Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization with Python by IBM

4.5
stars
9,097 ratings
1,331 reviews

About the Course

"A picture is worth a thousand words". We are all familiar with this expression. It especially applies when trying to explain the insight obtained from the analysis of increasingly large datasets. Data visualization plays an essential role in the representation of both small and large-scale data. One of the key skills of a data scientist is the ability to tell a compelling story, visualizing data and findings in an approachable and stimulating way. Learning how to leverage a software tool to visualize data will also enable you to extract information, better understand the data, and make more effective decisions. The main goal of this Data Visualization with Python course is to teach you how to take data that at first glance has little meaning and present that data in a form that makes sense to people. Various techniques have been developed for presenting data visually but in this course, we will be using several data visualization libraries in Python, namely Matplotlib, Seaborn, and Folium. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AM
Aug 13, 2020

Great course, one of the best course to get hands-on learning for Data Visualization with Python. Particularly the lap exercise, it will make you think on every line of code you write. Excellent!!!

SS
Nov 20, 2019

It's a really great course with proper hands on time and the assignments are great too. i got enough opportunity to explore the things which were taught in the course. Really Satisfied. Thanks :)

Filter by:

1101 - 1125 of 1,318 Reviews for Data Visualization with Python

By Awab A

Aug 30, 2019

The part of using the artist layer is a little ambiguous. Now after I finished the course I don't feel that I know clearly the difference between using the artist layer or using the scripting layer. In both cases we use plot function of a dataframe.

I think dedicating a week or more to discuss the actual functions and the way of using the matplotlib library may be better than previewing more visualization options like waffle chart and word cloud.

By William Z

Mar 20, 2019

Sorry to say but this course is actually worse than the others in have learned before.

I understand it may be hard to teach only the different tools for visualization such as folium, bar/pie chart. However, the speaker in this course speaks the same "WORDS", just like replacing the variable names when coding under instructions.

I did learn something in this course but just don't like the way we been given.

By Marnilo C

May 4, 2019

This course had several areas where it could be improved: (1) The Final Project was made much more difficult by requiring the students to use skills which were not taught in the course. This seems to defeat the purpose of testing, which is to test what was learned. (2) The course should have contained content which explains when it is more appropriate to use the specific types of visualizations.

By Steven T

Oct 27, 2018

Overall a good course, especially the final assignment is well done. However, there is too much focus on the class labs and practically no effort put into the videos. Within the class labs there are only comments as reference to how and why something is done which often lacks proper explanation (e.g. what the called methods in a chart mean, how loops are used to fit data etc.)

By Carmen R

Jul 26, 2020

I felt this class was not bad.... I do think that the quizzes are a bit too easy with the assignment being a serious step up. The assignment also required you to Google some how-to's, use some patches and reference prior courses which I feel asked a lot of learners. The info is good, the skill learned is pretty cool. Not the best class, with definite room for improvement.

By Arvont H

Mar 29, 2021

The material we learned will be useful. But, the Week 5 assignment had to much busy work concerning making screenshots. I got some tips on the forum though that allowed me to make the submissions while minimizing the number of screenshots I took. Hint: create the app with mode equal to 'external' instead of 'inline' and print save the resulting browser tab as a PDF.

By Hanru L

Mar 28, 2021

I thought the final assignment shall be focus on Matplotlib and seaborn, but found it was only about "dash". And it is too complicated and exhausting with many bugs. I don't think python has advantage to build a dashboard since it is much easier to use Tableau and Power BI to build it. The final assignment should be restructured and improved.

By James P

Apr 10, 2021

This is a crucial course however does very little in the way of teaching. The final assessment is also rather buggy. I could not get the dashboard to display in the provided online notebook, so I had to complete the tasks locally. You could argue that this serves better as a teaching aid, however the videos and lessons do not cover enough.

By Bryan B

Dec 19, 2019

Although the idea of this course is good, it didn't have the same flow as the other IBM courses in the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate. There were no quizes during the videos, and the final project had concepts and code that weren't in any labs or videos. Even the hints from the professors in the discussion were misleading.

