Chevron Left
Back to Reproducible Research

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Reproducible Research by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
4,115 ratings

About the Course

This course focuses on the concepts and tools behind reporting modern data analyses in a reproducible manner. Reproducible research is the idea that data analyses, and more generally, scientific claims, are published with their data and software code so that others may verify the findings and build upon them. The need for reproducibility is increasing dramatically as data analyses become more complex, involving larger datasets and more sophisticated computations. Reproducibility allows for people to focus on the actual content of a data analysis, rather than on superficial details reported in a written summary. In addition, reproducibility makes an analysis more useful to others because the data and code that actually conducted the analysis are available. This course will focus on literate statistical analysis tools which allow one to publish data analyses in a single document that allows others to easily execute the same analysis to obtain the same results....

Top reviews

AA

Feb 12, 2016

My favorite course, at least it gives me an argument why scripted statistics is awesome and can be applied to a number of data related activities. Recycling chunks of code has proven useful to me.

RR

Aug 19, 2020

A very important course that greatly improved my ability to communicate the findings of any sort of data analysis that I perform. This is a critical skill to acquire to "deliver the means."

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 580 Reviews for Reproducible Research

By Carlos R

Dec 26, 2016

Excelente

By saroj r

May 14, 2016

i like it

By 杜冈桃

Oct 7, 2017

Perfect

By Sanjay B

Oct 27, 2020

Great.

By Medha B

Oct 18, 2020

Great.

By Adán H

Nov 6, 2017

thanks

By Zhao M

Nov 1, 2016

good.

By manoj k

Aug 31, 2016

Great

By Chandan K S

Nov 13, 2020

nice

By �SADHARAN G

Jul 17, 2020

good

By Rizwan M

Sep 5, 2019

good

By SriHari a

Apr 21, 2019

Good

By Amit K R

Nov 27, 2017

Good

By Jay B

Aug 24, 2017

Good

By Yi-Yang L

Apr 10, 2017

Good

By Oleksandr F

Nov 24, 2016

Nice

By 朱荣荣

Mar 11, 2016

good

By Meidani P

Dec 3, 2021

-

By Suriya

Feb 24, 2018

O

By Marat G

Mar 22, 2017

)

By Jeffrey P

Mar 15, 2016

By far the most time consuming, yet rewarding course in the data science specialization thus far. Literate Programing in general and R Markdown in particular are simple enough as concepts, but do take some time to grow accustomed to. However, I found the course to be a compelling argument for reproducibility that has application beyond just Data Science proper.

Although the technology is completely different, the concepts behind reproducibility really resonated with me and the work I do managing a division in Application Development. I'm constantly having to balance seemingly limitless demands, limited resources, and the difficulty of retaining staff in highly-competitive industry. Reproducibility becomes not just the basis for cross-training, product stabilization, and growth, but is a necessary ingredient of a team's survival.

This course not only cemented my own thoughts on the topic, but gave me some new ideas and tools for process improvement on the job.

By Nicolas L

Apr 15, 2020

El proyecto final del curso tiene poco que ver con lo enseñado a lo largo de éste, era muy necesario haber tomado los cursos anteriores (en especial R programming y Exploración de Datos). Además, el proyecto debería estar mejor planificado, se buscaba que la mayor parte del tiempo estuviera en limpiar la data? O un objetivo más fuerte era el uso de gráficos más elaborados u otro al interior de RMarkdown? O un análisis un poco más elaborado que sólo sumar?

By Siying R

Oct 21, 2018

This course teaches how to present a R code analysis that others can run the code to reproduce the same result. The length of the lecture is minimum and the project helps me to make the reproducible analysis on my own. One thing I would like to see improvement is that the instructor's speech. I hope that he can speak more smoothly without stopping to repeat words. It was quite a struggle to listen to his talking. Thank you.

By Travis M

Apr 2, 2016

The first assignment should occur during the second week instead of the first given how the material is presented. The second and final project is very time consuming. Ideally this course should run for 6 weeks instead of 4 because of this. The second project is challenging and it definitely drives home the point about reproducible result given the state of the raw data.

By David R

Oct 22, 2018

I don't think the content of this course was as polished as the others in the specialisation, the lectures seemed to be a mixture of repeats and videoed lecture room talks, based on content I'd probably have given 3 stars, however the 2 course projects, which were quite challenging given lecture content pulled it up, I found these very worthwhile.