Chevron Left
Back to Service-Oriented Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Service-Oriented Architecture by University of Alberta

4.5
stars
460 ratings
101 reviews

About the Course

Based on an understanding of architectural styles, you will review architectures for web applications, then explore the basics of Service-Oriented Architecture (SOA) in two approaches: Web Services (WS*) and Representational State Transfer (REST) architecture. In the Capstone Project you will connect a Java-based Android application with Elasticsearch, a web service with a REST application programmer interface (API). After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe SOA (Service-Oriented Architecture) to structure web-based systems. • Explain WS* services (i.e., SOAP over HTTP, WSDL, UDDI, BPEL). • Apply REST architecture (i.e., JSON over HTTP, URI). • Identify REST design principles. • Create a system using REST interfaces. • Apply microservice architecture....

Top reviews

HH
Aug 3, 2019

Amazing explanation and examples to help understand each concept. Really glad to enroll in this course. I am more knowledgable now than I was.\n\nThank you so much for building this beautiful course.

WB
May 9, 2020

This Specialization helped me to acquire new theoretical and practical aspects. Highly recommend this course to anybody who is involved in Software design and Architecture!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 100 Reviews for Service-Oriented Architecture

By Alexey P

Mar 19, 2019

It's better to name this course like Introduction to web services. The first two courses was useful for middle developers (and upper). It's just introduction for juniors. I think this course should not be included to "Software Design and Architecture".

If consider this course as an introduction, it's better to remove a section of legacy UDDI and BPEL and replace by GraphQL and JSON-RPC.

By Qing Z

Dec 2, 2019

The content is pretty good.

The peer assignment is not hard, but took a lots of time to receive grade. The reason is that, the course doesn't have enough students...

By Michel P

Dec 21, 2017

good course, however I think it has too much focus on very old technologies (CORBA, SOAP), and not enough focus on more recent technologies (REST).

By Leone L P

Dec 20, 2018

Very shallow course. Quite incomplete and inconclusive final project. It was, without a doubt, the worst course of specialization. In general terms, I believe that we can not even consider these four courses a real specialization.

By Stefan A

Apr 19, 2020

Unfortunately this course was the last interesting one in the Software Architecture specialization. Maybe for guys who know nothing about service oriented architecture & web services, it provides a basic knowledge. - But in comparison to the other courses in the specialization, this course is very technical and also a bit outdated in my opinion. - Maybe a updated course with a look on modern web development and web-services would make more sense.

By Bobby S

Mar 1, 2019

Satisfied overall, but my suggestion is you should improve the final project. Make the students able to see the GET / POST / PUT / DELETE method when calling the remote server, more details for what is learned in this course.

By Ravishankar N

Dec 14, 2020

The videos felt very rushed. The instructor could have been slower. The content also could have been better. I had expected to learn/experiment on how to implement SOAP and REST tech but The assignments didn't test us on the concepts learned and rather very too simple. Downloading and using Android Studio was too much of an overkill for what we actually did in the assignment.

By Ali H A

Jun 26, 2020

This course one the worst course I went through in my life. The vast majority of the material is outdated and useless. It felt like that the course was given just to add a forth course so it can be called a specialization. While taking the course I stopped multiple times and quit taking the course because the material was very useless and outdated...I just finished it to complete the specialization.

By H�seyin B G

Nov 6, 2020

Very helpful course but speakers speak little bit fast for foreign people

By Luis J R

Dec 9, 2019

A good starting point to understand SOA.

By Laszlo L

Jul 28, 2020

It was hard and meaningful.

By Santosh S

Nov 27, 2017

The narration is too fast and almost robotic .Preferable to have real teachers speaking like its a real class , makes it real.

By Meysam F

Jul 9, 2020

I would like to give you my appreciation for giving this opportunity to me to participate in this course. This course was very useful and fruitful to me and although I have been working on different projects in related to this profession , I learned a lot of concepts about service oriented architecture and it gave me a concrete knowledge about designing services.

By Dhanu G

Mar 20, 2021

Great resources and explanation of each topic in details. Excellent content, useful for all software developers to upskill in architecting. I learned a lot and enjoyed the sessions. thanks for conceptualizing the course content.

By Heena H

Aug 4, 2019

Amazing explanation and examples to help understand each concept. Really glad to enroll in this course. I am more knowledgable now than I was.

Thank you so much for building this beautiful course.

By W M C B

May 10, 2020

This Specialization helped me to acquire new theoretical and practical aspects. Highly recommend this course to anybody who is involved in Software design and Architecture!

By Michael A H

Feb 3, 2021

I loved the way this course had very little obvious tricks to get answers wrong, but really tested the students understanding of the topic they are being examined on

By Subramanya S

Jun 3, 2020

All the 4 parts of this specialisation are well explained with simple use case based examples. Had a great time learning during the covid-19 lock down... Thank you !

By José A C Q

Dec 14, 2020

A easy guide and a good and complete content about services oriented architecture, thank you for this good material and clearly lessons i can understand the lessons

By Eduardo I

Mar 23, 2019

Excelent course, the describe basic and advanced information about web technologies, distributed systems, web services, soa architecture and micro services.

By Anandan N

Aug 24, 2020

Excellent content, useful for all software developers to upskill in architecting softwares and not to foreget even for current architects as a refresher.

By Barış K B

Nov 28, 2020

It was one of the most organized course I have ever seen in my life. I started and completed all 4 courses. Thanks spaghetti, cheers guys!

By AKSHAY A

Mar 22, 2021

The Course Videos are really nice and the course quizes are also good . One can apply REST architecture after doing this course

By Cristóbal A S V

Apr 27, 2020

Very good course, interesting to know the fundamentals of service oriented architecture and how it has evolved during time

By Ahmed a

Sep 7, 2020

Very helpful to understand different aspects of the architecture of the services either external or internal.