Chevron Left
Back to Natural Language Processing with Sequence Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Natural Language Processing with Sequence Models by deeplearning.ai

4.6
stars
240 ratings
48 reviews

About the Course

In Course 3 of the Natural Language Processing Specialization, offered by deeplearning.ai, you will: a) Train a neural network with GLoVe word embeddings to perform sentiment analysis of tweets, b) Generate synthetic Shakespeare text using a Gated Recurrent Unit (GRU) language model, c) Train a recurrent neural network to perform named entity recognition (NER) using LSTMs with linear layers, and d) Use so-called ‘Siamese’ LSTM models to compare questions in a corpus and identify those that are worded differently but have the same meaning. Please make sure that you’ve completed Course 2 and are familiar with the basics of TensorFlow. If you’d like to prepare additionally, you can take Course 1: Neural Networks and Deep Learning of the Deep Learning Specialization. By the end of this Specialization, you will have designed NLP applications that perform question-answering and sentiment analysis, created tools to translate languages and summarize text, and even built a chatbot! This Specialization is designed and taught by two experts in NLP, machine learning, and deep learning. Younes Bensouda Mourri is an Instructor of AI at Stanford University who also helped build the Deep Learning Specialization. Łukasz Kaiser is a Staff Research Scientist at Google Brain and the co-author of Tensorflow, the Tensor2Tensor and Trax libraries, and the Transformer paper....

Top reviews

SS

Aug 05, 2020

The assignments use Trax library and I found it a bit difficult to understand and implement it. Would have been very much better if they had used Tensorflow 2x

SS

Aug 16, 2020

Learning about the Trax library and solving practical problems with the library was really interesting. Siamese network architecture was great thing to learn.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 51 Reviews for Natural Language Processing with Sequence Models

By Oleh S

Aug 06, 2020

Well, very weak and oversimplified course. All videos are indecently short (from 1 to 4 minutes in majority) and do not give any intuition or understanding of the sequence models. GRU's and LSTM's are explained too briefly. Weird decision to choose Trax framework, it offers no reasonable advantages over Keras in this course. Also, I do not think that implementing the data generator function in the programming assignments gives anyone better intuition in understanding the core material. The last two assignments can be completed even without watching the lecture videos. To sum up, this course can be valuable as just the short intro to recurrent-based networks, but do not expect to deepen your knowledge.

Seriously, the weakest part from the first three courses, quickly prepared and lacks of quality. Totally disappointed.

By Tomasz S

Jul 30, 2020

You can't learn anything with 3 minute videos, especially if 1 minute is wasted on repeating the previous video and saying what is going to be said and the last minute is wasted on saying what was said... That works for proper coursera lectures which last 15 minutes, and there are a few hours of material per week. And it's really low to have someone listed as a lecturer, when all he does is appear for 10 seconds to say "today I will teach/explain/show you", while he never actually does any teaching, explaining or showing - everything is left to the assistant...

By Jingying W

Aug 02, 2020

I have previously completed Deep Learning and AI for Medicine specialization provided by deeplearning.ai and here are some of my thoughts about this course:

1. I like that the Python tutorials and assignment helps me learn the state of the art DL framework Trax and be more familiar with the working mechanism under the hood. If you read through the python scripts carefully and look up the linked documentation, they are really nice study resources.

2. This course improves my understanding of some models that I learned in other specialization courses such as Siamese model (e.g. hard negatives) for natural language.

3. Although the slides are made fancier than before, I'm not sure I enjoy the way it is explained. It's like reading the script and not really talking TO the students. Maybe some direct (live) notes on the slides helps students actually "dive in" ;) .

4. I watched your live discussion on YouTube on 29. July and feel the lectures talks very naturally there, but in the teaching video they behave in a quite unnatural way.

5. What I love about Andrew's DL specialization is that he also talks about his insights in a sincere (and personal) way, but in this course, it's just tooooo official.

Anyway, just my personal thoughts. I learned a lot in this course and hope the next course will be better ;)

By Adam S A

Aug 16, 2020

I think the assignments should have gone deeper. We should have built and LSTM instead of just creating a model in trax in my opinion. I can always learn an API, but it would be nice to learn the nitty gritty of the model during the course. I also would prefer longer lecture videos that go into more detail.

