Chevron Left
Back to Startup Valuation Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Startup Valuation Methods by Duke University

4.5
stars
156 ratings
57 reviews

About the Course

How do different types of investors think about an investment opportunity? What kind of securities and contracts do they offer? How should a company decide what is a "good deal"? This course is designed to introduce you to the challenges and pitfalls of financing new enterprises. You will learn the basic tools for valuating companies, including using discounted cashflow analysis in Excel and understanding how to apply this model to your entrepreneurial venture. You will then learn how valuation works with different types of securities that investors use to finance startups, from bank loans to venture capital to angel investing....

Top reviews

CK

May 01, 2020

The best ever online course one could find. It is worth every single minute spent. Thank you so much for offering this course. And really so happy to complete this course. Much love to the professor.

SP

Apr 23, 2020

This course has helped gain knowledge of the valuation of companies of all sizes, basic funding criteria, and sources for a startup and a view of investors for a company.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 58 Reviews for Startup Valuation Methods

By Phil P

Nov 26, 2019

I'm only giving this course 3 stars because of the excellent teaching in weeks 1 and 2 by Manuel Adelino, who is an excellent and thorough instructor. David Robinson, who handles the "meat" of the course in weeks 3 and 4 was absolutely dreadful in every respect that matters in a mastery-oriented online course (in which there is no peer community with which to collectively cover for poor instruction). Specifically, Robinson talks around examples without working through any of them. He did not work through any of the key examples or formulae in Week 3, which is where most of the key concepts of startup valuation are introduced. Basically said, "go figure it out yourself." Other examples: the “hurdle rate” is introduced without adequate definition or an example of how to use given information in the calculation, and Robinson uses this term interchangeably with "cash-on-cash returns" (incorrectly) including in equations, which are wrong as presented. On a quiz for the fourth week on Anti-Dilution presents a question without reference to a specific scenario, so it is impossible to complete without guessing. On the third attempt I just guessed, but there was no reference to a cost scenario to support this guess. Neither the lectures nor the ungraded quizzes cover methods of calculating dilution in initial valuation decisions, but the graded quiz does, leading one to guess (again) where this is dealt with. In sum, the core of the course is sloppily assembled and sloppily presented. I simply expect more from Duke, no matter how much or how little I'm paying, and may not complete this specialization as a result of the time wasted in compensating for the instructor's shortcomings.

By John H

Feb 20, 2020

The selection of concepts taught were great. Please consider remaking the week 3 option pool lesson to increase clarity.

By sophialaw

Mar 11, 2020

I give this course 5 stars even if I spent a lot of time in week 3 due to the mistake in the ppt slide of the professor. But I learned the basic rules and the logic to evaluate a business from week 1 and 2. As a lawyer, I learned how to interpret commercial terms from week 3 and 4.

By Diana K

Jan 20, 2020

Good information, but very technical and academic- and it forces you to think "formulaic-ly" way, which is not necessarily a reflection of the 'real world' practice. More practice problems (+ answers to them) would help as well.

By Het D

Apr 24, 2020

I enjoyed the course, the lectures were kept short and precise. The notes contained all the important information and summarised well, and most importantly as an entrepreneur, the course detailed on each aspect I am currently focussed on. What I did find uncomfortable was that it was based on the perspective of VC's and Angel Investors, I often found the lectures being a bit insensitive on the sentiment of an entrepreneur. I am not sure if you would have received such a review before, but honestly, this is the only thing that made me a bit uncomfortable in this then otherwise amazing course. Thanks!

By Juan E S S

May 05, 2020

It was worth the time and money invested. The concepts were clear and useful. Important to note that several of the students do not work in the USA. Some comments and evaluations can be further standardized. Feedback process for final exams can be improved.

By Cibi K

May 01, 2020

The best ever online course one could find. It is worth every single minute spent. Thank you so much for offering this course. And really so happy to complete this course. Much love to the professor.

By Shlok P

Apr 23, 2020

This course has helped gain knowledge of the valuation of companies of all sizes, basic funding criteria, and sources for a startup and a view of investors for a company.

By Davit I

Mar 12, 2020

The course gives structured knowledge about the startup valuation methods. I enjoyed it, and now it's time to go for deep diving into the startup valuation industry.

By Dhinesh A D

Apr 30, 2020

The course provides fundamental financial skills needed for a startup. It takes time to understand certain concepts but it is highly valuable what you learn here.

By coralie h

Apr 20, 2020

The syllabus is straight forward and informative. Interesting methods used to value start ups and good conversation of securities used by VCs and Angle investors.

By Manuel F S P

May 26, 2020

Great content, it gave a clear perspective of the way early stage companies receive financing and how VCs and Angel Investors negotiate their investments.

By bhushan m

May 20, 2020

this is an excellent course for the beginners who want to learn startup valuation without having much prior knowledge about finance world

By Anupam V

May 23, 2020

good insight on the topic. However, I would have also preferred if we had an engagement window with Professors to clarify any doubts.

By Vijay S

May 02, 2020

A great course to learn valuation methods for startups. At starting it looks hard but as we go on it looks very and simple.

By kaushal p

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent insights from both perspectives - the investee and the investors. great work, simply delivered.

kaushal pujara

By Rohan K

May 16, 2020

Both the professors did an excellent job explaining the course and delivering great content. I recommend this course.

By JOSE E S

May 09, 2020

Manuel was very clear.

The other one, needs to write on de slides wile explaining. He is also, an excellent teacher.

By Ishita J

Apr 05, 2020

A very well structured course with extremely lucid lectures. Thank you for a wonderful learning experience.

By Jaime T

Feb 05, 2020

Simple, practical and concise. Useful for entrepreneurs and as an introduction to VC investing.

By Jeremy O

May 10, 2020

Great introduction to the concepts. I learned a lot that will be useful for me going forward

By wendy a s r

May 13, 2020

great course, it will be nice, if you explain the quizzes answer when you passed the exam.

By Eric S

Feb 05, 2020

Very informative. I instantly was putting the techniques to work in my professional life.

By VISHAL S

May 22, 2020

Helpful in understanding how VCs function. More assignments can be added to the course.

By Diego R A C

Apr 29, 2020

Muy buen curso para iniciar en la metodología para valuar startups