By Martha C

Feb 26, 2021

The first part of the course was good as I learned about creating visualizations for EDA. Unfortunately, the section on dashboards was not done well, in my opinion, and the final assignment was quite frustrating. I kept getting errors with my code but did not have enough knowledge from the course to understand how to fix them.

By Tanya S

Nov 19, 2020

I felt that the course was a bit disorganized. The actual code bits that were used in labs were hard to follow and material covered in final assignment required a LOT of independent googling of pandas libraries. Overall, it was a good overview but this course fell short compared to the other courses in this specialization.

By Toby C

Feb 6, 2020

This course was good but for too many of the final assignment questions I really had a to look up how to do it on the web.

A better explanation of the key_on parameter in choropleths would help - even though the entry in the json file is features - the key_on value is feature.properties.<key> not features.properties.<key>.

By Jovita A

Dec 19, 2020

Needs further improvement, examples: (1) discuss important features/syntax ... go over it, may need not be too detailed but simple instructions on what the parameters do, (2) dont repeat throughout the case because it is assumed that the students knew it from the start so that other topics can be discussed or included.

By Brian C

Apr 20, 2021

Course was very hit and miss, fine through to the final section on dash boarding which was all over the place. Complicating matters was the fact that the lab sessions wouldn't run on the suggested site, meaning that they needed to be downloaded and executed separately on something like VSCode or Google Colaboratory.

By Claudia R C

May 10, 2019

The course is nice, but there are several issues that could be easily solved:

Some of the notebooks on JupyterLab were not working (e.g. "exploratory...").

On the final assignment page there were some bugs regarding the upload (i.e. question 3)

The videos in week 5 were too condensed and resulted hard to follow.

By JOSHY J

Oct 31, 2019

This course is a little disappointing for me. It is a 3 Week course and content you learn in this course are not even cover introductory sections. The Final Project is So hard, that it didn't cover the important sections. I don't suggest this course if you are really serious about Data Visualization.

By Kevin O

Apr 19, 2019

None of the labs data imports worked. The majority of the video content said to take the time to really learn the topics via the labs. The final assignment data sources worked, so at least that could be completed. Paid courses really need to have external dependencies reliably available or updated.

By Louis C C I

Mar 20, 2021

The content was really interesting and I learned a lot. I just wish the code was explained better because there were a lot of times where there were functions I had not seen before and were not explained. The final project was also a humongous pain to complete do to graphs not being displayed right.

By Mark H

Feb 10, 2019

Good content to know. Fair but not great in terms of presentation. Many videos repeated how to prep the data frame so you end up watching the same 2 minutes several times. Also a lot of the things you had to know you had to figure out on your own versus finding it in the material presented.

By Daniel A

Sep 10, 2020

Still good overall but not as well designed as previous courses in the IBM data science certificate track. The final assignment is MUCH more difficult than any content in the labs and harder than previous final assignments, which isn't necessarily bad but it's inconsistent and unexpected.

By Giselle

May 25, 2020

I didn't completely understood the labs and where some lines of code came from. Also, I felt that we don't get enough directions to complete the final assignment, not even which notebook to use. This has been by far the most difficult course of this training in my opinion.

By Yanis B

Nov 25, 2018

Great course except of the final assignment being based on a deprecated or soon to be deprecated version of Folium Choropleth implementation. Please review that part as it could be very confusing to students that do not use cognitive class as their development environment.

By Sean M

Jan 20, 2020

Since students weren't able to submit code, this made it extremely difficult to answer the final project (which I couldn't figure out how to finish). Getting feed back on how to correctly code the answers is more important than showing a screenshot of the final product.

By Aditya D

Jan 12, 2020

Need more clarity and practice for this course. This course seems the toughest as it asks for memorizing artistic layer syntax which seems so difficult coupled with the humongous choropleth map!

A huge amount of practice is needed for this certificate even after labs!

By Antonio J R C

Aug 13, 2020

Good approach to basic concepts of Matplotlib and other tools to visualize data with Python, but the assignment and final evaluation require much more knowledge than those taught during the course and, eventually you spend more time googling concepts on websites.