danish church, his incursion into individualism without neglecting social conditions. In addition, Jon Stewart is well known within the interpretive field of Kierkegaard. It is worth taking the course. The exams are a bit lax, but the final paper proposes an interesting topic, which broadens the discussion.

By Nahor Lopes de Souza Junior

Dec 27, 2018

Esse curso ampliou meus conhecimentos sobre o filosofo dinamarquês. Minha experiencia foi fascinante!

By Alla

Nov 04, 2018

Thanks! I really appreciate the effort put into the course, which has greatly enhanced my understanding of the Key Concepts of Kierkegaard's Philosophy.

By

Oct 29, 2018

This course was extra magnificient for me. I say that due the fact it made me study one area of philosophycal studies less seen on my country. That is the area of de danish philosophers and the german wing of philosophy and literature

By Stephen Reaves

Oct 17, 2018

Great lecturer. Insightful material. Enlightening paradigm.

By Pablo Medina Bréner

Sep 05, 2018

A wonderful and insightful course. All the power and depth of thought of classical education at my convenience. It is truly marvelous.

By John Belmont

Aug 31, 2018

An amazing course that really gave me greater perspective on Kierkegaard and what inspired him throughout his life.

By Robert Michael Lee

Jul 27, 2018

Wonderfully taught, could not do any better.

By Antonia Tejeda Barros

Jul 03, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!