Chevron Left
Back to Practical Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Practical Machine Learning by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,468 ratings
465 reviews

About the Course

One of the most common tasks performed by data scientists and data analysts are prediction and machine learning. This course will cover the basic components of building and applying prediction functions with an emphasis on practical applications. The course will provide basic grounding in concepts such as training and tests sets, overfitting, and error rates. The course will also introduce a range of model based and algorithmic machine learning methods including regression, classification trees, Naive Bayes, and random forests. The course will cover the complete process of building prediction functions including data collection, feature creation, algorithms, and evaluation....

Top reviews

AD

Mar 01, 2017

Issues of every stage of the construction of learning machine model, as well as issues with several different machine learning methods are well and in fine yet very understandable detail explained.

AS

Aug 31, 2017

Highly recommend this course. It makes you read a lot, do lot's of practical exercises. The final project is a must do. After finishing this course you can start playing with kaggle data sets.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 464 Reviews for Practical Machine Learning

By Bernie P

Aug 07, 2018

It needs to be updated. Its probably one of the most in demand skills in the field and this has a weeks worth of content 1 section 25 minutes of video 5 questions. Its just not as good as any of the other courses. 100% needs to be revamped.

By Hamid M

Feb 21, 2018

Unsatisfactory and poor course in this specialisation. There are many important parts which are explained inaccurately. In many cases, the lecturer jumps from important points, or assumes students have detailed knowledge about the topic. You can find ambiguity in weekly questions. Very unsatisfied!

By Grégoire M

Sep 27, 2017

The worst course of the specialisation so far. The quizzes are full of typos, not clear at all, and the videos teach nothing, always refering to elements of statistical learning book. Now that I have completed the course, I do know a bunch of algorithm names involved in machine learning, but I certainly do not understand what they do and when using them.

By Thej K R

Jun 04, 2019

Worst lectures! Worst teaching! I leanrt most of the topics on statquest. Very very very highlevel teaching, very little effort put in by Bcaffo and Rdpeng on this! So many issues in the quizzes. Wasted hours on puzzling out what is to be done! Have a look at the complaints in the course era discussion board. Issues since 3 years are not corrected. The course needs an update. But no m*****F**** is listening. Solutions to quizze are wrong! I have had it with coursera and their useles peer correction. You don't even know if what you are doing is right! Worst FEEDBACK ever!

By Andrew C

May 14, 2019

The lectures and quizzes are based on old versions of R and R packages. This course needs a serious update, as some packages work differently, test answers have changed (but not been updated) and coding along with the videos results in different results. Going to the forum you can see that this has been an issue for a few years now.

By David S

Dec 18, 2018

lecture material could be cleaner with fewer errors

By Thomas B

Nov 08, 2018

Lectures and course material is insufficient to get the right amount of knowledge to be able to do the tests and the course project

By Jean P L

Apr 25, 2018

More practice Items are needed

By Mariana d S e S

Mar 01, 2018

Not enough context for the price payed

By Humberto R

Feb 13, 2018

I was rather disappointed with this course. I guess it fills the objective of getting you using the caret package and getting you started with some examples. However to understand what you are doing you should defintively go somewhere else. I definitively missed some swirl exercises and more flow diagrams in the slides. It felt for me as I was just copypasting some code from the slides. The course does clearly give some good literature and places to go for details.

By Erick G A

Aug 18, 2017

That's a pretty rushed course. I think you really should reformulate it and discuss its content with a deeper way.

By Wayne H

Jun 27, 2017

I'm a big fan of the John's Hopkins Data Science series on Coursera; however, they definitely "phoned it in" on this particular course. No practical assignments except for the quizzes and final course project. Too much deference to outside materials, i.e. if you really want to learn these concepts take Andrew Ng's class or read The Elements of Statistical Learning. The video lectures just breeze over the concepts and leave too much for the learner to just go and figure out. The quizzes, instead of testing your knowledge are literal the only practical learning in whole class. The course project is what you make of it.

By Lingjian K

Jun 14, 2017

Extremely confusing. Should look at Prof. Andrew Ng's machine learning course for how to clearly convey an idea.

By Thomas G

Jun 07, 2017

By far the laziest course set up in the track. It's an interesting topic, but without independent study I would have learned almost nothing due to the lack of any "practicals" in this "Practical Machine Learning". A really disappointing course that fails to be worth more than just a couple hours of youtube.

By Bob W

Apr 09, 2017

This course was a big let-down compared to other courses in the specialization. It doesn't seem like a lot of effort went into course planning and creation. Much of the content is unclear and there is little depth. course textbook, and some swirl exercises would have helped.

By Don M

Jul 15, 2019

A fast-paced course that got me going in building models and understanding the pitfalls. I felt the directions for the final project were somewhat poorly worded and vague (and calling one of the files test when it was not to be used for testing the model was initially confusing), but overall it was good. I would have liked to have seen the final project uploaded as a secure file as has been done in other courses, and Github was a poor platform for viewing html files. Additionally, the question about out of sample error caused many people problems in the projects as they confused it with with Accuracy, yet it was weighted heavily in the rubric: I'd like the instructors to review the materials how that material is presented in terms of models. I got 100%, but as always you have to pay very close attention to the rubric.

As always with this specialization, you are really just given a taste and there is no way you can fully explore all the material and references presented., but it is enough to get you going and wanting to come back and explore the material more.

By Erik K

Jul 08, 2019

Very good. Learned a lot

By Jorge B S

Jun 25, 2019

I have passed 5 courses of this specialization and I am not fully satisfied with this one. The course is a very brief introduction to practical machine learning, as the concepts are explained very fast and without a minimum level of detail. Then, most importantly, there are no swirl exercises, so it is quite difficult to put the acquired knowledge into practice. The other 4 courses I took, they all had swirl and that was great. Nevertheless, the course project is quite nice in order to face a real machine learning problem.

By Jerome S P

Jun 18, 2019

Very good explanation! Trying to do the examples help me understand more plus the explanation which is not on the slide helps a lot. Thank you

By Jeffrey M H

Jun 10, 2019

So far, one of the most fulfilling courses in the Data Science specialization!

By Ehsan K

May 30, 2019

This is a good course for someone who has already done the previous courses in this specialization series.

It covers the most basic ideas in machine learning and expose you to work on real problems and learn by experience. if you are looking for more advanced in-depth courses, you need to take other courses as well.

Overall, lectures are in very fast pace and as a result they have several mistakes in them you should be careful about.

By YANAN D

May 27, 2019

elementary course and not too much work

By Sanket P

May 27, 2019

ok

By Nino P

May 24, 2019

It's good that they teach you basics of machine learing in R (caret package), but it's very introductory course. I definetly recommend this course to beginner, but I also recommend taking more courses on this topic (Andrew Ng's for example).

By Matthew S

May 08, 2019

Good introduction to machine learning. Provides pretty comprehensive coverage of major algorithms and approaches.