Chevron Left
Back to Robotics: Computational Motion Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Robotics: Computational Motion Planning by University of Pennsylvania

4.2
stars
898 ratings
230 reviews

About the Course

Robotic systems typically include three components: a mechanism which is capable of exerting forces and torques on the environment, a perception system for sensing the world and a decision and control system which modulates the robot's behavior to achieve the desired ends. In this course we will consider the problem of how a robot decides what to do to achieve its goals. This problem is often referred to as Motion Planning and it has been formulated in various ways to model different situations. You will learn some of the most common approaches to addressing this problem including graph-based methods, randomized planners and artificial potential fields. Throughout the course, we will discuss the aspects of the problem that make planning challenging....

Top reviews

FC

Nov 28, 2018

The course was challenging, but fulfilling. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for giving this wonderful experience and opportunity that I might not experience in our local community!

AD

Jul 03, 2018

The topic was very interesting, and the assignments weren't overly complicated. Overall, the lesson was fun and informative , despite the bugs in the learning tool(especially, the last assignment.)

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 224 Reviews for Robotics: Computational Motion Planning

By Adrián S R G

Sep 24, 2019

Excelente curso, 100% recomendado

By Dmytro N

Jan 30, 2018

Great course! Highly recommended

By Yash H

Jul 22, 2018

slightly tough but challenging

By Lin Y

May 13, 2020

Nice structure and tutorials

By Akhilesh K

Jul 02, 2017

Thanks for the great course.

By 涂金戈

Apr 10, 2016

简单,好理解。从基础的算法开始,路径规划的思想很有意思。

By Marcus S

Apr 01, 2019

helpful. informational.

By UMAR T

Mar 05, 2020

Excellent Instructor

By Zakaria B

Oct 12, 2016

Very practical cours

By meghna l

Jun 03, 2020

very good course

By Anirudh Y

Mar 12, 2018

great course!!

By Tianyi Z

Oct 30, 2018

Great lecture

By Aryan A

Jun 13, 2018

Great course!

By Emin B

Jul 30, 2017

it is awesome

By Peter L

Sep 15, 2017

learn a lot

By Jesus F

Oct 20, 2016

Good course

By max r

Jun 22, 2016

yay robots

By Jorge H O S

Dec 05, 2017

Excelente

By Niccolò M

Apr 11, 2020

Great!!

By 李天柱

Jul 18, 2017

作业超好

By James G

Apr 21, 2017

I enjoyed the course but mostly only because I had ample time to complete it. I likely wouldn't have finished if I was busier. The course notes aren't particularly helpful and they are very brief. The assignments were just okay but most of the time spent on them was trying to debug the code rather than learn the concepts studied in the lectures. I'm giving this course 4 stars, not because the Coursera content was good, it wasn't, but rather because I learned a lot trying to 'figure out' the assignments and finding information online. I'd say if you're a beginner, looking to step into robotics, it might be worth your time but if you're intermediate to advanced, you ought to move along. The content taught versus the time it takes to debug the codes might not be worth your effort.

By Rishabh B

Mar 13, 2016

In this course we will get to know about shortest path algorithm such A*, Dijkstra's, concept of configuration space and path planning in the same, developing Probabilistic road maps and RRT and also a bit about Artificial potenial fields. All the algorithms are neatly explained. The material though very short(in terms of total hours of video lectures) is nicely compiled. The quality of the MATLAB exercises is very good with few issues here and there. We can extract a lot about MATLAB implementation of different simulations by spending time understanding the given code and also implementing missing sections as part of the assignment.

Overall, a great course.

By Md M R

Jun 01, 2018

The assignments look easy after you solve them, but beforehand you'll need all the pointers from the discussion forums just to understand how to write the codes. Also, the assignments from week 2 and week 3 will be impossible to solve in Desktop's MATLAB, so someone should ask the teaching staff to reconcile the assignment files for both Desktop's MATLAB and the grader/online MATLAB. Apart from the issues, the course offers some of the most interesting motion/path planning algorithms. Anyone who is novice and wholehearted into robotics should definitely check it out.

By Maksym B

Dec 30, 2019

The course has good topics. The lectures are easy to understand. But the course is too light in my opinion. I completed it in 3 days spending around 10 hours total (I might have completed it in 3 hours if not the poorly designed assignments). Aerial Robotics which is the previous course in this specialization is more serious than this one. Quizzes are very easy. Assignments have bugs and only by reading suggestions on the forums of the people who struggled with assignments and worked around the bugs, I was able to complete the assignments.

By Daniel C

Jan 09, 2017

Great course overall. The automatic grader may not be perfect, but the TA is constantly working on it and he has been clearing up confusion by posting updated PDFs and codes. The discussion forum is awesome. There is plenty of presence of the TA and classmates.

It is true that the lectures aren't as long as Aerial Robotics, but they are concise and clear enough for us to work on the assignments. If you are good at matlab and programming, you can breeze through the assignments. If not, you can get stuck for days, like I did.