Chevron Left
Back to Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation by University of Cape Town

4.8
stars
1,199 ratings
486 reviews

About the Course

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Top reviews

SI
Feb 10, 2018

Highly recommended for the change agents who have no background in social entrepreneurship. This course will walk you through step by step into changing the system for the better of humanity habitats.

SA
Jul 2, 2020

This course was great! I learned a lot through discussion and project submissions. I have not only learned how to create change in my community but I have taken the first steps to make it a reality.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 480 Reviews for Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

By Carl2891

May 14, 2020

Excellent teachers, interesting content and worth materials. To sum up it´s so worth to spend time in courses like this. Congrats!

By osunmakinde m

May 27, 2020

i thoroughly enjoyed this course. the lecturer did a brilliant job at simplifying branding. the examples used were also vert apt.

By Anita A

Jan 3, 2019

Introduction to Social Innovation pushes you to be innovative. I really enjoyed this course! Kudos to the lecturers and the team!

By Andrei V

May 27, 2020

Awesome course! Interactive, insightful, with a great case study with RLabs. Great video content and course plan and structure.

By Daniel C

May 11, 2020

Professors care and the quality of the information is relevant and useful. The additional readings and resources are excellent.

By RENE S

Dec 18, 2017

Absolutely awesome course. I am strongly considering making my social enterprise a reality. Very excited to plan and imelement.

By Austin P

Jul 15, 2020

This class taught me a lot particularly on how to implement social change through impact business, lifestyle, and principles.

By Berna B

May 7, 2020

I love the course a lot! very insightful and make it easier to really understand concepts via real social innovation projects

By Sarel v d W

May 28, 2018

Good intro & overview of social innovation. Learned a lot and will definitely expand my knowledge & activities in this area.

By Catalina B

Nov 1, 2016

It is a wonderful course that brings great tools to think and develop ideas towards social innovation. Highly recommend it!

By Bandhana D

Jun 17, 2020

A fantastic course -well conducted and taught, with learned guest speakers. It is a thought provoking and inspiring course!

By Ma. C A

Jun 5, 2020

This course has so much heart. Thank you for the opportunity. May God bless the work of all the social innovators' hands .

By Valérie d L R D

Apr 2, 2020

Une belle introduction à l'innovation sociale en Afrique du Sud, des projets passionnants présentés avec analyse et recul !

By Saravanan V

Jul 16, 2020

course was really explained well about lots of issues in social economical environment and ways to handle in better ways.

By Rithik Y

Oct 25, 2018

A really awakening and challenging course for anyone who wants to help the world become a better place with their ideas.

By JAYANTI B

Feb 6, 2017

Insightful material and great facilitators. The idea of explaining through workings of a real organization worked well!

By Marija S

Jul 27, 2020

Very lovely, motivating, and inspiring course! I encourage everyone who has desire to make change to take this course!

By Nisara P

Jun 1, 2020

This course inspires me a lot to change the world I live in to be a better place. I do recommend to join this course.

By Kuldeep C

May 25, 2020

I started this course as a part of my curriculum agenda, glad to say I could takeaway many personal learning as well.

By Sujan S

Dec 9, 2016

These course is very good for me since being the student of social work i could explore by myself with lots of ideas.

By Jon C

Aug 25, 2020

Excellent, it really opened my mind, changed the way I see problems and think about creative ways to find solutions

By Tumelo M

Mar 16, 2017

Great course that helps you to be able to identify opportunities within your community that helps bring develoment.

By Mayibongwe S

May 10, 2020

Enjoyed the course. Would recommend it for anyone planning on doing community projects or solving social problems.

By Juliane ( K

Apr 15, 2020

Learned a lot from this course. Many applications for use in personal, professional, and societal interactions.

By Claudia O

Dec 2, 2016

It's an awesome course. Well explained, excellent exercises, the topic were mind-blowing. I would take it again.