Chevron Left
Back to Managing Talent

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Talent by University of Michigan

4.5
1,206 ratings
170 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for selecting, recruiting, and onboarding talent. You will also learn about the key approaches to measuring performance and evaluating your employees. In addition, you will learn how to develop and coach your talent so that they can realize their full potential at work. Altogether, you will gain a thorough understanding of the complete cycle of managing talent and creating a robust talent pipeline for your team and organization. Managing and developing talent is one of the top 3 issues on the minds of CEOs from around the world. In fact, CEOs cite managing and developing their leadership talent as the issue that is most important to the future success of their business but that their organizations are least capable of addressing effectively. This course will provide you with the insights, frameworks and tools to effectively manage and develop talent in your teams and organizations....

Top reviews

MB

May 12, 2017

Great lectures, important thinks pointed out. Not always is clear how important is taking care of employees. Without good HR management, whole business can struggle and not grow as could.

LR

Oct 15, 2017

Very useful, especially as I became recently a people-manager. It gives you the "ingredients" and lots of theory, but in a way that is applicable, to try and get the best out of people

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 164 Reviews for Managing Talent

By Julie L

Jun 19, 2016

This course gave an overview of hiring and developing talent, but had far fewer actionable takeaways than the first course in the specialization. I found Cheri Alexander's sections to be extremely long-winded, unclear, and redundant. Also, I like the idea of mixing up the assignment format, but creating three movies is a lot to ask for a management course, especially when the same assignment could easily have been done in another format - it felt forced. Also, I found that the order for some lectures seemed off and the flow between instructors was not as seamless as it had been before. For instance, we were asked to create a development plan at the end of a week about hiring and before the week on development.

By Alexey K

Jul 10, 2018

Because of Cheri Alexander this course turned from being interesting to useless and infuriating. She is one of those people, who do not have a slightest idea of what they are talking about, yet keep bullshitting their way around by piling up garbage of nonsense. Watching videos with her is like an insult to your intelligence.To be more specific, she does not give you definitions or descriptions of anything and all of her lectures are basically about how important it is to 'support your people whenever they are at their best and you are at your best', whatever that means.If you have to take this course for specialization I recommend skipping her lectures entirely. Go straight to assignment, you won't miss anything of value.

By Suyog M S

Jan 03, 2019

Excellent!

By Dilshod N

Feb 23, 2019

This course teaches how you can help people in your team with different kinds of talent to grow to be successful.

By Luiza B

Jan 28, 2019

Amazing

By Rabea L

Dec 23, 2018

Overall a very good course! Thank you

By Jason Z

Nov 22, 2016

--

By Julia B

Jan 29, 2016

Really good summary of TM aspects

By John

Nov 15, 2017

Good

By hazem e m k

Apr 25, 2017

Most useful Course in this career .

By Md K

Sep 05, 2017

Excellent Course.

By Mary S

Sep 03, 2017

Perfect instructors. Thank you!

By Herson N M

Dec 17, 2016

Great Course.

By José d J D L C G

Jan 18, 2016

Excellent course and teachers!!

By mahmoud e

Jan 22, 2016

It's amazing and practical.. you learn then immediately apply in your own organization.

By Andrea H

Jan 18, 2016

This course was extremely challenging. Every step in the process to finishing stretched my thoughts and compelled me to thinking outside the box. I researched it and found that there is well over $1,500 worth of material here.

I am grateful to have been granted the opportunity to participate in this course. I feel like I can GO BE GREAT!

Andrea Houston

By Helder R V

Apr 27, 2016

I had no previous experience in the area and after this course i feel like i can actually support others in their development plans. I highly recommend this course to everyone.

By Ebrahim B

Aug 12, 2016

it is very very useful and interesting Important for both leaders

By Martin B

May 12, 2017

Great lectures, important thinks pointed out. Not always is clear how important is taking care of employees. Without good HR management, whole business can struggle and not grow as could.

By Ivana K

Mar 12, 2016

Very useful and practical. It is easy to apply in everyday life and career.

By Sandip J

Jun 19, 2017

excellent course. Highly recommended to people from all streams, regardless.

By Linda C

Oct 22, 2017

Brilliant course, as is the whole specialisation. Thank you so much!

By Faridullah

Jun 01, 2016

amazing

By Anbarasan V

Mar 07, 2017

Its was awesome and great learning experience !!

By Magdalena T

Feb 13, 2016

great teaching. thank you