Chevron Left
Back to Protecting Business Innovations via Patent

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Protecting Business Innovations via Patent by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
stars
356 ratings
81 reviews

About the Course

Protecting Business Innovations via Patent Watch Course Overview: https://youtu.be/mUja4iwbrTE This course assumes no prior knowledge in law, business or engineering. However, students with backgrounds in all three areas will find useful concepts or ideas in the course on how to protect business innovations using patents. The approach taken in this course is practical and commercial rather than theoretical. A combination of lectures and case studies help to illustrate the concepts and make the course more interesting. After completing this course, students should be able to understand how patents are issued and protect innovations, including: What is a patent? What do they protect? How do we get a patent? Where are patents valid? How much do they cost? In addition to basic concepts the course also deals with advanced topics such as: software patents, business process patents, patenting life, patent trolls and multiple case examples of large and small companies using patents and patent lawsuits. We also expect you to have fun in this course. So go forth and enjoy! Other courses in the Protecting Business Innovations series: 1. Copyright: https://www.coursera.org/learn/protect-business-innovations-copyright 2. Trademark: https://www.coursera.org/learn/protect-business-innovations-trademark 3. Patent: https://www.coursera.org/learn/protect-business-innovations-patent 4. Strategy: https://www.coursera.org/learn/protect-business-innovations-strategy...

Top reviews

MM
May 3, 2020

Super enjoyable.\n\nWhat are patents, what they protect, how to apply for them and where are they valid. Interesting case studies are presented.\n\nThank you, Professor Clark and thank you Coursera!

AC
Nov 14, 2019

The concepts were explained very well. I don't have any law background but could still understand it. The assignments and court cases discussed made it easier to understand the concepts.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 81 Reviews for Protecting Business Innovations via Patent

By Shiran Z

Apr 8, 2018

Excellent. The only thing that's missing is walking through the patent application form and how is it built. And also who should we write as patent owners, ourselves or the company?

By Fernanda N

Oct 20, 2018

This course resumes the basics of the patent wrold in a simple and super effective way. Highly recommended for everyone that wants to know more and know the reality on how to get a patent. The teacher in special is really good, congradulations!

Este curso retoma as noções básicas da patente de uma forma simples e super eficaz. Altamente recomendado para todos que querem saber mais e conhecer a realidade sobre como obter uma patente. O professor em especial é muito bom, parabéns!

By Mohsen M M

May 4, 2020

Super enjoyable.

What are patents, what they protect, how to apply for them and where are they valid. Interesting case studies are presented.

Thank you, Professor Clark and thank you Coursera!

By Aditya S C

Nov 15, 2019

The concepts were explained very well. I don't have any law background but could still understand it. The assignments and court cases discussed made it easier to understand the concepts.

By Mei-Ling H

Jun 20, 2020

The course is well structured and the lecturer explains very well and clearly. I like in particular the part that the lecturer provided many examples which happened in reality.

By Sanskruti S

Jun 19, 2020

This course reinforces the way a patent must be claimed and filed. It renders perfect way to write a patent and how to build it strong. The case studies help find way in courts as well. Though there is one point unexplained that is what if I innovate, whether I get a patent or the company I work for?

By Shobayo B

Nov 29, 2020

It's a course I would highly recommend for everyone, innovators and IP enthusiasts. The course was very detailed on patent and how it builds a companies brand. The lectures were very enriching and educating, a big thank you to Prof. Theodore Clark!

By Muhammad A

Sep 14, 2019

This course provide good insight of Patent world. The advance topics including business processes, software patents and case studies are really helpful. It gives good understanding of how patents are granted and complexities involved in it.

By LEE Y C

Nov 27, 2020

The course is very well organized, interesting & useful. Prof. Theodore Clark used many great examples/ case studies in the course, that helped my learning a lot. Highly recommended.

By Arpit A

Jun 5, 2020

Good course. It certainly helped me understand the basics of patenting process. Also the case studies discussed in this course were very interesting.

By Luis F G C

Jul 1, 2019

Muy buen curso para sentar las bases en temas de propiedad intelectual, principalmente sobre todo lo relacionado a trámites de patentes de utilidad.

By Quentin A

May 4, 2019

Fantastic class. Well taught, quick, entertaining, and interesting case studies.

This class gave me a solid foundation for working with patents.

By B U R

Sep 23, 2020

The Course made this taught me the world of patent laws in an simple and eligible way. Thanks to the course instructor who taught us very well.

By samyuktha s

Mar 27, 2020

course was very good had knowledge about many things after this course, they have explained each and everything with good examples.

By Dr K V C

May 8, 2019

Course was well design, will helps the learner to get good exposure.

Everyone, want to work in this area need to attend this course.

By Christina L P M

Jul 24, 2020

Very interesting content. Well-supplemented with cases. Did not expect patent law to be this interesting and easy to understand.

By PAVIN K

Jul 11, 2020

Protecting business innovation via patent is an useful course .this course is helpful for students for improving their knowledge

By Anna L

Oct 20, 2018

Very interesting course with many examples.

Very clear and pleasant to follow. Gives a good general knowledge about patent law.

By Howlette T W Y

May 24, 2020

For a beginner to Intellectual Property Law in relation to patents in the US, this course is sufficiently informative.

By Nishant P

May 17, 2020

The instructor was damn good, and the course was extremely well structured. Wish the best for him and the entire team.

By Md S H

Jun 7, 2020

best course to apply to know about the IPRs. very much thanks to the educator for making it so much easy.

By Akshata k

Aug 27, 2020

It was very good experience learning through coursera and it was useful to me grow as a fine engineer

By Alexander R A

Mar 9, 2019

This course is made easy and very practical. The Instructor is excellent. I will suggest you take it.

By NARAYANAN A

May 19, 2020

I loved this course. Enjoyed and learnt a lot.Surely this will uplift my career.Thank you Professor.

By Pratik M

May 20, 2020

I learned basic of patent. It is a amazing course. Thank you so much for teaching about the patent.