Chevron Left
Back to Managing Asthma, Allergies, Diabetes, and Seizures in School

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Asthma, Allergies, Diabetes, and Seizures in School by University of Colorado System

4.8
stars
654 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to School Health specialization: Managing Asthma, Anaphylaxis, Food Allergies, Diabetes, and Seizures in School course. In this course, you will learn about these common medical issues students face and how to best support students who suffer from them. We will also take a holistic look at how we can best support overall student health. We will take a look at how the school nurse provides support to students and staff in each scenario and how to plan ahead in the event of an emergency. We will walk through the reasons that schools should promote student health and how we can support students that face these common medical conditions As part of the course, we will introduce two students to help all of this information come alive. Prepare yourself to learn about these common medical conditions. Let’s get started!...

Top reviews

DS

Sep 15, 2021

Both the instructor and the nurse instructor were great listening to and understood everything they said and the papers that you kneed to know in school. Looking forward to other classes.

Thank you

DA

Oct 9, 2020

I totally recommend this course. In each leasson, the videos are very clear and with great content, and all the resouces and refences are really useful and complement what was seen in the lesson.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 153 Reviews for Managing Asthma, Allergies, Diabetes, and Seizures in School

By Sabrina A E

Jun 29, 2020

The Course Was Really Good

By Corinne S

Aug 20, 2020

There was a lot of helpful information and links. I liked the variety of formats. Many links had issues or error messages or it was unclear what portion of larger sites was to be read as part of a particular section of this course. Overall I found this course helpful for preparing me to handle healthcare situations in the school setting and best support the children with these diagnoses

By Andrea F d C

May 27, 2020

Perfect. I had difficulty and failed the first and second try, then I came back, studied again and did it !!!! Although here in Brazil is different because we don´t have nurses to assist schools and we also don´t have this community engagement that we read in your plans, and I´m sure our children don´t have epinephrine even in the heath`s family unit, I´ll keep learning and dreaming about a better future for us.

By K R V

May 28, 2022

thank you very much DR.Louren and all the team of coursera, you are amazing at what you do for the huminity by serving skill full education for the worldwide. i honestly would have never increased my knowledge if it was not for your help. thank you so much once again, god almighty will continue to favour you and crown all your efforts with success....!

By Denysia J

Sep 26, 2022

This course taught me a lot i did not know or was unaware of and i will take what i have learned and impart it in my life and the lives of others making concious and appropriate decisions when it comes to being aware of signs and symptom and medical planning and so on . This course proved to be very informative and well structured.

By Patricia S G

Dec 11, 2020

This course has given me an overview of Asthma, Diabetes, Food Allergies and Anaphylaxis, and Seizures. Although I may be living in the Philippines, the documents or forms found in each of the sessions are helpful for implementation of emergency response as well as first aid in case such events occur. This is truly helpful.

By Molita R

May 1, 2020

I was really sad to know about so many problems that children face and have in their lives and we as parents and educators are not aware of it. today i am happy that i got to know of these problem areas and the basic solutions to it. the course was easy to understand and very informative.

By Deleted A

May 9, 2021

I am returning as a school nurse and I thought this would be an excellent course to take to get a review of the common health concerns in school.

The course was awesome and really helped me to refresh the care that I will need to give when I return to school nursing.

Thank you.

By Rosalind A

May 25, 2020

The course has been well structured and easy to follow through. I have learned many skills on how to handle children with asthma, allergies, diabetes and seizures in school. I am confident that I can manage the situation with the action plan and guide provided in the course.

By kaylee m

May 10, 2022

Straight to the point. This course doesn't have any extra fluff to fill up time. You'll finish relatively quickly, with an exceptional understanding of the course work. They provide all important info quickly and concisely. Awesome course and I would definitly recomend it!

By Sonja B

Aug 20, 2020

The material was presented in a clear and easy to understand way. I particularly appreciated that the videos were short, I could do them in between my other work. The YouTube videos were also very helpful. The reading resources gave a wealth of information.

By Ike c v

Apr 30, 2019

The instructors was educating and very instructional. The instructors were professional and delivered the lectures in a very simplistic method that anyone with interest in learning can learn and be fully engaged.

thank you university of colorado

By SNEHA C S

Jun 14, 2020

Wow! Its a great knowledge achievable course i had. Now i have greater awareness about the problems and diseases which child faces in their school time. How we have to give importance and do the neddful.

Thanks a lot for the wonderful session.

By AMANDA J

Oct 30, 2020

The lessons were very informative, easily understood and the presentations were attractive. I would be much grateful for all the lectures and support staff, for their endless endeavours to make this course a success. Thank you so much.

By Michel D B I

May 17, 2023

je suis tres ravi pour ce cours qui a eu à apporter un plus sur mes performances et je demande s'il y a possibilité de faire la pratique et je remercie totalement les autorités de coursera pour cette bonne initiative

Merci

By Donna R S

Apr 17, 2020

Excellent information for school nurses. The videos are well organized. Some links for the reading material is not working. I would recommend for Coursera to update the required reading section for this course.

By Hajer A

Dec 31, 2022

I just started to Be a nanny, I

was very afraid that how I

will take care of those kind of

situations, but Coursera as all the time

helped me to improve

my career and be professional, thank you Coursera.

By Donna S

Sep 16, 2021

Both the instructor and the nurse instructor were great listening to and understood everything they said and the papers that you kneed to know in school. Looking forward to other classes.

Thank you

By Liliana O

Dec 4, 2019

Excelente curso, aun que tengo conocimientos de enfermería, aprendi muchas cosas que no sabia; como actuar antes situaciones. me gusta lo practico que es este curso

By Divine D

Aug 9, 2020

The course was delivered well with a lot of good resources to aid in understanding how to manage asthma, allergies, diabetes and seizures in schools.

By Rebekah P

Jan 25, 2021

Overall I enjoyed the course and thought each teacher did an excellent job in breaking down the information so it could be understood clearly.

By Huong Q

Oct 31, 2019

It's a useful course! I think the approaching and managing diseases in School is very important. And you can find something in this course.

By Cynthia H M

Apr 29, 2020

It would help me if there was a way to look at the downloaded resources prior to listening to the video as well as reviewing the resources

By Victoria K

May 6, 2020

Very informative and helpful if you want to work in schools or learn about the most common chronic childhood conditions

By Joshua I

Apr 22, 2022

Very informative and well done. Several links didnt work but it did not take away from the information given.