Chevron Left
Back to Life 101: Mental and Physical Self-Care

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Life 101: Mental and Physical Self-Care by University of California, Irvine

4.8
stars
22 ratings
9 reviews

About the Course

This course will cover various topics that would teach students healthy lifestyle choices, the importance of mental and physical health and self-care. For each topic, an evidence-based lecture that would include scientific evidence will be presented and then students will be provided practical methods to practice what they have learned from the lectures. One of the main goals of this course is to inspire students to adopt a healthy lifestyle. Considering that stress levels and poor lifestyle choices in college students are increasing at an alarmingly fast pace, this course may serve as an effective educational tool to teach healthy lifestyle choices, promote students’ well-being and help them to recognize and manage their stress. The course is taught through a combination of lectures, multimedia videos, workshops and group discussions that would foster active learning. This course will encourage, challenge, motivate, and inspire students to make positive changes in their lifestyle and the way they interact with others and their environment....

Top reviews

FM
Nov 26, 2021

i was having a really hard time due to university and this course was like getting therapy lol. Really helped me cope better, feel better, be more grateful, and taught me valuable life advice.

K
Jan 3, 2022

Dr. Jafari made you want to go to class ! She made the subjects interesting and relevant to her students. I would love to have her for another class!!!

Filter by:

1 - 10 of 10 Reviews for Life 101: Mental and Physical Self-Care

By Chandler H S

Jul 25, 2021

Great information!

By Kathleen M C

Jan 3, 2022

Dr. Jafari made you want to go to class ! She made the subjects interesting and relevant to her students. I would love to have her for another class!!!

By Pooja J

Oct 3, 2021

Super awesome course, very practical and easy to learn! Instructor is very energetic and superb in connecting! Thanks!

By Yuldasheva S

Nov 8, 2021

This is really interesting and beneficial for us, managing stress and healthy life

By Andreja V

Sep 1, 2021

Fun, interesting with useful information

By Caroline L

Jan 22, 2022

Very fun and informative class overall. The professor knows what she is talking about and pulls together guest lecturers to cover a variety of important topics for optimal well-being. The professor doesn't view stress the way that Kelly McGonigal does in her TED talk.

I agree with the review that said that there are errors in the quizzes, but they are minimal at this point.

By Fathima M

Nov 27, 2021

i was having a really hard time due to university and this course was like getting therapy lol. Really helped me cope better, feel better, be more grateful, and taught me valuable life advice.

By Kittipong p

Jan 19, 2022

Shopping, loving the world, concentrating, cooperating.

By Ketkamol B

Jan 19, 2022

Very Very good

By James L M

Nov 19, 2021

The course includes generalizations with very little academic support. The "readings" each week will be TED and TEDx talks that are a similar theme. If you're familiar with TEDx especially this is clearly a problem for content being presented as a university course. A lot of time and promotion is given to questionable self-help gurus or individuals that are pitching their book/program and evidence based content is less common.

No one uses the discussion forums and the quizzes have frustrating errors. There doesn't seem to be a way to talk about or report these. The content of the course is comparable to watching random self-help videos on youtube.