Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
11,712 ratings
3,387 reviews

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

LV

Apr 30, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

DI

Oct 30, 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

Filter by:

3151 - 3175 of 3,391 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Gabby P

Dec 21, 2019

This course is effective in improving your overall outlook about learning and improving the effectiveness of your learning.

By Nevalyn C B

Aug 11, 2020

I was happy that I finish this MOOC! It's my first time and looking forward to more MOOC's adventure learning! Thank you!

By DDT

Jul 16, 2020

Well made course, but there is little benefit if you've already taken the Learning How to Learn MOOC, which is excellent.

By Sabina K K

Aug 9, 2017

The course is very interesting but in comparison to Learning How to Learn it gives less practical informations and ideas.

By Elena G

Apr 24, 2020

I would highly recommend this course to you as it changed my perspective and gave me confidence to master certain skills

By Nishit P

Mar 19, 2022

it is not as informative as the first course by barbara oakely, but yeah it has new concepts that will help me forever

By 成萧何

Mar 26, 2019

This course's material is not organized as good as <learning how to learn>, and its operability is also not that good.

By LUIS A M B

Apr 24, 2020

Great course. The videos, the synthesis of information and the order make this MOOC very useful and achieve the goal.

By Kaitlyn M

Mar 27, 2020

It was decent. Production value was very dated but almost in a nostalgic kind of way. The instructors were engaging.

By Yash K

May 9, 2020

Simple, Amazing and Fun course which provides valuable insights on the science of learning, adapting and thriving!

By Rongsentemsu

Jun 27, 2018

This has been a wonderful journey for me in discovering new ways of learning new things in life!.. Awesome course!!

By S C

Apr 4, 2018

It's cool. I breezed through it pretty fast, but there were good insights, and the instructor was effective.

By Agathe N

May 28, 2017

Great course but I still prefered the learning how to learn mooc that, according to me, seemed to go deeper.

By Joseph A

Sep 28, 2020

After the MOOC about Learning to learn, this course felt a bit dry. Nelson's video sessions were top notch.

By Sourav D

May 5, 2020

A good MOOC to remind you that life-long learning is important for growth and it's never too late to start.

By Rohit

May 2, 2020

This is a fine course to help understand active learning and to not only nurture our passion but broaden it

By wailoon

Apr 3, 2020

great course easy understand need to apply those key in future keep learning and happy mindshift every one!

By Suresh M

Nov 16, 2021

It is a very good MOOC, every student and employee should Learn this online course for his carrier growth.

By Mehmet M Y

Jun 19, 2020

I did not find it as successful as the other course. But I found it useful to raise awareness and inspire.

By LWanda A G

Oct 4, 2020

This course was a great motivational tool to get back on track to achieving my personal and career goals.

By Ranpatisthanage K D K

Aug 28, 2020

This helped me to start thinking in a new pattern and jumped from the obstacles from my career.Good job!

By Gabriel D

Sep 30, 2020

this really motivates ones to keep learning throughout their life span. and to see things positively .

By michael k

Feb 16, 2021

good thought provoker, and an opportunity to reflect on your life's successes and failures to date.

By Ernesto G

May 14, 2017

Overall nice mooc, with powerful tips and tricks for becoming the best possible learner one can be.

By Etnik S

Jun 1, 2020

I would have liked to see more research behind their statements but in general it was a great MOOC