Chevron Left
Back to Managing Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Data Analysis by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
2,282 ratings
297 reviews

About the Course

This one-week course describes the process of analyzing data and how to manage that process. We describe the iterative nature of data analysis and the role of stating a sharp question, exploratory data analysis, inference, formal statistical modeling, interpretation, and communication. In addition, we will describe how to direct analytic activities within a team and to drive the data analysis process towards coherent and useful results. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of data analysis and how it can be managed. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know how to…. 1. Describe the basic data analysis iteration 2. Identify different types of questions and translate them to specific datasets 3. Describe different types of data pulls 4. Explore datasets to determine if data are appropriate for a given question 5. Direct model building efforts in common data analyses 6. Interpret the results from common data analyses 7. Integrate statistical findings to form coherent data analysis presentations Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by fdecomite. Creative Commons BY https://flic.kr/p/4HjmvD...
Highlights
Helpful quizzes
(3 Reviews)
Well-organized content
(24 Reviews)

Top reviews

EL

Mar 01, 2017

A long course compared to others in the specialization, but a lot of great material. Very well presented, the instructors know how to present this material and make it easy to grasp and understand.

ST

Nov 23, 2016

The course is full of the cases and the real life examples coupled with the theory background. Its very simple to understand and the course will definitely be of an value for people looking for

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 292 Reviews for Managing Data Analysis

By Hector R C C

Mar 16, 2019

thank you!

By frank b

Jun 05, 2017

excellent!

By Wallace O

Mar 27, 2017

I liked it

By NAVIN B

Oct 21, 2016

Excellent!

By Katarzyna P

Dec 08, 2015

excellent!

By Prasenjit P

Aug 08, 2018

Superb!!!

By Kim K R

Dec 07, 2018

A

W

E

S

O

M

E

!

By Ajayi I M

Feb 27, 2019

Awesome

By mansi g

Oct 30, 2018

superb

By 龚子轩

Jul 07, 2018

课程长度适中

By Ghazanfar

Dec 01, 2017

Excell

By Federico C

May 07, 2017

Great!

By Bauyrzhan S

Jun 12, 2018

Good!

By Dhiraj K

Aug 20, 2019

g

o

o

d

By ALAA A A

Jan 11, 2018

good

By Manas K K

Dec 31, 2017

V

By Dristy C

Oct 07, 2017

C

By Christopher L

May 01, 2018

Pretty good, but I would have liked more math. I understand that others would not, but many times one equation can cut through 3-4 paragraphs and be more clear than the text. It can be frustrating knowing that if you just had the equation things would be 100% clear, but with just a bunch of text, you just get a vague idea, for more work, ie reading time.

By Abhishek S

Sep 18, 2017

The course was good but as a suggestion, walkthrough of an example for the modelling would have helped. I was little confused when the equation was used during the course to explain the confounder, predictor and outcome. Instead of using X, Y, Z - may be use an actual example and show they all relate would have made the course

By Christos G

Aug 29, 2017

Very interesting insights and ideas about how to manage Data Analysis, especially the part with the communication. I think there could be some more emphasis on the troubleshooting side, as it overall appeared to be a finite, engineering process which can always end successfully if the instructions are followed closely.

By Triste R S

Feb 08, 2017

It was very informative. The instructor needs to slow down just a little though, I could tell he's a little nervous speaking to "large groups". Otherwise, it was great. I'm from BAWA and I am familiar with and love JHU, so I support any great course coming from there.

By Jens P

Apr 11, 2016

Excellent focus on what makes managing Data Analysis teams different from managing managing other teams. This course has the most impact if combined with general management background/classes. Speech fillers, like "um," "ah," "like," etc. prove distracting at times.

By JOSEPH A

Apr 09, 2018

Brilliant course - fantastic overview. What's lacking for 5* is the EDA exercise in R should've been within an R IDE to enable total beginners to get more hands on. After all EDA is mostly about DOING. Hope course designers fix this for the next iteration.

By Cristian F

Nov 12, 2017

The topics in the course shows that there is a set of steps to counduct a data science project since the definition of the question to solve to the apropiate way to communicate the results. The content of some videos could be considered technical.

By serge a

Dec 21, 2017

Very valuable, however, in particular the section on inference vs prediction included material not explained before and hard to follow. Also examples with t-values and interpretation of values when adding confounders was difficult to grasp.