Chevron Left
Back to Material Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Material Behavior by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
stars
506 ratings
102 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wondered why ceramics are hard and brittle while metals tend to be ductile? Why some materials conduct heat or electricity while others are insulators? Why adding just a small amount of carbon to iron results in an alloy that is so much stronger than the base metal? In this course, you will learn how a material’s properties are determined by the microstructure of the material, which is in turn determined by composition and the processing that the material has undergone. This is the first of three Coursera courses that mirror the Introduction to Materials Science class that is taken by most engineering undergrads at Georgia Tech. The aim of the course is to help students better understand the engineering materials that are used in the world around them. This first section covers the fundamentals of materials science including atomic structure and bonding, crystal structure, atomic and microscopic defects, and noncrystalline materials such as glasses, rubbers, and polymers....

Top reviews

SS

Mar 30, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

JL

Jun 17, 2016

The course was excellent. A lot of in-depth material, beyond even what I remember from college. Coverage of polymer systems in addition to the usual metals was very nice, and the

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 99 Reviews for Material Behavior

By Prashik M

Jan 30, 2017

Thank you Sir Thomas H. Sanders, Jr., for this vital and informative sessions, all thing is compel so nicely.

By sankalp j

Feb 24, 2019

this course helped a lot in clearing my basics and in developing a stable foundation for me to to build on

By varun t

Apr 02, 2019

It was very helpful in increasing my knowledge on material technology by providing a platform to learn

By Saptarshi S C

Nov 17, 2019

Thank you so much GIT for sharing such quality content with !! Enjoyed learning with you guys !!!

By Rishi M

Jun 03, 2017

Very good course, in depth concepts and fundamental concepts are taught in simple and lucid way

By Benjie L

Jul 01, 2016

I love to learn this course. Thank you very much Coursera and Georgia Institute of Technology.

By vinay k

Dec 08, 2016

Amazing structure of course and beautiful illustration. Enjoying the course thoroughly.

By Nithiyaraj M

Oct 04, 2017

It is a well designed course also for the engineers from other branches like me.

By Manivannan

Nov 16, 2019

It is very informative and know depth of knowledge about materials

Thank you

By Anass B

Nov 25, 2017

perfect cours with perfect Dr .. thank you so much for the help

By Katarina I

Nov 03, 2016

Very good course for a begineer. Great professor. Many thanks

By Louis D R

Jun 05, 2019

Incredible teacher, incredible course, magnificently done.

By Payal S

Jun 13, 2018

It was useful for my research work on composite material.

By Gustavo A V B

Jul 30, 2016

This curse is the best form to increase your knowledges

By Bhuvanesh A

Mar 11, 2019

i learn many things from u sir.thank you so much sir

By KRITIK K

Mar 14, 2019

amazing experience with coursera. learn with fun

By Pattan A A S

Mar 31, 2018

Very good course.You can learn a lot from it

By Navneet Y

Aug 31, 2016

Really enjoying the preview of the course.

By Peter H

Oct 04, 2016

Can we have more about plastic materials?

By VIJAYABASKAR.L

Feb 28, 2017

EXCELLENT LECTURES ABOUT THE MATERIALS

By Rady A R

May 09, 2016

I think that this course is excellent.

By MOHAN R N

Oct 24, 2018

Very Useful for Mechanical Engineers

By Deleted A

Jan 27, 2019

One of the bests Materials course!

By 宋武桐

Jun 12, 2017

I think this course is very good

By Senthilkumar

Jul 01, 2017

This course handled to the best