Chevron Left
Back to Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation by University of Cape Town

4.8
stars
1,393 ratings
544 reviews

About the Course

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Top reviews

SI
Feb 10, 2018

Highly recommended for the change agents who have no background in social entrepreneurship. This course will walk you through step by step into changing the system for the better of humanity habitats.

SA
Jul 2, 2020

This course was great! I learned a lot through discussion and project submissions. I have not only learned how to create change in my community but I have taken the first steps to make it a reality.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 545 Reviews for Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

By Salajan A G

Jan 15, 2018

It's a great cours. I love it vry much, the presentation in very good, the teachers, the materials. I learned a lot of things and it gave me force to believe that i can be a changemaker.

By SANDRA A Z G

Oct 20, 2020

An exceptional course! It provides many contributions and modifies our traditional way of thinking to change the world, if indeed we are looking to change the world! Thank you very much

By Tijana V

Jul 18, 2020

Beautifly designed course with great teachers! RLabs is an awesome example and an inspiration for social change. I feel inspired and energized to start my one social innovation journey.

By Frida S

Sep 2, 2017

This course was so inspiring. I loved learning about the journey of RLABS and thought Francois and Warren made made the videos engaging and easy to follow. Thank you for this course!

By Sophie L

Aug 6, 2020

A very useful and inspiring course that really motivates you to make a difference. I learnt so many new skills and ways of thinking about problems. Would highly recommend to anyone.

By Adam P F

Oct 31, 2020

i really enjoyed it and i learned a lot from this course. This course will definetely help all of you that wants to become an entrepreneur and make a change in society. Thank you!

By Srikanth C

Apr 16, 2020

Very well designed and structured course. The case studies presented are Inspiring and motivating. A must course for those planning to set out on their social innovation journeys.

By Tina D

Jul 26, 2020

Exellent course!! Very interesting topics which can be useful in work. Assigments are interesting, you really need to think and connect what you learned with what you have to do.

By Aleem Q

Aug 4, 2021

This course is very knowledgeable. I wish to congratulate RLaba and the University of Cape Town for creating such a wonderful and unique course. I have learned a lot. Thank you.

By Ina S

Oct 12, 2020

I loved the combination of theory and reports of experience and how it allowed me to connect it to developing my personal project. Thank you very much for this inspiring course!

By PATTRANITH C

Jun 28, 2021

Short videos make it very easy to follow, this course gives a step by step sequences in doing social innovation. Its great to start learning social innovation with this course.

By Desislava D

May 29, 2020

I strongly recommend the course as it is truly inspirational. The lecturers provide you with structured guidelines in order to excel in your social innovation and make it real.

By Nitin V

Jul 9, 2018

A great course for anyone who is entering the sector for the first time. Brilliantly organized course with a lot of valuable lessons explained beautifully. Highly recommended !

By Thimna T

Dec 7, 2020

The course is very educative and also it challenges you to step out of your comfort zone and do things that you have never thought of doing but it is all worth it in the end

By Rafael

Apr 26, 2017

i learned so much, i would like to thank all the professors and those that took part in providing this course thank you, i will implement some of what i learned into my life

By Yvette D

Nov 26, 2017

Thank you for this interesting and enriching course. It really helped me define what is closest to my heart, what I feel committed to and where I want to make a difference.

By Rudra P S

May 16, 2020

Very innovatively put course that helps build basic skills and knowledge required to go out and innovate for the betterment of the society. Thank you for the experience.

By Gupta A

Jun 14, 2020

Its a really nice which helps us come up with our own ideas to tackle social problem and how we can improve our ideas in society to reach and help large no. of people.

By Akshar p

Jun 8, 2020

The course helped me to become a changemaker.In find a solution to a problem by analysing and solving it with best possible way and same as for society and community.

By Hayley P

May 18, 2020

This course has unpacked the foundational themes and topics needed to get you excited to think creatively about social change either your own or other business ideas.

By Thanakorn T

Jun 1, 2020

This is a good online course I have ever enrolled! This course provided me an overview concept of social innovation and ways to design social impact-related project.

By Thandekile N X

Feb 4, 2019

I not only enjoyed the course but was challenged to broaden my thinking and ask more questions. This is a real resource for every social entrepreneur or change maker

By Nehal T

Sep 19, 2019

This course is planned really well and it helped me in getting out of my comfort zone. It has taught me the necessary skills required to create impact on societies.

By Sandy A V M

Jun 28, 2020

This course is eye-opening. It doesn't matter whether you are a social innovator or not. The information provided here will sure serve for l kind of entrepreneurs.

By Maxwell C

Mar 17, 2021

This Course has helped me to broaden my thinking in making a change within my community and work environment. I am forever grateful for coming across this course!