Chevron Left
Back to Material Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Material Behavior by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
stars
987 ratings
222 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wondered why ceramics are hard and brittle while metals tend to be ductile? Why some materials conduct heat or electricity while others are insulators? Why adding just a small amount of carbon to iron results in an alloy that is so much stronger than the base metal? In this course, you will learn how a material’s properties are determined by the microstructure of the material, which is in turn determined by composition and the processing that the material has undergone. This is the first of three Coursera courses that mirror the Introduction to Materials Science class that is taken by most engineering undergrads at Georgia Tech. The aim of the course is to help students better understand the engineering materials that are used in the world around them. This first section covers the fundamentals of materials science including atomic structure and bonding, crystal structure, atomic and microscopic defects, and noncrystalline materials such as glasses, rubbers, and polymers....

Top reviews

MD
Oct 4, 2020

Good morning dear Sir,We thank you for the knowledge you instilled in us, your course is very beneficial for students and teachers and all researchers, to understand or improve certain concepts.

SS
Mar 29, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 217 Reviews for Material Behavior

By Milagros G V

Sep 5, 2020

A very complete course and very useful to understand the structure and behavior of materials. All very clear and well explained by professor Thomas.

By Nando S S

Apr 2, 2018

Excellent course. I am graduated in Materials Engineering and enjoy ths course. Amazing review and I have learnt ohter concepts. I recommend !

By Ramprasath K M

Oct 9, 2018

Very Nice Course .This will be very useful for mechanical and civil engineering.It was very interesting with lot of examples for each topics.

By Ravindra K

Jun 4, 2017

Very useful primer of a course. It refreshes a lot of the fundamental concepts in the Materials Science. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

By Rizwan J

Jun 10, 2020

A beautiful learning experience for me. The course was concise and effective. Thank you Coursera and Georgia Tech. Institute for this ❤

By Siddhesh C

Sep 18, 2018

This course is very much informative and I learned so many basic concepts which are related to actual behavior of different materials.

By Tainá G R

Sep 16, 2019

Excellent course with an exemplary explanation about the relation between the microscopic and the macroscopic materials properties.

By Yulei F

Feb 14, 2019

it's a pretty good class which contains a wide range of professional knowledge of MSE,I really appreciate this course and teacher.

By Srinidhi R

Jul 1, 2020

It is an excellent course and designed a great way. More subject orientated and make things better understanding the materials.

By Vishnu B

Apr 2, 2018

It is very useful for a mechanical enginner

Im sucessfully completed this course but i cant purchase the course pls help me.....

By yugesh r

May 26, 2020

topics are discussed very interestingly.one of the fine course in Materials science that is available in Coursera out of many.

By S V K

Aug 20, 2018

This course is very fundamental and useful in understanding the different types of materials structures and their requirment

By Yasir M A

Jan 22, 2019

I really enjoyed and interested in this course, lots of information about the Materials behavior, and their properties.

By Eduardo J M S

Jan 5, 2019

Very illustrative course, good for civil engineer that want to know about material behavior, the strength and proccessing

By Aarsh n

Apr 1, 2019

exceptionally well taught.

language very simple and concepts greatly explained without making the learner loose interest

By Dr A K K S

Jun 12, 2020

All the basic information about the materials and their properties are covered. Excellent and very informative topic

By Faiz K

May 16, 2019

Excellent content, delivered very effectively. Both presentations and narrative by Professor Thomas were excellent.

By CHAKILELA N C

Apr 13, 2020

Good course which has been made me to learn the importance of the materials and their relations.

Thanks and Regards

By Ankit K S

Jul 9, 2020

this course is very effective , contains lots of information prerequisite for the understanding of the subject.

By Prashik M

Jan 30, 2017

Thank you Sir Thomas H. Sanders, Jr., for this vital and informative sessions, all thing is compel so nicely.

By Alex A

Jun 4, 2020

Great course covering the basics of MSE - used to study for my PhD Pre-qualifying exam and it helped a ton!

By Satheeskumar S

Apr 13, 2020

I personal thank to Jr Santers and Georgia Tech for giving this opportunity to join this course. Very good

By sankalp j

Feb 24, 2019

this course helped a lot in clearing my basics and in developing a stable foundation for me to to build on

By K S S R

May 6, 2020

learned more about material behaviour and its characteristic. the failure theory of the material is good

By varun t

Apr 2, 2019

It was very helpful in increasing my knowledge on material technology by providing a platform to learn