By Roberto C

Aug 25, 2020

Very bad class, a week of material can be done in around 2 jours, exercises are uninteresting, just write down what it is said in the comments (like: add 1 to the index, ...). Also, every exercise is similar to each other, write down the data generator, initialize the model using trax, train the model, test the model...

I think it is a lost opportunity, the majority of the course is just familiarise with the trax API and blindly apply neural network architectures using the API. The videos are very poor, not much information given and they repeat themselves a lot - you have the feeling that a lot of information is being repeated.

Instead of doing this course it is better to do the original Sequence Model course from deeplearning.ai.

By Sreejith S

Aug 05, 2020

The assignments use Trax library and I found it a bit difficult to understand and implement it. Would have been very much better if they had used Tensorflow 2x

By Rabin A

Aug 10, 2020

The course is fine but if you've taken the course on Sequence Models by deeplearning.ai before then this won't add much to your knowledge except the Siamese Network. The main con of this course is the use of Trax instead of Keras of Tensorflow. I am not an opposer of Pytorch, but since deeplearning.ai has courses of Tensrflow, it would have been easier for many students to grasp the knowledge instead of learning a new framework again.

By Sudharsan S

Aug 16, 2020

Learning about the Trax library and solving practical problems with the library was really interesting. Siamese network architecture was great thing to learn.

By Zoltan S

Aug 01, 2020

This is an excellent course with some cutting edge material, and also an introduction to a new learning framework trax.

By Alla T

Aug 06, 2020

Personally I'd rather prefer tensorflow over trax. I think I'm a bit lost between different tools, since different specializations in deeplearning.ai use different tools. Other than that I think it was a quite good short course.

By Zhaohua F

Sep 01, 2020

I think it should be better if we use TensorFlow 2.x or Pytorch instead of Trax, which is seldom used in other places. Also, mathematical derivation for why LSTM is better than simple RNN should be better put in the video.

By Moritz F

Aug 12, 2020

Videos are annoyingly short and provide little depth. Assignments are basically just typing / copy&paste exercises. The whole NLP specialization again starts with absolute basics of python and ml - I wouldn't find this bad if there weren't already enough foundational courses available on coursera. If I inscribe an NLP specialization I don't expect/want to do a python course. Almost everything shown here has already been covered in the deep learning specialization.

By Arun

Aug 05, 2020

The use of RNN using TRAX is a bit abstract. It should be explained further. For example, the time sequence is not clearly visible in training the model using TRAX.

By Marcin Z

Aug 17, 2020

Course materials and lectures are fine, but exercises are boring - you have to implement data loaders every week. Moreover, the course uses Trax, like there were no other popular deep learning frameworks... so you are forced to learn yet another syntax. PyTorch FTW!

By Prashant G

Aug 16, 2020

This course is very mechanical, expected more reasoning based course which incites logical thinking. Since most of the topics covered in this course are an active area of research, a discussion from "why or why not" point of view would have been more beneficial than just telling how to use a certain library like any other blog on the internet.

By Han L

Aug 14, 2020

Programming assignments not well constructed; need to restart notebooks to get the same exact output as expected. Not all expected outputs are printed out or have test functions similar to course 1. Some of the concepts are too quickly glanced over in lecture.

By Nikesh B

Aug 07, 2020

Awesome course!! Younes explains all the concepts very nicely :) I enjoyed this course a lot and learned many new things, which I am planning to use in my current project. Thanks a lot, Younes

By Kweweli T

Sep 25, 2020

The lectures are well planned--very short and to the point. The labs offer immense opportunity for practice, and assignment notebooks are well-written! Overall, the course is fantastic!

By Alan K F G

Sep 21, 2020

Absolutely satisfied with the tons of things I learnt. Professor Jounes and his team did a great work. Looking forward to enrolling to next course.

By Bharathi k N

Sep 19, 2020

The course is great and presented excellently with neat visualizations. Introduction to Trax is great and got a chance to learn new framework.

By Carlos O

Aug 23, 2020

It's a great introduction to the Trax Framework for Deep Learning. Building cool models for NLP makes the course well worth it.

By John J M

Aug 25, 2020

Great course. Be sure to take advantage of optional readings to get the most out of the course.

By Ghaith k

Sep 18, 2020

aswesome course, really loved how well the assignement are structured . thank you coursera

By Esteban G

Sep 16, 2020

Great course, I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in learning about NLP

By Роман Л

Aug 02, 2020

The hallmark of this course is the very enjoyable trax / jax training. Thanks