Chevron Left
Back to Service-Oriented Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Service-Oriented Architecture by University of Alberta

4.5
stars
456 ratings
99 reviews

About the Course

Based on an understanding of architectural styles, you will review architectures for web applications, then explore the basics of Service-Oriented Architecture (SOA) in two approaches: Web Services (WS*) and Representational State Transfer (REST) architecture. In the Capstone Project you will connect a Java-based Android application with Elasticsearch, a web service with a REST application programmer interface (API). After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe SOA (Service-Oriented Architecture) to structure web-based systems. • Explain WS* services (i.e., SOAP over HTTP, WSDL, UDDI, BPEL). • Apply REST architecture (i.e., JSON over HTTP, URI). • Identify REST design principles. • Create a system using REST interfaces. • Apply microservice architecture....

Top reviews

HH
Aug 3, 2019

Amazing explanation and examples to help understand each concept. Really glad to enroll in this course. I am more knowledgable now than I was.\n\nThank you so much for building this beautiful course.

WB
May 9, 2020

This Specialization helped me to acquire new theoretical and practical aspects. Highly recommend this course to anybody who is involved in Software design and Architecture!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 98 Reviews for Service-Oriented Architecture

By Gary L V

Oct 28, 2019

Excelente

By Luis M M R

Jul 13, 2019

very good

By MARCOS P

Jun 11, 2019

Excelente

By Fredmar L P G

Mar 9, 2018

Great..!

By AMIT K J

Jan 2, 2019

Nice !

By 221710314053

May 13, 2021

Good

By CHIRANCHI R

May 11, 2021

good

By KATARAPU S

May 6, 2021

good

By D R

May 4, 2021

Good

By KAUSHIK S

May 2, 2021

nice

By Saimpu S M

Mar 19, 2021

good

By Fangyu

Dec 11, 2020

Good

By IDI M

Nov 2, 2020

GOOD

By Sebastián N M

Oct 31, 2020

good

By Ashutosh N

May 1, 2020

NIce

By DIEGO M G R

Sep 11, 2019

Nice

By Soumyadipta S

Apr 19, 2018

Good

By Andres V

Oct 27, 2020

(y)

By David P T

Mar 10, 2020

I took all 4 courses of the Architectural Design Specialization, consider this a review of all four.

I am an experienced programmer, with about two years Java/Android experience.

The classes gives a good overview of Object Oriented Design Principles, Design Patterns, UML diagrams, etc.

The class is of course taught in Java, with an emphasis on Android.

I found the material to be fairly easy overall, the lectures and lecturer (a professional actress) were general easy to understand;

I liked the Android programming exercises, but though there was too much hand-holding; many times we were just cutting and pasting from instructor examples. I guess I feel like I would of learned more if it hadn't been so simplified. That said, if you have no background in Android App development you may have to spend a fair amount of time learning Android on you're own in order to to the exercises.

The final project involved writing an app to connect to an "Elastic Search" server using REST protocol. I could not get this to work, I think the server was down. I ended up turning my assignment in untested (I have has similar issues in other Coursera classes).

What I thought was missing in the class was an overview of some of the more advanced Java idioms used in some of the code (builders, Parameterized Classes, etc.). This may have been an attempt to stay relatively language neutral.

So overall good, but I might have liked

1) More on advanced Java;

2) Less hand-holding on exercises - I understand some students may have minimal Android experience, so maybe provide two versions of the exercise, with and without "starter code";

3) please be cognizant of keeping the Elastic Search Server running, If it is required by the assignments (I understand there is also a way to run Elastic Search locally, although I didn't try it)

Thank You,

David Tucker

By Akshit G

Jun 21, 2019

The course can go more in-depth with the RESTful API design aspects. However, you can get past that by just referring to and reading the provided course notes thoroughly. Overall, the course does a great job for substituting a college-level course in Intro to Service Oriented Architecture.

By Yash K S

May 4, 2020

I enjoyed being part of the course. Hats-off to the online mentors and educators around the globe who are helping this far to help us in making progress to our careers. Thank You!!

By Bruno M

May 18, 2020

Great course, I preferred the previous course mainly because this one would use the current trends for services instead of the legacy ones.

By Fabrice L

May 5, 2020

Great content. The week 2 about Web Services and SOAP is not really needed anymore.

But REST API is definitly a usefull tool to know.

By Christoph A

Mar 25, 2019

Very goodcontent. Assignments are interesting, but their content is not really covered in the course (UML, mobile app programming).

By Deleted A

Jan 3, 2018

Good Course, but I would have liked more examples of Web Services and a, perhaps short, tutorial on ElasticSearch web servies.