Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization with Python by IBM

4.5
stars
9,146 ratings
1,346 reviews

About the Course

"A picture is worth a thousand words". We are all familiar with this expression. It especially applies when trying to explain the insight obtained from the analysis of increasingly large datasets. Data visualization plays an essential role in the representation of both small and large-scale data. One of the key skills of a data scientist is the ability to tell a compelling story, visualizing data and findings in an approachable and stimulating way. Learning how to leverage a software tool to visualize data will also enable you to extract information, better understand the data, and make more effective decisions. The main goal of this Data Visualization with Python course is to teach you how to take data that at first glance has little meaning and present that data in a form that makes sense to people. Various techniques have been developed for presenting data visually but in this course, we will be using several data visualization libraries in Python, namely Matplotlib, Seaborn, and Folium. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AM
Aug 13, 2020

Great course, one of the best course to get hands-on learning for Data Visualization with Python. Particularly the lap exercise, it will make you think on every line of code you write. Excellent!!!

SS
Nov 20, 2019

It's a really great course with proper hands on time and the assignments are great too. i got enough opportunity to explore the things which were taught in the course. Really Satisfied. Thanks :)

Filter by:

1226 - 1250 of 1,330 Reviews for Data Visualization with Python

By Muyang L

Nov 18, 2019

The lectures contain too much repeat context.

By Amir H

Apr 2, 2019

All videos have one minute content in common.

By Ricardo S

Dec 14, 2020

Videos could have been a bit more engaging

By Debra C

Mar 24, 2019

Course was okay, not great but worthwhile.

By Gabriel d C C

Mar 31, 2020

Muitos problemas com ferramentas externas

By RITIK Y S

Mar 23, 2020

All the time practice lab is not working.

By LIM K W

Jan 2, 2020

Easily encounter 503 errors for the labs

By VIGNESHKUMAR R

Dec 25, 2019

Need to improve more please

By Marina H

Nov 19, 2019

Some code did't work in Labs

By Biswa B

May 18, 2021

I didn't like this course.

By Anmol P

Nov 6, 2019

More content and examples

By Martina

Oct 29, 2019

The labs are very buggy.

By Naman S

Apr 17, 2020

Could have been better

By YIFAN H

Oct 7, 2019

好多东西根本没说啊,然后就要做作业,一脸懵逼

By Mark P

Sep 18, 2019

JSON links are broken.

By Musfiqul A

Feb 18, 2020

Need more hand notes

By pranav s

May 15, 2020

I found it boring

By ADIL J

Jul 1, 2019

Can be better

By Mix U T

May 17, 2020

course is ok

By Gloria S

Aug 15, 2019

too basic

By Fabio B

Mar 15, 2019

Too basic

By Frank A I

Mar 21, 2021

Unfortunately, this has to be to worst Coursera course that I have taken. I only give it 2 stars for the first few weeks, otherwise this is more of a 0/5 star

While the beginning was a descent course, the final project was very much a left field task. While it did have some of the material from the course, there were several aspects that were not explained in depth or not at all. It also didnt help that there were some errors in the base code that were not explained and it took the students to resolve them.

Many people pinged the instructors for assistance, including myself, but aside from a few comments here and there, all their responses were basically "Review this thread that says to run the code a gain and give it time to load". When I asked for more detailed instruction beyond that thread, I never heard back from the instructors. With so many students opening threads and asking the same question, the instructors should take that as a hint that something is wrong and that they should take a more active roll to resolve the issue (a new lecture or assignment to help explains the errors rather than a thread provided).

The best part was that when I mentioned I had issues with this at work, a coworker of mine who had 20 years experience, at least 10 of which is with Python, offered to look over the code with me. He was confused with what the instructor was attempting to have us learn with the final assignment.

In short, I rate this course low because of the final assignment not being properly explained before or during it and that fact that there is little to no instructor support beyond repeating themselves and telling students to "toggle the dropdowns and wait"/ "rerun the code"

By Carina D

Apr 20, 2021

Although the course was informative, the course components related to Dash applications need to be reworked or removed. For a course that should only require the use of a course-provided cloud-based Jupyter notebook (JupyterLab via IBM Skills Network Labs), the labs and final assignment should work via that service. The final assignment also should be reworked into a new assignment because of its incompatibility with the course-provided Jupyter notebook. A final assignment should not be debugged extensively and require the use of outside applications (one of them being an application that requires computer installation) to be completed. The course should explicitly state what resources are needed for the final assignment if it requires outside resources, and the debugging instructions should be listed in the final assignment instructions, not in a thread in a discussion board.

By Ian R

Feb 18, 2021

This course needs some significant remodeling in order for users to feel like they learned something from this course. I couldn't finish the final assignment because visually speaking, it was so hard to follow. Furthermore, the final assignment was creating a dashboard, which covered Week 4. There was no graded assignment that covered Weeks 1-3. Luckily, that material was easy to follow. Not sure what the point of having the material for Weeks 1-3 is if we are not going to be tested on this material via a final assignment.

To make this course more worthwhile, I think there should be a graded peer review assignment for Weeks 1-3, so learners have a chance to test their knowledge on this material. Then have an assignment that addresses dashboards. I also think it would be easier the dashboard assignment in IBM Watson Studio.