Chevron Left
Back to Self Awareness and the Effective Leader

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Self Awareness and the Effective Leader by Rice University

4.7
stars
521 ratings
104 reviews

About the Course

Part of being an effective leader is learning how to play to your strengths and overcome characteristics that don't lend to good leadership practices. During the course, you will examine your own strengths and learn ways to use them in a leadership role. Learn to manage stress and solve problems creatively. Throughout the course, you will also build a tool kit of useful techniques that you can begin using right away in your engineering career. This course is designed for engineers who are interested in and have the desire to advance into leadership and management roles. You don't need any leadership experience to do well in this course. We ask you to reflect on your personal experiences pretty often,, so some work experience will help you in that aspect, but we hope that most of what you learn here will be applicable to many areas of your life....

Top reviews

JL
May 13, 2019

Very pertinent information. Presented in a usable format. Helped me to see areas in my life that I hadn't previously considered. Revealed my blind spots and gave helpful tools to improve those areas.

DP
Mar 28, 2021

Probably one of the best Courses I have taken till now. Engineering leadership and management is just what I was looking for to organize fast paced noisy growth in the industry.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 100 Reviews for Self Awareness and the Effective Leader

By 2.21914E+11 T S

Nov 6, 2020

nice

By Md. R Q S

Oct 12, 2020

xoss

By Thaveesha W

Jul 16, 2020

best

By VISWESHKANNAN

Jul 7, 2020

good

By Mona A A

Jun 19, 2020

good

By ABHISHEK G

Mar 20, 2020

Nice

By Md J A M

Apr 30, 2020

n/a

By Fatima H A

Nov 17, 2019

t

By REDEN L V

Apr 9, 2021

Useful materials that can be a right tools for the leadership and motivations.

To know your self is a most difficult things but thru this materials it will enhance your ability's.

Journaling is the best way to get back and evaluate your own self for all the decisions that you have been made thru the years.

By E R

Jan 8, 2021

The course is a good start to becoming aware at what your inadequacies are as a leader, it also hilights the advantages and skills you already have as a leader. The only issue i have for this is that it tends to require tons of reading before you can complete it with good grades

By Samson A

Dec 6, 2017

Very organized study material. Plenty of supporting material with a lots of exercises and hands on. It is very practical training for anyone who wants to discover leadership. I highly recommend this course for those of you who desire to play a leadership role. wow!!!

By Virja D G

Apr 25, 2018

The content relevant with our need in the workplace. The pronunciation of the speaker is very clear. Easy to be understood. Not using idiomatic phrase, so that it is easier for non-English native.

By Geder M

Jan 30, 2020

Great course for anyone interesting to learn about leadership skills. I will recommend this course to anyone interested in leading a team , human relationship and effective communication.

By Sacha P N A R

Apr 25, 2018

Interesting course with good instructor. The peer reviews are tough to pass though. Think twice if you want to pursue this course as it is not easy during the peer reviews.

By Tony O

Dec 7, 2016

Great course. Really good for those who want to be managers/leader, and those who are already leaders. Lots of reading required, but it is OK.

By S B

Dec 30, 2020

I learned a lot about my self, but also wrt. methods for creativity and stress management.

By Vinod

May 31, 2020

Excellent content and narration to understand strategies more clearly and easily

By Gayatri P

Apr 7, 2021

Definitely must take this course!

By Aman S

Apr 9, 2020

The course was fullfilling.

By Pratap R

Sep 30, 2020

Nice course

By almond d s

Feb 16, 2021

good

By Madhumithra

Jul 7, 2020

Good

By Anders H

Sep 14, 2020

You can get practically everything this course tries to teach you by just reading the first 3 chapters of the book used in the course.

By Eve K

Jun 15, 2020

The peer review grading for the SA assignment should be removed. Students uploaded the instructor's original instructions as their document to be reviewed, they uploaded no documents and asked to be graded in discussions group and telling others they would give them full mark and, some plagiarized each others documents! Not to mention that you need 3 peers to grade you for a total of 16/20 to pass so you are at their mercy for a course that you paid for and put effort in. Ridiculous!

By Geeta R

Jun 24, 2019

The suggested reading material or videos were not worth the time. Specially Ted Talks. Post which the same were covered in the course material which made me loose interest. The content needs more focus on giving a larger picture 1st and sharing only things which will be relevant and useful. It has too much information but not finished, the course lacks substance.