Chevron Left
Back to Material Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Material Behavior by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
475 ratings
98 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wondered why ceramics are hard and brittle while metals tend to be ductile? Why some materials conduct heat or electricity while others are insulators? Why adding just a small amount of carbon to iron results in an alloy that is so much stronger than the base metal? In this course, you will learn how a material’s properties are determined by the microstructure of the material, which is in turn determined by composition and the processing that the material has undergone. This is the first of three Coursera courses that mirror the Introduction to Materials Science class that is taken by most engineering undergrads at Georgia Tech. The aim of the course is to help students better understand the engineering materials that are used in the world around them. This first section covers the fundamentals of materials science including atomic structure and bonding, crystal structure, atomic and microscopic defects, and noncrystalline materials such as glasses, rubbers, and polymers....

Top reviews

SS

Mar 30, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

JL

Jun 17, 2016

The course was excellent. A lot of in-depth material, beyond even what I remember from college. Coverage of polymer systems in addition to the usual metals was very nice, and the

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 95 Reviews for Material Behavior

By gerardo d o

Jan 27, 2019

One of the bests Materials course!

By Eduardo J M S

Jan 05, 2019

Very illustrative course, good for civil engineer that want to know about material behavior, the strength and proccessing

By Yasir M A

Jan 22, 2019

I really enjoyed and interested in this course, lots of information about the Materials behavior, and their properties.

By Roberta N L

Feb 10, 2019

Great!

By 付郁磊

Feb 14, 2019

it's a pretty good class which contains a wide range of professional knowledge of MSE,I really appreciate this course and teacher.

By sankalp j

Feb 24, 2019

this course helped a lot in clearing my basics and in developing a stable foundation for me to to build on

By MAHESH K

Feb 25, 2019

nice job sir

By Pawan K m

Mar 11, 2019

intesting

By Amit k m

Mar 11, 2019

GOOD

By Bhuvanesh A

Mar 11, 2019

i learn many things from u sir.thank you so much sir

By KRITIK K

Mar 14, 2019

amazing experience with coursera. learn with fun

By Nathan G P

Jan 13, 2019

Great course!

By Ramprasath K M

Oct 09, 2018

Very Nice Course .This will be very useful for mechanical and civil engineering.It was very interesting with lot of examples for each topics.

By S V K

Aug 20, 2018

This course is very fundamental and useful in understanding the different types of materials structures and their requirment

By Siddhesh C

Sep 18, 2018

This course is very much informative and I learned so many basic concepts which are related to actual behavior of different materials.

By MOHAN R N

Oct 24, 2018

Very Useful for Mechanical Engineers

By Umang S M

Jul 25, 2018

excellent course content

By Payal S

Jun 13, 2018

It was useful for my research work on composite material.

By Appash M

Mar 12, 2018

Awesome

By Navneet Y

Aug 31, 2016

Really enjoying the preview of the course.

By Haleh A H

Mar 13, 2018

A very informative course.

By ManasSalunke

Jan 14, 2017

Very Helpful!!

By Katarina I

Nov 03, 2016

Very good course for a begineer. Great professor. Many thanks

By Talii M

Aug 12, 2017

Very informative. Thank you

By Вэнго Б В

Oct 22, 2017

I'm from Russia, and this course was difficult because of language. But i got it, that was amazing experience. I want to note the definition of the teacher's speech. Also i learned a lot of new things. I will advise this course to my friends. Thanks for that!!! GL!