Chevron Left
Back to Numerical Methods for Engineers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Numerical Methods for Engineers by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.9
stars
66 ratings
29 reviews

About the Course

Numerical Methods for Engineers covers the most important numerical methods that an engineer should know. We derive basic algorithms in root finding, matrix algebra, integration and interpolation, ordinary and partial differential equations. We learn how to use MATLAB to solve numerical problems. Access to MATLAB online and the MATLAB grader is given to all students who enroll. We assume students are already familiar with the basics of matrix algebra, differential equations, and vector calculus. Students should have already studied a programming language, and be willing to learn MATLAB. The course contains 74 short lecture videos and MATLAB demonstrations. After each lecture or demonstration, there are problems to solve or programs to write. The course is organized into six weeks, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz and a longer programming project. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/numerical-methods-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/qFJGMBDfFMY...

Top reviews

AC
Jul 12, 2021

An excellent course on Numerical methods. The interactive nature of the course, using MATLAB programming and exercises, made it a lot of fun to learn the subject.

EK
Apr 20, 2021

Very nice introduction to numerical methods.\n\nThe MATLAB assignments were challenging but worth the effort.\n\nMany thanks to Prof Chasnov.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 29 Reviews for Numerical Methods for Engineers

By Justin E

Jul 17, 2021

This course really gives insight about the essential numerical methods needed for engineering studies. Professor Jeffrey Chasnov is really interactive in explaining the materials and also gave hints and advices in handling the end-project for each chapters. The discussion forums and my peers in studying this course also helped me doing this study, so overall this is a very good course, with a real classroom experience.

My special thanks to Professor Chasnov and my friend in this course Pleng for always motivating me and helped me when I was stuck to a particular problem. Best of lucks for all of you.

By Allaev S

Sep 20, 2021

I entered PhD course, but my background in math was very bad. I required to learn MATLAB, but I completely forgot linear algebla and even didn't know how to solve ordinary and partial differential equations. With the courses of Professor Chasnov I was able to increase my knowledge in 5 months. First was Linear algebra, then vector calculus, then differential equations. Numerical methods for engineers was my 4th course which is taught by Professor Chasnov. It wasn't easy, but now I can successfully implement obtained knowledge and MATLAB skills in my studies. Thank you very much professor Chasnov!

By Kevin Y

Feb 19, 2021

This is a wonderful course to learn something about numerical methods! The lectures and notes are wonderful and provide enough information to help you with the quizzes and programs. My first roadblock occurred in week 5. Week 6 was an incredible challenge for me. Thankfully, you can download the videos and watch them till some small illumination occurs to help you "see" a solution approach. This was critical in week 6 (reviewing 2D Laplace and Crank-Nicolson). I cannot recommend strongly enough if you want to learn more about Matlab and these methods from an exceptional instructor!

By bommaian b

Jul 3, 2021

It is an excellent course for learning to use numerical methods in MATLAB. The examples provided for applying each of the methods were generic enough to understand by engineers of different domain. I found the some of matlab assignments were very tough that even a small numerical accuracy issues can cause failure by graded external tool. The professor reviews the discussion forum every week and provides response to all the questions raised by students.

By Ron A

Feb 21, 2021

Excellent course. It starts with basic numerical methods and gets you to a point where you can solve the simplest version of the two-dimensional heat equation using finite differences. Along the way, you develop skills in MATLAB, learn the fundamentals of numerical computing, and obtain a solid foundation for doing more advanced work in numerical methods. Highly recommended.

By Asad A

May 22, 2021

A phenomenal course for learning Numerical Methods and then coding them in MATLAB. It would have been better if the instructor had spent more time on the aspect too, but overall have to say the projects are the best part of this course. If you are highly committed to learning, you will thoroughly enjoy the course as it is challenging.

By Michael v E

Mar 15, 2021

It was not only very instructive but also a pleasure to do this course. The lectures by prof Chasnov are very clear and his lecture notes very helpfull. The Matlab projects at the end of each week are very challenging and relevant and result in beautiful graphics. Prof Chasnov is a very motivated and inspiring teacher.

By Gonçalo T

Sep 5, 2021

Very good coverage of the most common numerical methods used to solve different engineering problems. The flow of the course is really good with videos and exercises, quizzes and programming assignments to solve interesting physical problems. Another brilliant course by prof Jeff Chasnov.

By Andrés H S D

Sep 12, 2021

I​t was a challenging course, but all the concepts are well explained and the programming activities encourage you to complete all the course. Useful to those who want to learn methods to solve differential equations and apply theoretical models to different knowledge fields.

By Adam D

May 25, 2021

Awesome course. Assignments are challenging and fun. I recommend all of Dr. Chasnov's courses. He is a great teacher and the content is really good with supplemental resources to increase your depth of understanding.

By Matko B L

Apr 7, 2021

Professor Chasnov is an excellent lecturer! This course is interesting and getting the correct answer on the project assignments gives a very fulfilling feeling. It was challenging but manageable to solve and finish.

By Mingde Y

Jul 6, 2021

Numerical Methods for Engineers taught me so many new things about scientific computing that I had never known before. Particularly in the details of matrix equations and ODE solutions. Thank you Professor Chasnov!

By IOANNIS K

Feb 24, 2021

Excellent course from an excellent professor. The course combines the necessary theory lectures with the corresponding applications. Recommended !!!

By Eugene K

Apr 21, 2021

Very nice introduction to numerical methods.

The MATLAB assignments were challenging but worth the effort.

Many thanks to Prof Chasnov.

By Mohammad N U

Aug 23, 2021

It's really a privilege for me to be a part of this course. I was able to learn a lot. Thanks Professor for this amazing course.

By K M R F

Aug 1, 2021

G​reat course, easily accessible materials, and wisely chosen topics and assignments!

By srijan A

Aug 9, 2021

very enlightening course. It was a perfect blend of practical theoretical knowlege

By Marco S

Sep 21, 2021

The course is very interesting and all concepts are well explained!

By AUDELO G M E

May 15, 2021

Muy buen curso, sus proyectos de fin de tema excelentes.

By jquaranta

Mar 19, 2021

Very interesting and enjoyable. Learned a lot.

By George L

Jun 1, 2021

Fun course for the subject, taught very well.

By Vigier P

Apr 6, 2021

Very nice course & exceptional professor !

By Giovanni M

Jul 31, 2021

interesting and challenging

By Andres D S Q

Jul 26, 2021

Very interesting

By partap r

Jun 7, 2021

very good course